We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“If you want Universal studios location then this is it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #56 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Mundare, AB
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“If you want Universal studios location then this is it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Booked an executive room on the 24th floor. I've definitely had worse but I've had better just likely nothing better anywhere in this area so if you want to stay close to universal its the nicest. Very annoying that you had to pay 7.95 for every Internet connection each day... So for me I needed for phone and notebook. Higher end hotel that should be included. Valet parking was 24 per night self park 20... Good service at the restaurant but pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunaLynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,059
    451
    164
    100
See reviews for
1,224
706
114
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Typical Hilton. Staff were cold and one was even irritated with me. I had booked this hotel 6 months in advance only to fine requested upgrades were not available. When I expressed concern I was given a cold stare and she began tapping her keyboard with force. Must have needed chocolate or a coffee.
Anyway, the room was clean and comfy. Nice view of the highway with lots of background traffic noice 24 hours a day (and we were on the 16th floor!!!)
The restaurant food was very expensive but good
Great location for City Walk and the Studios

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLePew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us this fall. I am disppointed to hear of the service that was provided to you on your visit and would like to apologize for your experience. This is not the level of service we aim to provide our guests as a AAA Four Diamond hotel. We're appreciate your comments, as they provide us the opportunity to make any necessary changes in order to improve our hotel.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are visiting Universal Studios and are just looking for somewhere close to rest your head then the location of this hotel is perfect. It's under a 10 minute walk to get to City Walk and the gates of the theme park. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are new however the decor is rather dated from the pale green textured wall paper, to the brown carpet. The rooms are a decent size but the bathroom is small. Rooms have an empty fridge which is great for storing snacks and water to take to Universal Studios.

The pool area is nice enough and the hot tub was good. The restaurant at the hotel was rather average but as we arrived late in the evening, it was good enough to fill the void. The lifts are very, very, very slow and you are often left waiting for 5 minutes to get up or down.

The major let down for me was the customer service. The check in staff were cold and unhelpful and failed to tell us about free internet in the lobby and the free shuttle to Universal. We had an issue with our air conditioner and no one came to repair it until we called again after another day had passed. I complained to the manager who then reluctantly offered me a free breakfast for 2 - it was 10am and we were meant to be checking out at 11am. I wasn't very impressed at the offer. He didn't event attempt to be sorry for the inconvenience or to provide an alternative compensation. Our flight was leaving at 11pm so we asked if they could do a deal for the extra 12 hours. The response was an overwhelming no and they charged us full price. After I made a fuss, they knocked $50 off the rate as compensation for the air conditioner problem.

Out of principal, I wouldn't stay here again any time soon due to the service experience and would try one of the other hotel chains which is only a couple of minutes further away from Universal Studios.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRodra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for a night. Quite pricey since its very accesible to Universal studios. No need to drive to the park, just take the shuttle to and from the hotel. The hotel room is big enough and clean. Nice view of the freeway and entrance of universal studios. Bed is comfortable. U have to pay $20 for parking. Buffet at the hotel is very expensive so you're better off eating along the city walk. More choices for restaurants.

Room Tip: if u want something close to niversal studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Easy to get to by car and there is a self parking available, if you don't want to pay for valet parking.
Very friendly and helpful staff - as expected at Hilton.
The room was outstanding. Clean of course, but it was spacious and we got a great view.
The pool area was nice and good tempered. The Jacuzzi felt great after a hard day at Universal Studios.
A free shuttle bus takes you to the Universal City area where you find a lot of restaurants and shops.
As a Hilton Honours member, complimentary continental breakfast is included and you can upgrade to the buffet for a small cost. Free Wifi for one hour is also included if you're a member
(a little bit cheap in my opinion...).
We had the dinner buffet which I would not have undone. Pricey, but you find things you've never tasted before - just make sure to be really hungry when you go there.

Room Tip: Before you make a reservation, make sure to sign up for Hilton Honours since you get a continental b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed here for business three times in 2012, usually two nights each..

My first stay of the year in February was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in some time. Check in was smooth and efficient, I was given a nice ground floor room with a patio next to the pool. As I was settling in to my room i received a fruit basket (which was just what I needed at the time), and breakfast the next am was great.

Fast forward to September. I had tried to book that ground floor room again. Got a message the night before asking if I really needed a accessible room. I called back immediately saying I did not and wanted the same room as last time - but no one answered and I left a message. When I arrived at the hotel the next day it was clear that no one had listened to my message. I got a different room that was really nothing to write home about. I asked for different options and was told that the hotel was completely sold out. No fruit basket this time either. I liked that the room had the universal charging adapters, but disappointed that it didn't charge my iPad. The stay was fine, but definitely not as good as my one earlier in the year.

Now, I'm back, third visit of the year. I didn't mention it earlier but I'm HHonors Gold. This time, no upgrade, no lounge appetizer/bar coupons, no fruit basket, and no bottled water in my room either. Again told that hotel is completely full. The rooms here clearly don't transcend average, and the declining service for HH elite members has sunk to that level as well.

I had a great stay at Andaz over the hill last year. If i'm not getting any real special treatment for my status here, I might as well just stay there instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TicTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#104 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#114 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
The Tangerine
#1 of 20 in Burbank
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#97 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing