We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location -- right next to Universal Studios”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #46 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Hilton Universal LA - Rooms were nice and comfortable.
Great location as it's right next to Universal Studios!
7 minute walk to Universal Studios without having to move the car or getting up early to drive and park there.There was also a free shuttle to take from the hotel to Universal, but we didn't take it. One of my friends did take shuttle back to the hotel.
The pool looked nice but we were too busy that we didn't get to go in. Same goes for the fitness center...Next time.

It's about 15-20 min drive (depending on traffic) to Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Philippe, the front desk supervisor was very helpful.

Parking was reasonable. Not bad esp not having to park @ Universal.
Breakfast is not cheap - $23 for the buffet. Didn't go there since we were always up and out early and not that hungry. We got breakfast at the Coffee Corner (serves Starbucks).

Wifi charge $7.95 per day per device. free in the lobby with password. Didn't bother to get.

A couple of things with the bathroom:
Light switch for the bathroom was outside the bathroom. Go figure.
There are no lights right above the shower so it's a bit dark.
No shower rubber mats to prevent slipping in the shower.
No fan in bathroom to clear the steam.
Water pressure in the shower was a bit low, so took time to take a shower.

Room Tip: Note: If you have FourSquare, check into the hotel for $2 off breakfast buffet and $1 off Coffee Cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We regret you had an issue with the desk light but are happy that it was fixed promptly and to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,261 - 2,267 of 3,911 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I like this hotel almost solely because it's close to my business interests, and it's decently priced for that. And I do enjoy the proximity to Saddle Ranch Universal City, which sounds cheesy but is actually delicious. But if I was going for vacation purposes, unless those included a trip to Universal Studios, I'd think twice. Elevators are ridiculously slow and it's constantly full of conventions and weddings. That said, if Universal Studios is in your plans, go for it! It's a short walk if you don't opt for the very easy shuttle.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank onthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to welcoming you back with every stay and are thrilled our location is convenient for you. We are happy to announce the integration of new elevators before the end of the year. This will increase guest flow and cut down wait times. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed September 7, 2013

8/30/13 to 9/3/13 vacation - Stewart at front desk was great and went out of his way to ensure our stay was the best. Location was excellent with a short walk to the park and city walk. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. We would plan to stay here again next time we visit California.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to universal studios Hollywood. It is the closest you will get to an on property hotel maybe a 5 minute walk to the park.

Stayed in a king corner room which was excellent. Room was large and clean. Bathroom was also large and very clean. Only issue I had with the room was one morning smoke started coming from one of the desk lights and they replaced it immediately.

Ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Food was pretty good, but service was on the slow side.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minorthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From arrival to departure everything is just perfect, food, room is great, and location could not be better if you are going to Universal Studios you could not be closer, you can actually walk to all attractions. It's nice, very safe, and do not miss their evening buffet, that is award winning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always a delight to hear a guest had a great experience with us. We want to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed the buffet during your stay and that your accommodations were to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay in the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I like a comfortable bed and a clean, quiet room. My room was comfortable, clean and quiet. I liked the around-the-corner separation of the bathroom and bedroom areas. Check-in was very fast. The staff pulled up my name in seconds. I had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location if you want to visit Universal. It's walking distance to the park entrance (about as far as you would walk from the parking lots), but there is also a shuttle. I actually stayed here on a business trip and didn't visit Universal. The walk down to the metro station is about 10 minutes downhill (a huge hill), there's a shuttle to take you back up the hill if you want but it goes to City Walk not the Hilton (another shuttle will take you back to the Hilton or you can walk). The room itself was large and clean. The beds were really comfortable! Bathroom was spacious. The tub definitely had some wear and tear, though. The plumbing for the shower was a pain, it would drip constantly and never turn completely off. Biggest complaint about the hotel was the elevator situation. I'm not sure how many of the elevators actually worked, but expect to wait a long time for one. Staff were not unpleasant, but also not super friendly. The lobby areas was a little dated looking. Parking was very expensive ($24/day roughly for self-park) and then internet another $7-8 a day. Overall, I would stay here again if I planned to visit Universal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoffeeAddict7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We regret you had issues with the shower during your stay and have alerted our engineering department of this problem. We apologize that you have issues with our elevators. We are happy to announce the integration of new elevators before the end of the year. This will speed up guest flow and decrease any wait time. We are delighted to hear you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,711 reviews
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,183 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#143 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $225 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing