We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“smack dab in the middle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #16 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“smack dab in the middle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

we stayed at hotel erwin for 6 nights in an ocean view suite. it is the absolute best spot if you are wanting to be in the heart of venice beach (which we did).. we just hired bikes, as it is an easy ride to santa monica or marina del ray ( and i am fat and 50!!). the room was clean and bright, and the balcony was great. some staff were fantastic, and made us feel welcome. (others not as much). plenty of sights to observe from our balcony. nice, but expensive

Room Tip: get a room directly facing the beach. it is more expensive, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redtweak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Erwin. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you got to experience Venice Beach and beyond on the excellent bike paths throughout the Westside! We hope you had a pleasant journey back to Australia and that you’ll come back for a visit in the future!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    353
    102
    34
    33
See reviews for
196
393
76
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on last leg of our recent road trip in may, booked it last minute as we on the road, we wanted to be close to the beach, the your right on Venice Beach which was quite seedy loads of homeless people milling around but they were no bother. Our room had a sea view and was clean and comfy, not sure that it warrants the $200+,per night but it was convenient and meet our needs, there a bus stop across the street that takes you in to Hollywood and down town. we used the Barlo restaurant for two very good meals and the staff were freindly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Danny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Erwin. We’re happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and got to taste the delicious food at Barlo twice! Hotel Erwin is in the heart of Venice Beach so you definitely got to see first hand all the fun and crazy things that happen on the world famous Venice Beach Boardwalk. We hope you’re journey home was enjoyable and that we’ll see you again in the future.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at the Erwin was nothing less than perfect. The staff was friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Monique answered all of our questions and concerns prior to booking our room. Upon arrival, she went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. All rooms have interior corridors and balconies. Our room was clean and colorful. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms are exactly as they appear in photographs. Our room was on the fifth floor. We had a breathtaking view of the ocean. From our balcony we could watch visitors walk, ride, skate, and jog down the beachfront sidewalk. We also enjoyed watching the surfers and skateboarders either from our balcony or down on the beach. There is a skate park built into the sand just to the right of the Erwin. Look to the left of the hotel and you have basketball courts, paddle tennis courts, and of course the open air gym of Muscle Beach. Street vendors are located all along the beach sidewalk just behind the Erwin. Look to the right and you have mountains and the Santa Monica Pier. Everything we needed from bike rentals to restaurants were less than a block from the hotel. We took advantage of the superb valet service offered at the Erwin. Abraham and Michael were always waiting just outside the front door to promptly retrieve our vehicle or give us directions. The service included unlimited daily ins and outs for one flat rate. “The high” rooftop lounge has breathtaking panoramic views of the ocean, mountains, and city. They offer unique libations and tasty appetizers. We had breakfast at the Barlo, the hotel’s restaurant. Again, we were not disappointed the food was excellent. Although, we never felt there were any security issues at the Erwin or in the immediate area, an added safety perk to the Erwin is the Venice Beach Police Station located right behind the hotel. If you enjoy breathtaking views, exemplary staff, clean rooms, unique atmosphere, people watching, beach activities, great food, or just relaxing, the Erwin is hands down the best place to be.

Room Tip: The unobstructed views are located on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRGILES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Hotel Erwin is a stone’s throw from so many iconic and famous Venice Beach locations. As you mentioned, the Venice basketball courts and Skate Park are both visible from your balcony so you never have to leave your room to be part of the action (although we highly recommend you do!). I will pass on your kind words of praise to Monique, Abraham and Michael. They are great embodiments of the “above and beyond” mentality we strive for here at Hotel Erwin! We can’t wait for you to come back and thank you again for choosing Hotel Erwin!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Five nights in room #326 are really not bearable due to continued, loud, creaky elevator noise.
Front desk acted like they'd never heard of the issue and did nothing to move us. We were offered a free night for our next stay via the social media team, but frankly, why would we? We deserve a restful night's sleep on this trip.

We booked via booking.com so now we're stuck here and sleep an average of 4-5 hours per night when the elevator isn't being used as much.

I checked every morning to see if rooms were available on the hotel website and they are, yet I'm told we can't move to a quiet room.

Disappointed and exhausted.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo G, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear VVVM,
It was great talking to you and I appreciate all of your feedback. I truly do apologize for the noise and the bad impression our front desk team member left on you. We are working diligently to provide a great experience to all of our guests and we are so glad we will be able to welcome you back and your group later on this year. I am confident you will experience an improved stay where we really do go above and beyond for our guests.
Again, I am so incredibly sorry you had a negative experience with us but if there is anything we can do for you, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Aldo G
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Before I start with the review I would like to point out that Miguel is one of the best employees at the the Erwin. He is extremely helpful and kind, even with the hardest request.
This is not my 1st stay at the Erwin in fact it's my 4th. Now I can stay in Santa Monica, West Hollywood etc (which have in the past). But you have Venice! The Erwin is great in terms of location. Unlike most in LA you can walk. Abbott Kinney is a 5-10 min walk from the hotel with great shopping and food. The rooms are clean with a balcony. The roof bar is one of the best situations on most beaches in Cali. On a clear night the view is pretty amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalotla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Lalotla,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin as your go-to hotel destination! We love to hear that our guests keep coming back because of our great location and even better service. Miguel truly is a superstar! We’re happy to hear you got to visit High Rooftop Lounge and walk to Abbot Kinney for some shopping and food. Abbot Kinney has actually been voted by GQ as the “Coolest Block in America” so we’re lucky to be so close to that fantastic community! Until next time…

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute, not sure what to expect. The check in was easy, the room was quiet and clean, and the breakfast the next morning was amazing. Ask for the everything breakfast burrito. It's the best thing you'll ever have. Ani was very helpful at checkout, and she helped clear some additional charges that were mistakenly billed. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Brandon,

Looks like you had a great “stay-cation”! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast burrito from Barlo. It really is out of this world delicious! We apologize that you had a billing discrepancy but Ani is the perfect person to help as she is an absolute pro! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the sunset room's. From the valet to the front desk every thing went great. The room was very comfortable and the bed..we loved it.I need to find out what brand the mattresses was we slept wonderfully. The views from the room were great. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Rick,

We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. The brand of mattress we offer is the ultra-plush Simmons Mattress brand which really does make for a great night’s sleep! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#57 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#69 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#2 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#3 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing