We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #58 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nicer than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Although it has an 80's motif, this hotel is very nice throughout. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and close to Universal Studios and City Walk. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. You won't be disappointed and the price point is rather good also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    1,211
    532
    201
    125
See reviews for
1,506
831
129
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Due to territory change hadn't stayed in 5+ years, and though a bit rough around the edges, I was greeted warmly by Front Desk Mgr. Kevin Finister who greeted me again by name 3 days later walking through the lobby. Impressive, as was the rest of the staff!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great experience through this hotel, food great and generally service was also great. The only thing I can say is that it would be nice to have more than one staff member to buy tickets to Universal studios. I had to wait a while then felt rushed because more people were behind me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a night. The hotel is in a nice location, rooms are very nice and they all have nice views. I've lived in LA in the past, it is close to Sunset, Hollywood blvd and universal city. The lounge in the lobby is nice I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Our list of problems
1. Room was extremely dirty
A. Small Curley hairs scattered all over the room
B. Chair splattered with dry white fluids
C. Room extremely dusty ( not allergy friendly)
D. Bath drain drains really slow
E. Bathtub dirty with stuff caked on
F. Was not informed of parking fee, payed twice once at
Theme park and at resort
G. Walk from parking to lobby is confusing and long, since main elevator not working
H. Staff rude and uneducated
Informed supervisor Philipe and was unapologetic, and soon his demeanor turned as if he was a litigation lawyer. He offered to credit parking ONLY IF WE HAD THE RECEIPT IF NOT HE COULD NOT DO ANYTHING. PARKING PASS WAS IN THE CAR, AND I EXPLAINED THAT TO HIM AND THAT IT WAS FAR AND HE DID NOT CARE. DID NOT WANT TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FILTH IN THE ROOM.

I HAD TO SPEND 1 HOUR OF MY DAY TO FIX THERE INCOMPETENCY

INFORMED THEM WITH A CALM AND UNDERSTANDING DEMEANOR ( since we now that something's thing happen in hotels and no one is perfect) AND AFTER SPEAKING TO SUPERVISOR I WAS DEAPLY UPSET ON THE POOR SERVICE AND POOR UNDERSTANDING AND RUDDINESS OF HOTEL STAFF.

NOT 4 diamond hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frenchmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your recent stay. We regret that you encountered issues during your time with us. I assure you this is not the type of service or accommodations we wish to provide our guests. We are disappointed to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations as guest satisfaction is very important to us. I have reached out to our Executive Office and Rooms Division. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

After staying 3N/2D at a Best Western hotel in Anaheim, we were ready for a change! I'm so glad that Hilton did not disappoint!

My kids immediately noticed the difference and quality of beds, ambience and service. The beds and pillows were terrific - you are actually given 2 fluffy/soft ones and 2 hard ones per bed. Yes, take notice of the little details :) We stayed on the 17th floor facing Hollywood Fwy - it was quiet with a great view and renovated room.

If you arrive prior to check in time but would want to go to Universal, you can park in the self parking (underground). Fee for self-park is $24/day. Once you check in, the front desk will give you a parking card for in/out privileges & your parking should be valid 24 hrs from your check in time or 6pm.

It really is about 5-10 min walk to Universal Studios (depends if you have kids) but they also have a shuttle that goes from the hotel to Universal Studios. If you decide to walk to Universal Studios through the back door/Hotel Dr, the only pedestrian crossing is through the bridge which does not have handicapped/stroller access so be sure to be able to carry your stroller if you have kids. Once you cross, the bridge, there are no more stairs to go down to.

There is a gym 24/hrs and pool is open until 10pm.

Make sure you try the breakfast or brunch buffet at Cafe Sierra. It was pricey but great food!

Overall, we all loved this hotel.

Room Tip: The beds and pillows were terrific - you are actually given 2 fluffy/soft ones and 2 hard ones per b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This property was what I expect from Hilton. Property was clean ... Beautiful lobby and dinning areas. Buffett was amazing. Giving 4 stars because of lack of insulation between conjoined doors. Heared everything from the neighbors rooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrneeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#100 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#145 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing