We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service as usual but 30min weight for an elevator!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #60 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great service as usual but 30min weight for an elevator!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our sixth time here and we feel like it is our second home now.

We do not come to visit the studios but they are really close just a short walk down the hill in a very safe area. The gardens are well kept with an attractive array of flowering plants. Nearby down Ventura Av. there is a very wide selection of fine restaurants.

Check in was painless and fast with friendly staff who took the time to escort us to the elevators. The room was spacious and clean with good views across the valley with fast wireless ($8). The bathroom was also of a good size with bath tub and shower above. If you decide to have a bath then you can only fill the tub by standing up to turn the water on which is irritating.

The buffet in the restaurant is OUTSTANDING with a huge selection of sushi, oysters, crabs and almost everything imaginable all for $55 per head. The bar has the best beer in the world ( ) on draft which is an example for the hotel's attention to detail. Most evenings and lunchtimes there is live entertainment of a high quality (watch out for JC Curtis).

Self parking is easy and immediately below the hotel although very expensive at $24 per day.

This is a great hotel that has a buzz about it that is attractive and relaxing.

The biggest gripe is the non-availability of elevators during check out time. W waited nearly 30 mins for an elevator to reach the 9th floor that had any space for the two of us with luggage. The solution is to take the next elevator going up and to then ride it up and back down. I know that this makes the problem worse for everyone but that's life!

We will come again.

Room Tip: Get on the reserve list for a cut price corner room.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not see any evidence of environmental friendly practice!
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertybign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    1,227
    542
    207
    129
See reviews for
1,551
835
131
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the second time we'd stayed here - the last time being 5 years ago.

Staff are professional and efficient and the rooms are perfect (if a little smaller than some) for a family of four. We had a corner room, high up, on both occasions with a great view of the 101 and surrounding hills. Experience told us that the hotel is the perfect base for many places - Universal Theme park being the main one, as well as City Walk in the evening.

The pool area is great for sunbathing while the kids play in the water and drinks and refreshments can be orddered via room service.

The "usual" Hollywood places are only a short drive or taxi ride away, so it's a pefect base.

Food and Beverage services are A+ : not least being the Breakfast Buffet. Probably the priciest on our vacation, but worth every dollar for quality and vast range of foods to choose from.

We will be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSimonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for business purposes - conference downtown - so whilst the rate was much cheaper than downtown I spent a lot on taxis. That said if you want to be close to universal city it's a perfect location. The hotel itself is not new but the rooms are decent and clean - I had a corner room so was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that but all the staff i did interact with were friendly and helpful - I went out for a run one morning and they gave me a nice 3.5 mile route through a good neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colebrooke1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Unfriendly staff.

Nickel & dime you for everything.

For $300 a night I got air blowing at me while trying to sleep.
The bathtub paint or enamel was chipping.
The beds were very old and squeaky.
Bathroom exhaust fan cover was caked with dirt and hair.
The 1980's called and they want there room décor back.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyBoyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chul vista, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

best stay and staff!!! the staff went out of there way to make my birthday and stay extra special. this is the way all hotels should function!! i will return to this hotel during our next visit to Universal Studios Hollywood!!Stewart u ROCK!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

April 2013. Very nice spacious rooms. Very clean rooms. Great views. Very close and easy walk to Universal Studios. We got to the Hilton at 10am and our rooms were not quite ready. So we checked our luggage with the Bell Hop and off to the Park we went for the day. Decided to head back to check in and take a nap before dinner at CityWalk. We checked in and the Front Desk clerk was very nice and made sure our rooms were together. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the Pool. The hotel was very busy with allot of activity but the floor was quiet as was the room. We all took naps and headed to CityWalk for dinner. It is fun fun fun there on CityWalk. So many great places to eat and to shop. We were out until 11pm enjoying all the sights and sounds.
Slept GREAT. Beds are comfy and the floor was very quiet. No noise at all. Up by 9am and off to the BUFFET in the LOBBY. It was AWESOME. I highly recommend it. We checked out and left our luggage with the Bell Hop and went back to Universal Studios until 4pm when we were exhausted, sunburnt and ready to head home. Our stay at the Hilton was wonderful. A+. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarBear03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed for two weeks with my girlfriend in September 2012 (only just got round to writing this!). We arrived very late due to delayed flights and were very tired after traveling from York, Britain, the lady on the front desk was lovely and sympathetic to us and checked us in quickly which was ideal. The Hotel is clean and beautiful, staff friendly and helpful (bar one bellhop who was a bit abrupt) we had many good experiences with the front desk and the concierge.

The room was a good size, and was well appointed. It had a small fridge, which was useful for storing some drinks and food, there was also a coffee maker and a good choice of tea bags. There were large nearly floor to ceiling windows so you get lots of natural light, but the blinds are so good it can be pitch black when it needs to be. The in-room safe, which you could put your laptop in, was a nice feature. The beds were perfect with good pillows, pillows are something that I need to be right, and they were! The room was also dead quiet, no noise AT ALL from other guests or from outside. The bathroom was fine and always properly cleaned, the shower was good with strong water flow. The TV was a good size and had a good choice of channels, we loved watching Good Morning LA while we got ready to go out.

The location really is awesome, we loved being so close to Universal Studios and Universal CityWalk. We got an annual pass for Universal as it wasn't much more than a two day pass! It was definitely worth it, we popped in to Universal on many mornings, got on every ride straight away and we loved it, it’s not a big theme park but it is good, we always left before it got busy. Having the Citywalk nearby was also very good! When we got back from our day excursions it was so good just to be able to wander over and get some food if you couldn't be bothered to go out again, we also got a discount in many places with the annual pass which was a bonus! The location is also very convenient to most attractions in LA we did all sorts while we were there, all the studio tours, plenty of shopping, Griffith Observatory, Santa Monica, the Farmers Market, Disneyland and much more, all of which were within a good traveling distance, we drove everywhere which I think is the only way to get around in LA.

The downsides of this Hilton are few, it isn't brand new but it doesn't feel dated as some reviews make out, the only real downsides are the fees for Wi-Fi and parking, but I can forgive it for that, apart from anything else it stops you going on the computer all the time. The parking fee seems to be the norm for LA, so you can’t fault Hilton for that the parking lot was good and secure, and there was only one night out of fourteen we struggled to find a parking spot, so maybe it was worth the price. This hotel really was a good base for our holiday and I would love to go back, and no doubt I will.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#94 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing