We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Universal Studios Hollywood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #47 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We selected this Hotel because they offered free shuttle to Universal Studios. The price compared to other hotels around was higher and they charge additionally $20 Self Parking or $25 Valet Parking per day. As Hilton Honors member they offered $55 ticket at the check-in when booked online. When we checked in, there were no tickets available for this price and of course they offered a ticket at their hotel, which was fine because it was the same price. Maybe a trick to sell more at their hotel.

We were four people in one room, so I had pre-ordered extra set of towels online, a free service offered to Hilton Honors. Disappointed that it was not there. Had to call front desk 2 times and wait for about 30 min until they finally brought us extra towels.

The room was nice with a great view of the city and Universal Studios. We could see the Water world fires from our room. It was not perfectly clean, but again, on our latest few trips we haven't get one hotel with perfect clean service. Just got a soup and washing cloth and cleaned myself. Maybe when we can afford five stars hotel I will start to complain about cleanness.

This hotel looks so close to the park, but it does not have a short cut. You have to go around the hotel and across the bridge. It is about 10-15 minutes walk.

The shuttle is fine and run every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: It has a beautiful view of the City and the park. Get higher floors if you enjoy views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyFavoritesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your valueable feeback on your recent stay. I am disappointed that your room was not 100% to your expectation and for the delay in your guest service request. I want you to know that your comments have been forwarded to the specific department managers and executive office for review. We take the comments of our guests very seriously and work continously to improve guest satisfaction.

I hope that the next time you are in Los Angeles, you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,500 - 2,506 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I cannot remember how I ended up picking this hotel, a mix of proximity to business meetings, and Tripadvisor ratings. This is a good, quality hotel that feels like a great value, as the rooms and public spaces are great, and the staff is very good. Highlights include very close proximity to Universal studios (obviously) and really nice restaurant facilites. This is a great place to get your breakfast, or have a nice drink in the lobby hotel bar. Some might not care for the proximity of Highway 101 so nearby - it's kind of loud, but only a low frequency rumble when in your room. For much of LA, you might find this a bit off the beaten path, but everyone has their own priorities with respect to location.

In summary, I had a really comfortable room for what I thought was a great price for LA, the staff was really professional with just the right balance of friendliness and reserve.

Room Tip: You may choose to face away from Hwy 101, and instead overlook the theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased you found our hotel a valuable choice from price to amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you have a business meeting in town.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal to go to the Universal Studios Hollywood park as well as a base for us to visit Hollywood landmarks and some of the studios. The package included self parking which was a great deal as it is normally ($20) a day and it also included two breakfast vouchers per day. We are a family of 4, so we paid for two kids breakfast while using the vouchers for the cost of the adult breakfast.

The room is very clean and we had no complaints. We also had a view of the park from our room as well as the mountains. The park is about a 10 minute walk or you can wait for the shuttle bus to take you to Universal City-walk, which comes every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Book a package to save on parking and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of one the value packages we offer throughout the year. It was a joy to be able to host your family on your LA vacation and we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family (2A, 2C, 10 & 15) stayed at Hilton Universal City in mid Nov for 2 nights. Our only reason for this stay was to visit Universal Studios.
Location is the key factor here and you couldnt get any closer to Universal, however Im not sure if it would be a good base for anything else, as it seems a little isolated.
Check in staff were pleasant, but nothing outstanding. Room was spacious (a double double), we had a high floor and Universal view, which were both upgrades.($$). Beds were comfortable and there was lots of room for the suitcases. Bathroom was fairly standard fare but I did like the inclusion of mouthwash.
Parking was expensive as is the wifi.
The coffee shop was good, Starbucks coffee and Krispy Kreme doughnuts, you cant go wrong. We didnt use any other food and bev at the hotel, as Citywalk was just across the road adjacent to Universal Studios, where there is a good variety of food places.
Universal Studios is a very short walk, down the driveway, across the road and over a pedestrian bridge, all up less than 5 minutes and not strenuous by any means.
If, however, you are walking downhill to the subway/metro station, take care on the way down (its very steep) and wait for the shuttle for the trip back up. That climb would be life threatening!!
I would stay here again, (sans car if possible) if I were visiting Universal Studios and would recommend it for anyone else doing the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry00seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and for choosing to spend your vacation with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to forward your comments to the appropriate departments to improve future guest satisfaction.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was impressed by the attentive personal service from everyone for such a large and extremely busy hotel. Great check-in and lots of "hellos". I listened in on the manager dealing with another's group problem.....very courteous.

The Honors freebies (breakfast, nightly snacks at the bar) met my family of 5's needs.

Room amenities on the 20th floor were nice. Rooms a bit small. Ask for a room facing the park.

Spa was clean and towels were a plenty.

Shuttle service to the park was very convenient. The 10 minute walk option was also good.

Room Tip: facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamasFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay. It pleases us immensely to hear that you experienced such personal service while you were here. Many of our team members have worked with us for several years and pride themselves on creating a home away from home for our guests. We hope that your stay has inspired you to continue to stay with Hilton.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The is the nicest Hilton I've been to We had a spacious, well appointed alcove room with a nice view of the mountains. This Hilton is right next to Universal.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but the buffet looked magnificent . I fact the only downfall is that the Buffet setup takes over quite a bit of the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be the best that you have experienced. That is high praise and we appreciate that you have takent the time to provide your feedback. Your note about the buffet setup has not gone unnoticed and will be forwarded to the appropriate department managers. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I attended a 3 day convention and every thing was top notch. Had a very convenient and short walk to Universal Studios and the attached street mall. Great view of the inside of Universal Studios Theme Park from some rooms and views of the surrouding foothils from the other rooms. Only oddity was the walk way from the lobby/elevator area was lined on both sides with buffet food. If I was eating there I would not want everyone not eating walking within inches of all the food I was planning on eating. Very attractive food displays I must say though. The business center computer would not print my boarding pass but a very helpful staff member took me to his office and let me use his setup.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Theme Park have a view of some of the attractions if interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and fournd our staff accommodating. We hope to see you return soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#134 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,702 reviews
The Garland
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,160 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#65 of 355 in Los Angeles
435 reviews
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#142 of 355 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $226 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing