We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #56 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Service and Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I cannot remember how I ended up picking this hotel, a mix of proximity to business meetings, and Tripadvisor ratings. This is a good, quality hotel that feels like a great value, as the rooms and public spaces are great, and the staff is very good. Highlights include very close proximity to Universal studios (obviously) and really nice restaurant facilites. This is a great place to get your breakfast, or have a nice drink in the lobby hotel bar. Some might not care for the proximity of Highway 101 so nearby - it's kind of loud, but only a low frequency rumble when in your room. For much of LA, you might find this a bit off the beaten path, but everyone has their own priorities with respect to location.

In summary, I had a really comfortable room for what I thought was a great price for LA, the staff was really professional with just the right balance of friendliness and reserve.

Room Tip: You may choose to face away from Hwy 101, and instead overlook the theme park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are pleased you found our hotel a valuable choice from price to amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you have a business meeting in town.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    1,058
    449
    163
    99
See reviews for
1,216
706
114
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal to go to the Universal Studios Hollywood park as well as a base for us to visit Hollywood landmarks and some of the studios. The package included self parking which was a great deal as it is normally ($20) a day and it also included two breakfast vouchers per day. We are a family of 4, so we paid for two kids breakfast while using the vouchers for the cost of the adult breakfast.

The room is very clean and we had no complaints. We also had a view of the park from our room as well as the mountains. The park is about a 10 minute walk or you can wait for the shuttle bus to take you to Universal City-walk, which comes every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Book a package to save on parking and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of one the value packages we offer throughout the year. It was a joy to be able to host your family on your LA vacation and we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family (2A, 2C, 10 & 15) stayed at Hilton Universal City in mid Nov for 2 nights. Our only reason for this stay was to visit Universal Studios.
Location is the key factor here and you couldnt get any closer to Universal, however Im not sure if it would be a good base for anything else, as it seems a little isolated.
Check in staff were pleasant, but nothing outstanding. Room was spacious (a double double), we had a high floor and Universal view, which were both upgrades.($$). Beds were comfortable and there was lots of room for the suitcases. Bathroom was fairly standard fare but I did like the inclusion of mouthwash.
Parking was expensive as is the wifi.
The coffee shop was good, Starbucks coffee and Krispy Kreme doughnuts, you cant go wrong. We didnt use any other food and bev at the hotel, as Citywalk was just across the road adjacent to Universal Studios, where there is a good variety of food places.
Universal Studios is a very short walk, down the driveway, across the road and over a pedestrian bridge, all up less than 5 minutes and not strenuous by any means.
If, however, you are walking downhill to the subway/metro station, take care on the way down (its very steep) and wait for the shuttle for the trip back up. That climb would be life threatening!!
I would stay here again, (sans car if possible) if I were visiting Universal Studios and would recommend it for anyone else doing the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry00seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and for choosing to spend your vacation with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to forward your comments to the appropriate departments to improve future guest satisfaction.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was impressed by the attentive personal service from everyone for such a large and extremely busy hotel. Great check-in and lots of "hellos". I listened in on the manager dealing with another's group problem.....very courteous.

The Honors freebies (breakfast, nightly snacks at the bar) met my family of 5's needs.

Room amenities on the 20th floor were nice. Rooms a bit small. Ask for a room facing the park.

Spa was clean and towels were a plenty.

Shuttle service to the park was very convenient. The 10 minute walk option was also good.

Room Tip: facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamasFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay. It pleases us immensely to hear that you experienced such personal service while you were here. Many of our team members have worked with us for several years and pride themselves on creating a home away from home for our guests. We hope that your stay has inspired you to continue to stay with Hilton.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The is the nicest Hilton I've been to We had a spacious, well appointed alcove room with a nice view of the mountains. This Hilton is right next to Universal.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but the buffet looked magnificent . I fact the only downfall is that the Buffet setup takes over quite a bit of the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be the best that you have experienced. That is high praise and we appreciate that you have takent the time to provide your feedback. Your note about the buffet setup has not gone unnoticed and will be forwarded to the appropriate department managers. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I attended a 3 day convention and every thing was top notch. Had a very convenient and short walk to Universal Studios and the attached street mall. Great view of the inside of Universal Studios Theme Park from some rooms and views of the surrouding foothils from the other rooms. Only oddity was the walk way from the lobby/elevator area was lined on both sides with buffet food. If I was eating there I would not want everyone not eating walking within inches of all the food I was planning on eating. Very attractive food displays I must say though. The business center computer would not print my boarding pass but a very helpful staff member took me to his office and let me use his setup.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Theme Park have a view of some of the attractions if interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and fournd our staff accommodating. We hope to see you return soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Ampitheater on the property of Universal Studio's. We did take the free shuttle (shuttle ends at 9 pm) to Universal Studio's but the second day walked. It is a very short walk, literally across the street which is great.

Self-parking and check-in were a breeze. The line for non-Hilton members (even though I am one) was shorter and moved quicker so we chose that. We were on floor 16 and had a wonderful view of Universal Studio's. The bed was so comfortable which was very nice, especially after standing for many hours at the concert. The elevators were a bit slow which was annoying and our faucet leaked, but I rigged it with washcloths and it didn't bother us. I would like to see lotion in the bathrooms instead of mouthwash as well. The room was very spacious. Even had a mini sitting area with desk, lounge chair and lamp that overlooked the window area. Very nice. The room also had a safe. Sweet deal!!

We would totally stay here again and may make this concert a yearly thing, if we do, this hotel will be our #1 choice since I am a Hilton Honor member, the location is great and we had a wonderful stay.

Oh also, The Champagne Sunday Brunch there looked wonderful and very delicious, we did not have time to eat at it (saw the price, its very reasonable).

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Our room over looked Universal Studio's which was fun to see!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and for being a loyal HHonors member. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have forwarded you notes about the in-room amentieis and faucet to the appropriate departments for follow up.

Definitely plan partaking the Jazz Champagne Brunch the next time you visit. It is a favorite of Los Angeles locals. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#103 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,424 reviews
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#112 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Tangerine
#1 of 20 in Burbank
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#96 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing