We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
309
194
65
27
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
194
65
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar hollywood sign apple tv star wars hipster vibe hollywood boulevard quirky hotel great rooftop walking distance pantages theater valet parking the ground floor city view rooms are modern good nights sleep comfy bed street noise
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 618 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

If you are a light or early sleeper, this place is not for you. It is a great modern hotel located in Hollywood with a bar and rooftop patio. It host a fun and young crowd and offers great eats. Definitely an "It" spot in LA.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyphashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness764841, Front Office Manager at Mama Shelter Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Dear Holly,

Thank you for your positive and thoughtful response to your stay with us at Mama Shelter Los Angeles! We hope that your sleep was uninterrupted during your stay and once we are made aware we will gladly take the opportunity to resolve the issue. We draw a diverse crowd of all ages to the hotel from the local area and abroad to enjoy the music, food, and drinks provided by our food and beverage division, and we are delighted that we were able to create a positive experience for you. Please come back to see us again!

Mama Loves You,
Luiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

very trendy and hip hotel ideal if you looking for a lively break. if your looking for a quiet family hotel look somewhere else. Check in was great we arrived early and informed room wasn't ready but were told we could leave our cases which gave us time to return hire car and explore the area. Staff were fantastic very helpful when we couldn't get tv to work.
we checked in on a friday for 4 nights. hotel turns into more of a nightclub than a hotel after dark. if your looking forward to a quiet drink after a hard day seeing the sights forget it, place is packed and noisy. glad we got to see rooftop bar the day we arrived because on a night you have to queue even though we were stopping in the hotel.
we were on the 2nd floor with a supposed city view but all we could see was the post office building opposite. room was a little small but adequate. No tea or coffee in the room and we only found out that there was complimentary coffee for guests down in breakfast area between 5am and 7am the last night, we weren't told at check in about this. there are no curtains just wooden blinds in the rooms which don't block all the light out so when it gets light so does the room. could hear the noise from the rooftop DJ and crowd on a night, it didnt really bother us as we were both shattered every night just glad i wasn't on a higher floor.
well located for the sights of Hollywood good and bad with universal studios not far away by metro and paramount studios just only a 35 min walk. shocked by the number of homeless and beggers and the amount of rubbish on the streets of Hollywood.
so if your young hip and trendy i couldn't think of a better place to stay for a weekend. if your more hip replacement find a more quieter family friendly hotel.

but still worth a visit just for the friendly staff and great food.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness764841, Manager at Mama Shelter Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi David,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
As much as I dislike receiving negative feedback about an experience like yours, I'm also grateful for guests like yourself who take the time to share criticism in a constructive and fair manner.
I appreciate you mentioning where we got it right during your experience.

Allow me to apologize for the parts of your experience that did not meet your expectations.
We do not take these concerns lightly, please give Mama a chance to win you back.

I really hope you give us a second opportunity to welcome you back, and if you decide to stay with us, feel free to contact me directly as I would love to personally assist you with your booking and ensure you feel the Mama love.

Luiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Mama Shelter is a trendy modern hotel, in an old but totally renovated building, with modern rooms, situated in a great location in the heart of Hollywood, safe to walk to nearby main streets. From the moment you enter the hotel (especially if it is night time) you realise that this place has an amazing atmosphere, groovy vibe and overall funky ambience.
The staff is super friendly and attentive (especially in the reception area), and the check-in process was fast and efficient. Especially Daniel at the front desk was very helpful and thoroughly explained us everything about the hotel and its amenities.
We stayed for 5 nights in Medium Mama city view room in the 3rd floor.
Our room was great and very clean, with some city view (not something fancy, just the street in front of the hotel) and a (minor distant) view of Hollywood sign. It was not big, but at least its space was sufficient for a couple. Modern decoration and with a lot of amenities (Apple TV, mini fridge, spacious desk, electronic safe, huge mirror).
The bed was huge and super comfortable, with high-quality soft cotton satin sheets and pillows, which provided for a great night's sleep.
The bathroom is simply amazing, brilliant white tiles decoration with a wonderful walk-in shower and powerful rain shower. And of course, spotlessly clean! Although it is not very big, it is so brilliantly designed that it makes use of every possible available inch.
The only thing I didn't like was the lack of any closet in the room, and that the lift was very slow most of the times.
A tip for the parking: The hotel offers valet parking for 39 USD+tax per night and self-parking for 22 USD+tax per night. The parking is located in the nearby Schrader Blvd (less than 2 mins walking!) very close to the hotel (the next corner, actually), so you might want to go for the self-parking.
I don't understand some reviews complaining about noise or the fact that they consider this hotel a club. This is not a secret that it is hidden. If someone reads the reviews carefully, one will realise that this hotel is very modern and attracts a young, modern and beautiful clientele. You realise that the moment you walk through the door for the first time. Although I am in my mid-40s, I had no problem with that. Personally, although the lobby was very noisy at night, we had no problem entering the lift, as guests of the hotel, and there was no noise in the room or in the corridors and we had an amazing sleep all 5 nights of our stay.
Overall, an amazing experience and it is definitely worth staying here! Keep up the good work, Mama!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness764841, Manager at Mama Shelter Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
I'm overjoyed to see that you had nothing short of a great experience while staying with us and that our front desk team could be a part of that.
We hope we can welcome you back soon again.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

Luiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

First time in LA, read some good reviews about Mama Shelter.. lifts being only drawback with popular rooftop bar. WE DID NOT have any issue with waiting. We only had to show our key when arriving at bar to get whisked through quickly.
We had corner Mama city view suite FOR OUR 3 night stay .. it was the most comfortable bed in LA. NOT noisy.
Every tiny detail had been thought of. The beautiful bowl of fresh berries and the choc chip cookie the size of my face was an unexpected complimentary treat.
Short walk to Hollywood Blvd, Chinese Theater. Very central.
We arrived early and was no problem to leave bags and go exploring. Samantha and Rheba looked after us there.
Reception was quirky with gigantic fuzball table and wooden board games at bar tables.
Rooftop bar was incredible. Great vibe and view to THE sign.
ALL STAFF clearly enjoy working there.
Lucky enough to be looked after by Yannick and had great convo with Jean Philippe.. we tried talking them into opening Mama in Sydney and Melbourne.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND stopping at this unique, quirky, adorable hotel! I can’t rave any more! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness764841, Manager at Mama Shelter Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Justine,
Happy to see that we were able to wow you with both our hotel amenities and service.
We truly believe in creating an environment that is comfortable and fun for all.
Hopefully we'll have the privilege of welcoming you back soon!
Thank you for your kind words.

Luiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

The rooms are noisy and there s no real curtain to be able to get a proper sleep. Rooms are small and despite a good bedding that s not a real good hotel room for 250 USD à night. Being a gold loyalty program member I did not receive anything special in this hotel.Personnel was just OK and did not made up for the experience. Roof top OK but crowdy and the special margarita cocktail I had was disgusting. Bye Mama

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Excursion101448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happiness764841, Manager at Mama Shelter Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
As much as I dislike receiving negative feedback about an experience like yours, I'm also grateful for guests like yourself who take the time to share criticism in a constructive and helpful manner.

Allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us.
We do not take these concerns lightly, please give Mama a chance to win you back.

I really hope you give us a second opportunity to welcome you back, and if you decide to stay with us, feel free to contact me directly as I would love to personally assist you with your booking and ensure you feel the Mama love.

Thank you for your loyalty as a Gold Accor member and for your honest review.

Luiz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews