We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hotel in Venice Beach”
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #11 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hoboken, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel in Venice Beach”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed in LA for a few days at the end of a PCH trip starting in San Fran. We upgraded to an ocean view room and had a nice balcony to sit out and relax on. The room was big and very clean. Staff at the front desk were very helpful in showing us where to go and directions to restaurants we were dining at. The rooftop bar at the hotel was also very swanky and fun. I happened to get engaged in LA so we had a great time celebrating here! We went up there during the day for a beverage as well as at night for happy hour drinks. I don't know if I would ever stay in Venice Beach again, but if that is your destination this is the best hotel out there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDee1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Migs17,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted to hear that you choose Hotel Erwin to celebrate. Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and the staff, we will make sure to share this with them. Have a great day!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    412
    121
    39
    38
See reviews for
279
471
89
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is ok. Terrible location. The bad part of Venice. In the morning you have to dodge the homeless and the passed out people to get to the beach. Not a safe place for only women. Even as a couple we were harassed constantly. Your at least a mile from any resturant worth going to. So not much for location... The hotel, staff is a 4 out of 5. But no one going over the top. The rooms are that cheesy 70's vibe that someone decided to keep and paint in some cool colors and charge 3 times what it is worth. LA is a great hotel market. Lots of other choices in the area.
Looking at the reviews, if you love this hotel, let me guess, your 25, smoke pot and dont get up til noon. Just saying...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bblackonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear bblackonline,

We apologize that you found the area around the hotel disappointing and not to your liking. Venice Beach is a very diverse and eclectic area that attracts a wide arrange of cultures, which makes this such a special place to visit. Hotel Erwin is great for leisure travel but we are also highly ranked as the #6 hotel in Los Angeles for business travel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here in Venice and we hope that you reconsider us the next time you’re in LA.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Erwin is not only beautiful and the PERFECT spot to have a drink while overlooking the sunset on Venice Beach, but the service is impeccable! The staff is attentive and friendly. I celebrated my birthday here at the über cool RedBull Dogtown Suite and no lie, perfect birthday party EVER! If you are looking for a private, hip, intimate spot (with bar service, catering and an outdoor balcony overlooking Venice!) to have an event or party, look no further. The Erwin is THE place you want to be at. So happy I can share this amazing experience at The Erwin with all of you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Pili M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Erwin and happy belated birthday. We agree that our Dogtown suite is a great place to host an intimate gathering and it's great to hear that you agree. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I'm a local and this is my favorite Venice destination. If you live here, the zoo that is the Venice Beach boardwalk looses some of its novelty. Still, if you want to groove to the one place L.A. lets it's hair down (among other things) and get that Hollywood vibe at the same time ... Hotel Erwin! It's funky chic but the frosting on the cake is the rooftop lounge pumping music and pouring cocktails as you lay back on wide sofas in your rooftop 'cabana' ... the sights and sounds of the boardwalk a refreshing 7 story distance away. You are walking distance - or bike rental distance - to great restaurants and bars. You may want to pack binoculars for the 360% rooftop vistas overlooking downtown L.A, Hollywood and Beverly Hills, Malibu, Santa Monica Pier and Catalina Island. I was fortunate enough to see the final flight of the space shuttle as it roared majestically overhead upon it's landing at LAX.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Paul R,

Thanks so much for your kind words about Hotel Erwin and congrats on seeing the spaceshuttle on it's final flight, many members of our staff were lucky enough to see it as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service is friendly. room is clean and big enough.
it was a bit noisy since it next by Venice beach, music from bar stop about midnight.

Air freshener in hotel made me headache all the time, it's lucky they don't use it too much in room.
rooftop bar share the same elevator with guestroom, you can expect to ride it with full crowed drunker sometime.

Location is right front Venice Beach, but the area is a bit scratched.
Parking is like $38 per night. Use street parking instead.

Room Tip: Good for short term party stay, not for business travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Erwin with a friend in October. This hotel is close to the beach and nightlife. We had a blast. The beds and rooms on the sixth floor are the best. The roof top lounge is sweet. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff is eager to please, friendly and nice.
kudos to Carlos, Carl and the housekeeping staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Adrienne A,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Venice. It's also appreciated that you mentioned specific members of our staff and I will be sure to share your kind words with them. We hope to see you at Hotel Erwin again soon.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a cool, quirky hotel in Venice Beach. During our stay we got upgraded on our second day to a swank suite, which was a lot nicer than our standard room that was comfy but nothing to write home about. The rooftop deck is a must to hangout and take in the amazing view. Recommendations are recommended, even for guests. There are a lot of cool places to eat nearby and the Venice boardwalk is right outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetJLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear PlanetJLM,

Hello from the Hotel Erwin Team! Thanks so much for your kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the views at High Rooftop Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 350 in Los Angeles
772 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,855 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
513 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Erwin 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing