We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the sunset room's. From the valet to the front desk every thing went great. The room was very comfortable and the bed..we loved it.I need to find out what brand the mattresses was we slept wonderfully. The views from the room were great. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hi Rick,

We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. The brand of mattress we offer is the ultra-plush Simmons Mattress brand which really does make for a great night’s sleep! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I organized a group meeting over several days last month with many different moving parts. Luckily, the staff at the hotel bent over backwards to ensure that every request our group had was met immediately. We had several room booking changes, right up until the day we arrived, and each change was made and taken in stride with no additional cost.

We also booked a meeting room for our group, and on the first day we discovered that we underestimated the amount of food our group would consume. The hotel catering and meeting staff were very accommodating when we requested that more food be brought out for each meal - and there was no additional charge.

Trips to Los Angeles can be ridiculously expensive due to the dearth of available rooms, especially in busy seasons. Add to that the cost of food, and the Hotel Erwin is not just a no brainer, it's a steal. I can't recommend the Erwin enough in terms of the savings to our group and the flexibility and attitude of the staff. We'll definitely book again with them in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are incredible and overlook the famous Venice Boardwalk and Muscle Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

k h,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great and detailed review! As a staff, we pride ourselves on our ability to accommodate many different requests and do it without breaking our exceptional service. We are glad to hear that your meetings went well and that our catering service was spot on for you. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and we look forward to your next stay here at the Hotel Erwin.

Aaron McCarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Born & raised in LA, came home to visit for 6n/7d vaca. I know the area and was not needing to splurge. I looked long and hard before deciding on the Erwin. Online photos make it look high quality and worth the price. The staff was wonderful, but, the facelift given to this hotel was not worth the $200+/night. Some issues:
1. Hole on the underside of the the box spring of mattress.
2. Stains in bathtub (probably from removing old anti-slip stickers. And it looks like the tub from original hotel).
3. Also looked like original bathtub fixtures from prior hotel.
4. Exposed phone or ethernet jack dirty (old, original faceplate?) and possibly not even in service.
5. No smart place to put the coffee machine (I used the floor).
6. Dust on an empty shelf in the tv console.
7. No chairs on my deck. (I'm sure I could have called for some, but I didn't think I should have had to.)
8. North and South sides of hotel do not have new, shiny decks as depicted online (those decks are only on beachfront rooms). They look like the original decks. (Chipped, stained stucco; black wrought iron railing.)
9. Door frame and sliding door for deck also appeared to be from original building.
10. The gym. One aero machine was broken. Very tiny. No room if there were more than 2 ppl in there. Rusted, exposed pipe in the ceiling. Peeling paint on those rusted pipes.

I had a fabulous time my one night there because friends visited and we took advantage of the rooftop lounge. Food was nice, drinks were great, view was awesome. But otherwise, I felt like this property has not seen any upgrades from what it used to be. It felt like a Motel 8 or other acceptable motor inn you find on the open highway. I stayed one night and moved to another hotel for the rest of my vacation.

The rooms are not in themselves terrible. However, for the money and for how this property is promoted and marketed, I felt it was definitely not worth it. If it were a $69/n motel, my ratings would be higher. It's all relative.

Room Tip: North side, 4th or 5th floor looks out over neighboring roof, so rooms below that will not have much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

ps970,

We are deeply sorry that you didn't have the exceptional stay our hotel guests are used to. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I will make sure the appropriate individuals are notified about the issues you had with your room, as it is not the norm here. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the rooftop lounge. The views up there are breath taking and can make for wonderful memories!

Thank you very much for the comment!

Aaron McCarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and from the moment we arrived the staff was all over us in terms of excellent service and attention .We were upgraded to a huge room that was well appointed and quiet...We must make special mention of Steve the bar manager on the roof who took us in hand on arrival and showed us around....not only that but he kindly comped our lunch including cocktails. Every time we saw him he went out of his way to help us and make sure we had a good time. The Valet parking staff were very efficient along with the restaurant staff...The location is outstanding for exploring the area and only a block from the beach....overall an excellent mini vacation..we would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Don B,


Thank you so much for such an excellent review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and we're really pleased you made such a great connection with Steve. I will be sure to pass on the positive comments to him!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Aaron McCarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Erwin at Christmas in 2011. The hotel itself is great--the rooms are funky, yet comfortable, and the hotel has a great location less than a block from the beach. The rooftop bar is a fun place to watch the sunset from (but get there early or make a reservation, as it fills up quickly).

But the real gem here is Barlo, the restaurant on the bottom floor. The four of us went there for dinner one night, three of us ordered the Barlo Burger, and we've all been dreaming of it ever since. Sadly, Venice Beach is over 400 miles away, too far to pop in for dinner! So my husband and I have tried to make the burger at home a couple times, but we've never gotten anywhere close. Until now!

While trying to find a good gift for my husband the following Christmas, I sent a message to Barlo on Facebook, asking if they have a cookbook or could offer me any tips on how to recreate this burger at home. I figured it was a long shot, and didn't really expect a response.

But last month I got a message back--Barlo's social media coordinator (thanks Angelica!) passed along a message from their Executive Chef, Adam Steudle, with details on how to make the components of his amazing burger! We finally had time to make it last weekend, and although it's a lot of work (the burger has tomato marmalade, bacon caramel, and herbed chevre) it was fantastic! Not quite as good as Barlo's version of course, so we'll definitely be heading back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280kandicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Kandice R,

Thank you so much for your stellar review! Our funky and fun style is something that sets us apart from the rest. Glad you enjoyed your stay here. We also love the Barlo burger! So delicious and what a creative way to make dinner at home by recreating this Barlo classic. We look forward to your next burger and stay, hope you do as well!

Aaron McCarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have used Hotel Erwin's HIGH rooftop lounge twice for work events and a couple times for personal events and it is always a flawless experience with great service. They really work with you to make sure you have the setup you need, the menu you want and servers/bartenders dedicated to your party. Not only is the view beautiful, but if you get chilly in the evenings there are heat lamps and blankets available. I would definitely recommend hosting an event here- anywhere from 10 to 100 people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hi Mallory,

We’re so happy to hear that High Rooftop Lounge is your go-to place for both personal and work events! We’re so lucky to have one of the best views (if not THE best view!) of Venice Beach and beyond. It does get chilly at High on occasion but like you mentioned we do have heat lamps and offer cozy blankets. And if that wasn’t enough, we even have spiked alcoholic beverages! You’ll have to come back and try the spiked hot cocoa if you haven’t already! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We’ll see you soon.

All the best,
Team Erwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved staying so close to the boardwalk. It was very easy to walk to everything. The hotel was clean and cute! Would stay here again! The staff was nice and catered to us at the rooftop bar. The rooftop bar got packed so if you want to enjoy it make a reservation! They will take special care of you since you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Renee S,

Thank you for the wonderful review. As you mentioned the boardwalk is just steps away, we are glad you were able to enjoy it while staying here at the Erwin. We are also glad you enjoyed the rooftop lounge, I will surely pass your kind words along to the staff. We look forward to your next trip to the Hotel Erwin and thank you again.

Aaron McCarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
802 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,970 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,073 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,886 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $274 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing