We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi and a place to see”

Takami Sushi and Robata
Reserve with OpenTable
Takami Sushi and Robata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #325 of 10,036 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Wilshire & Flower
Transit: The Metro station is located 1 block south at 7th & Flower.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Sushi and a place to see”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

High atop 811 Wilshire, the open air view of downtown is spectacular. While pricey due to the view, the quality of the sushi is great. Super for business events or night on the town. Service was helpful and the view was supreme!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    62
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location and food but service not so good”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This restaurant is located on the 21 floor of a business building and offers beautiful views of downtown LA. The atmosphere is very nice and cozy and offers a refined menu with good choices of appetizers, soups, salads, robatas, sushi and special dishes. Also they have good drinks, wines, sakes and beers. Me and my wife had Miso Soup, Baked King Crab Roll, Dragon Roll and Angus Filet and all were very tasty. Unfortunately the service was not good (our drinks arrived after foods) and too slow. We went on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was not crowded.
Even so, it is worth a visit to have a great time and eat good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ok place for lunch”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

You can do much better in LA for sushi, sashimi and Robata. Nice top floor location, overlooks the Standard hotel and roofs of LA. Im thinking it probably is a better place for dinner because it has a clubby type field to the place. Prices are on par with other great sushi restaurants with sushi that didn't blow me away. It's good not great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food was very good, service not so much”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food was very good. Although we like Sushi, we went with the Robata and it was very tasty. We would try it again, particularly the scallops. However, the service needs to be improved. It took a while to get our orders going, but even worse, we were rushed to leave the table after we finished our main course by a waiter who needs to be re-trained.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovelly
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very tasty bento”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch on a hot LA day. The view is great & the good tasty, fresh & beautifully presented. We felt that the lunchtime business crowd was a bit pretentious but don't let this put you off a downtown gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clovellyjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takami Sushi and Robata also viewed

 

Been to Takami Sushi and Robata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing