We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Distance to Universal Studios and City Walk - Dirty Carpets in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #46 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is very good, it's walking distance to Universal Studios and City Walk (wide selection of restaurants) and located right off the 101. The hotel is fairly updated. The beds are very comfortable, and have high quality (high thread count and crisp) sheets. The bathroom is modern and clean. ON the negative side and the reason I rated this hotel as only average is that the room could use a good dusting, and the carpets were quite dirty. It's actually quite surprising that the management does not hire a firm to come in and steam clean them - seems like a simple fix to greatly improve the guest experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to get a nice view. Also one side of the hotel faces Universal Studios, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusWannaCleanRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,467 - 2,473 of 3,908 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for our first visit to overseas. Its in a fantastic location..a five minute walk to universal studios and citywalk. The rooms are great, only problem is our room smelt like smoke. The bed was comfy as and the concierge was very helpful. Would definately reccomend and stay again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We planned to see Universal Studios Hollywood and there couldn't have been a better place to stay. You can actually walk over to the theme park through an almost connecting bridge, takes about 4-5 minutes. All the major attractions (Chinese theatre, Walk of fame, tour operators for Hollywood tours) are just one stop away on the subway. The closest subway station is also located a very short convenient walk away from the hotel, and its a downhill walk, which meant we struggled to walk uphill on return, about 5 minutes on a 15 degree incline...and it was a real pain with a toddler with us who did not want a stroller ride at that point in time... nevertheless, we made it alive!! The one big problem is that there no places to eat near the hotel. Lunch was always out since we were out sightseeing during the day. Dinner was ordered by us over the phone and delivered to the hotel for us.
I thought Wi-Fi would be free of charge in a hotel like Hilton...turns out, I was wrong. We had to pay for it.
The room itself was average. That being said, it was one of the hotel's cheaper rooms.
The bathroom was decent and toiletries were better quality than what I have generally encountered, but seriously, who cares for toiletries!!
All in all, a good place to stay especially if Universal studios tops your agenda list. A bit inconvenient for food though and the uphill walk is serious so take that into account if you have children or elderly accompanying you and you plan to take buses or trains to city attractions other than Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After spending a week at Disneyland, I wanted to enjoy a few days in LA to show the family the rest of the sights. The search for accommodation was exhaustive as all hotels were either too pricey, too small, poor location or not modern in appearance.

I was excited to find Hilton Universal City, it was close enough to LA to drive, close to the amenities of Universal Studios (I didn't take the family as our 5 year old is too short for most of the rides)

Patric at Check In was amazing, giving us a high floor room with an excellent view. What surprised me is how the valet, doorman and bell boy were clearly SO proud of the hotel and that they work for the Hilton, nothing was too much effort.

The swimming pool was beautifully warm, housekeeping was excellent.

The only negative, is for a double room, the beds were TINY, my wife and I really struggled to get comfortable as the bed was so small.

Other than that, wouldnt hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaqjaq84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

While breakfast was good it was very much over priced. We found a local place that was excellent and very reasonable . Its less than a mile away and called Good Neighbor. Hotel needs some updating. Our shower knob got stuck and our bed fell off the frame in top corner. Seems like it was a queen frame but double bed. Why do they even put doubles in hotels. They are way too small for comfort. And the room could definitely accommodate queens. But is still it was clean and roomy. Plus had pretty views of the city! Pool was nice but doesn't catch early evening sun and was too cold for Spring Break Cabana were a nice touch. Valet is very prompt and efficient. Roll away crib was also overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKids-3-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business and it was okay. The hotel was very standard, no complaints. This would have been a great location had I been going to Universal so I would highly recommend it if that is your purpose. It was an easy walk to Universal City Walk where you can choose from a number of common chain restaurants. I don't plan to stay here again as I prefer a location with more unique and interesting restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel itself was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice Hilton, best part is location to Universal Studies. You can walk. Clean Rooms. No Club Level for Diamond Members, nice work out facility. Would go back. Good Value. They have a lot of places to get coffee and ice cream. Nice gift shop, Parking overnight was not too costly for S. Cal. I would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,710 reviews
The Garland
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,182 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#68 of 355 in Los Angeles
441 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#143 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $224 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing