We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,504 results
Traveler rating
820
466
136
42
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
466
136
42
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvenice beachocean viewhigh barsanta monicastay in venicemuscle beachabbot kinneyperfect locationboutique hotelcool hotelvalet parkinghotel guestshomeless peoplebabbobalconyskate
Filter
Updating list...
862 - 867 of 1,504 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a king ocean view room & it was great, I would strongly recommend paying the extra as the views were well worth it. I had some reservations as people had commented on the venice area but I have to say I really enjoyed it and would strongly recommend venice as a good base if travelling to L.A. the rooms are funky but the wifi is expensive. We also went up to the rooftop bar “high” it was excellent, the service was great and the views again were excellent, I would say its a must if staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Director of Rooms at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

saz1982,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin during your travel’s from Ireland! We appreciate your kind words regarding our rooftop bar High, which is second to none in California offering breathtaking views and amicable service to match. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to glorious Venice and thank you for your review!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked an "oceanfront view suite" and please be warned that our view was of a parking lot (we were told that all of the rooms with a view were taken). It's not honest to call it an "oceanfront view" if it's dark and dreary.
The hotel is more along the lines of a nice hostel than a nice hotel. The clientele is young and drunk and it's noisy all night. Please don't book if you are looking for a relaxing stay! It's perfect for college kids on spring break. The staff was very nice but was disappointed and went home with very little rest. We won't be staying at Hotel Erwin ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Director of Rooms at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

olivemw,

Thank you for your feedback. While we embrace constructive feedback the descriptions in your review respectfully are not accurate in regards to what our upscale beach front property is proud to offer. Our numerous amenities are inclusive of our rooftop lounge, High, offering one of the best views in California for cocktails and delicious menu items, our restaurant, Barlo, for amazing breakfast and dinner options as well as room service for breakfast and dinner. Our ocean view suites face directly into the ocean and offer an unobstructed ocean view. We assure future guests that they most definitely do not look into a parking lot, which is non-existent between these rooms and the ocean.

There is definitely energy here in Venice however we place high importance in our guests having a relaxing escape while on property. Our guest’s relaxation and privacy is at the utmost of importance to us. Should we ever receive a complaint regarding noise the issue will swiftly be handled so as to not compromise your experience and we are disappointed we were not given the opportunity to do so. Given the before mentioned amenities and our passionate team of hoteliers providing a personable guest experience anything less than an excellent review will never be acceptable to any us here at Hotel Erwin. I have contacted your account and look forward to hearing from you so we can gain the opportunity to win your business back.

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice boutique hotel with several rooms facing the Pacific plus there is a very popular roof-top bar! The staff could not have been more helpful. A small restaurant on the first floor is helpful if one needs breakfast or doesn't want to drive for dinner. The fish tacos were delicious. Be warned that as in other such hotels valet parking is expensive and there is no free wi-fi at this point. Over-all, if one is looking for an outstanding boutique hotel almost right on the beach, this would be a great choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Director of Rooms at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Gerry70_11,

We appreciate you choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit from Atlanta and thank you for sharing your experience with us! As a collective team we take immense pride in the honor of creating a memorable and personable escape for our valued guests and I will be sure to share your praise with our team. I agree the fish tacos in our restaurant Barlo are nothing short of amazing. We hope to see you in the very near future and thank you for your review!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great first impression! Stayed here the last day it was still owned by Joie de Vivre. Valet and desk staff were very friendly and organised.
Great location, not even a 5 minute walk to Venice Beach, although the boardwalk is a little intimidating (not the hotel's fault!). You feel better cruising on a bike, which you can rent right near the hotel and be at Santa Monica to walk the pier and go shopping on Third St Promenade in no time.
Room was unexpectedly huge, bright and quirky! Even had a kitchenette. Only minor gripe is the bathroom was tiny.
Definitely recommend, especially if you want a different perspective on LA (I.e. outside of Hollywood)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Director of Rooms at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

ELH20,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted you found our staff to be at the highly personable level we pride ourselves on and that you had a legendary guest experience with us. We agree that our prime Venice location, spacious guest rooms, delicious dining options and energized service provides a refreshingly unique and luxurious alternative to the other more traditional Los Angeles and Santa Monica properties. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Venice from Australia!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked this Hotel on Hotel Tonight at less than half the rate listed on hotel website! The location cannot get any better if you want to stay in Venice Beach. 1 block from boardwalk with PLENTY of people watching. Secure parking under building. Service with a genuine smile. Aaron at the front desk was awesome. He was kind enough to suggest some good restaurants and honest enough to tell us he would not recommend some for good reason. The rooms were bright and clean and the ones we got both faced the ocean. Ours even had a balcony! The rooftop Bar HIGH, was the cherry on top of this booking! You get priority seating if you are staying at the hotel..we waited about 20 minutes to get our "area". Comfortable couches and seating with patio heaters and blankets while being served tasty drinks and appetizers was a perfect way of ending a great day! We will definitely stay here again if the rooms are available. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marione M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieter S, Director of Rooms at Hotel Erwin, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

monchen,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit from Meridian, we are honored to have such a glowing review from a Senior Reviewer such as yourself! We aim to create a uniquely personable and energetic guest experience providing a refreshing escape from the mundane hotel norm many have come to accept and we are delighted we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Aaron and our entire team of passionate hoteliers. We hope to see you in the very near future and thank you again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews