We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The Hilton, while incredibly overpriced, was a very nice average hotel. It's very close to Universal Studios, which is great, but if you want to do any sight seeing, rent a car. This hotel is far (not a walking distance) from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood Blvd. The rooms were very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and the towels were soft. We had a perfect view of the Hollywood Hills skyline and the amazing sunsets. We did leave some things in the room and they have yet to be "found". That leaves a really bad taste in our mouths from an otherwise average experience. The front desk staff is excellent, but that's only if you have Jose! Some of he others at the font desk are not so kind or helpful. Jose was amazing!!!!!!! Stay here only if you need to be near Universal Studios.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank loves2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    1,236
    550
    207
    132
See reviews for
1,579
847
132
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
louisville,ky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is an enormous and very chaotic hotel, but surprisingly well run. We were there during the Spring Break/ Easter rush and at times could barely make it through the lobby because of the crowds. Despite the mayhem, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We got great tips about a last minute trip to Hollywood Blvd from the Concierge and had a wonderful afternoon. The walk to Universal Studios is easy and it is just a short walk to the Metro as well. We used the Metro to get to Hollywood Blvd. and it was great. We didn't use the pool or gym so cannot comment on those amenities. The room was large and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrassgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I try to stay at this hotel when in the area. Great location and views, spacious rooms, good amenities and always friendly staff. Very convenient to Universal Studios. Park your car at the hotel to save on parking at Universal Studios, as it is a short walk to CityWalk and the front gate at Universal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute. The front desk was accommodating and seemed to go out of their way to ensure I had everything I might need.
Its what you would expect from a Hilton. If you need to stay I a hotel in this area this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravel136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
366 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We used Hilton points for this one. The staff member who checked us in wasn't too helpful. Didn't give us an overview of the hotel or even tell us about the free shuttle to universal. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfy. Short walk to universal. Seafood buffet looked good but it was $43 and kid rate ended at age 9. Didn't think our 12 year olds would eat enough to justify the price. Not too many options for breakfast. Buffet that was pricey or Starbucks that even ran out of bagels some mornings. They also charge $25 a day for parking. If visiting Universal however you can't beAt the location

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Fortunately we used Hilton points to cover the room cost as this hotel is vastly over priced. The rooms are fine but no better than previous economy hotels we stayed at it the LA area. This hotel charge for everything, $25 per day for parking, breakfast is an additional cost at appox $22 plus tax and tips per head. Even the bottle water in the room was $3.50! The only thing this hotel has going for it is the close location to universal studios. But on hindsight I would stay else where (Staybridge suites for example) and pay $15 to park at Universal. Please also note the porters claim you are not allowed to use the trolleys to move your bags (health and safety rubbish) and push for tips!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm disappointed to hear your were not satisfied with your experience. We have taken your concerns about the amenties under review. We do strive to maintain compareable pricing among full service hotels with similar ratings in our area. We appreciate you taking time to review our services and will use these suggestions to improve our hotel. We hope you will consider staying Hilton Hotels in the future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. 5 minute walk to Universal Studios, no parking hassles and we got into the park gates when it opened so no wait for the popular rides.

Pros
Nice big room #2369
Fabulous view of Universal Studios ( see photo)
Nice modern furniture in good condition
Clean room
A/C worked well
Quiet room/ quiet floor
Extra blanket provided
Rollaway bed was comfortable
Housekeeping bought rollaway bed without being reminded.
Pool heated
Housekeeping bought fresh towels promptly
2 guest robes and slippers
Flat screen TV

Cons
Uncover parking $24 one night next night $20
Hot tub too hot maybe 104 +
Rollaway bed $25 per day
No free WIFI in the room
Need more storage options in the room
Need more towel rails in bathroom
Need somewhere to hang swim suits in the bathroom
Fridge in room not that cold
Concierge gave us a map of Universal studios but had to be prompted
to depart with any other info or good tips on the park.

Overall we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 2369, big room, great view, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivnoaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#138 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#55 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing