We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Escaping the Madness of carmegeddon"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #8 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“"Escaping the Madness of carmegeddon"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Where do I start. My wife n i decided a couple months ago to escape the potential traffic madness of the 405 freeway closure on the july 14-15 wknd, so we wanted to try the Hotel Erwin in venice beach. We had heard great things about it but wanted to experience it for ourselves n we couldnt have been happier. From the time we checked in to the time when we checked out, everything was great. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful with all our needs. I would definitely recommend that anyone staying @ the Erwin, or even elsewhere in the area, make time to go to the rooftop lounge n bar called High. It has the most amazing view of the pacific ocean on the westside. You are 7 stories up on the front and can see both north and south as far as the eye can see. I have stayed at some of the hotels in Santa Monica but never in venice. The hotel had all the modern conveniences of a nice hotel without all the atitude, that's very refreshing. I would definitely recommend any and all to stay @ the Erwin n get a true taste of Venice Beach and all that it has to offer. We will definitely be back sooner than later, Eric.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejohanson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    399
    115
    38
    36
See reviews for
251
459
87
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wow. I have no idea how one hotel can provide so much incompetence. Unhelpful corporate reservations staff who provide inaccurate information. Preferred guest amenities that are promised and not delivered. Best Rate Guarantee submission ignored. At check-in, receptionist informed us that rooftop bar served food until 11PM. At 10:40, we were informed that they had made a "last call" at 10:20 and no food was available. No solutions offered by staff whose attitude seemed to be a surfer like "bummer, dude." Filthy hallways. Unvacuumed room. And--get this--a half bag of cocaine lying next to the nightstand. Seriously?!? Do I have to look in the sheet for used condoms as well?!? No Manager available at 9:30AM to address these and other issues. Chaotic, understaffed front desk. Receptionists unable to direct other guests to Malibu. Answer? Go out to Lincoln Avenue, turn left, and follow Route 1. I know that and I don't even live there! Just one comic mistake after another with no redeeming qualities at all. OK, the view from the roof is nice at night. But absolutely no reason to stay here. Have a drink at the roof top (don't plan on eating though!) and then head back to any other hotel in the greater Los Angeles area. You'll thank me for skipping the Erwin; utter Hipster Hell.

Room Tip: Book a room anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Kyle Fehr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience with other travelers interested in staying in sunny Venice Beach. The entire team at the Hotel Erwin was extremely disappointed to read your review. We have taken your accusations very seriously and have thoroughly investigated your claim about the lapses in service that were alleged during your most recent visit with us.

We have been unable to confirm the accuracy of the review and would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you about the matter in additional detail. I have personally contacted you via telephone and left several voicemail messages requesting to speak with you at your earliest convenience. To date, we have not received a response from you to discuss this recent visit.

We welcome the opportunity to offer corrective action, pending verification of the events as you have outlined them. I look forward to hearing from you so that we can partner together to address the allegations in this review.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Erwin in Venice Beach California visiting a relative who had just had a baby. The GM upgraded me to a suite to honor the occasion and I must say that the combination of proximity to the beach and central Venice, the price, the decor and the friendliness of the staff make this one of the best all-around hotel experiences I have ever had. The rooftop bar HIGH was the icing on the cake. BEST views and drinks in the area and there is seriously no better place to watch the sun sink into the Pacific than there. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleManTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Outstanding! From the moment that we walked into the hotel we were greeted by the friendly and extremely accommodating staff. Every employee we encountered was fantastic. Loved the restaurant Hash and the rooftop lounge HIGH has the most amazing views of the ocean and the city. The hotel is close to so much. We were able to walk to the beach, Abbott Kinney, Main Street, Santa Monica Pier, Marina Del Rey. There were shops and restaurants galore all around us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and next time I’m in Venice you can bet that I will be staying at Hotel Erwin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaJen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

plain and simple, the Erwin in perfect. great rooms, perfect location, phenomenal views. everyone is always very nice and accommodating. i've recommended this hotel to lots of family & friends and will continue to do so.

one drink at the rooftop bar and you'll be hooked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I picked the Erwin because my brother was renting a house in Venice and we wanted to be nearby. The reviews on the Erwin were mixed but my wife and I took a chance.

We really loved the Erwin. It has been fully remodeled and is steps to the beach and the boardwalk in Venice. It is an eclectic style - don't expect a Marriott - but it has real charm and warmth. There are big screen HDTV's in the room, the furniture and bedding is excellent and the rooms are clean. The staff is terrific and gave us an early check-in and late check-out on a busy weekend.
They have a little restaurant on site called Hash that we didn't get to try but seemed to be a very popular place. They also have a rooftop club for drinks and appetizers. The only negative I can think of it that there is only one elevator and 6 floors, so the wait can be a few minutes at certain times of the day.

Venice can be a zoo in the summer but the Erwin gives you a wonderful place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Ask about their $10 upgrade to a suite-we got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great place for a young couple or singles although very pricey. The room we had was lovely but the hotel was very loud (there is a bar on the roof). The elevators were slow and always packed with people. I stayed here with 2 teens and the location was great. Just a block off the boardwalk and close enough.to Marina Del Rey and Santa Monica to walk to (if you like long walks!). The staff was grear and responsive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#47 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing