We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveler rating
236
431
268
120
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
431
268
120
95
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

Have stayed at this hotel for many years. They recently performed a number of renovations and the place is now even greater than before. Long-time hang out for crew members and Hollywood execs, it's full of atmosphere and charm.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is a total rip off! Not cheap to start with but we booked because it had a pool. No, the pool is closed but no discount on the price. Then on check in we were told it was an additional $25 to park the car in an outside car park on the property. However, most ludicrous of all is that it is old, tired, has smelly hallways and it does not even have the most basic of facilities. When we asked where the refrigerator was we were told we could hire one for an extra $25. You have got to be kidding! We have just driven over 5000 miles around the US and even the most basic accommodation has tea and coffee making facilities, sometimes a microwave and a fridge. Not asking for a stocked mini bar, just a basic fridge. Also, breakfast is not included so another extra charge. One night was more than enough . I know this is LA but really this is beyond a joke.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Y4261VVkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Hello Y4261VVkarenw, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our pool is closed due to it being resurfaced. We do have it noted on our website so that are guests are aware. We also have our sister property pool just up the street at The Studio City Courtyard that guests can use free of charge. All of our rooms do have coffee makers in them,we apologize that our room did not have one. If you let our front desk know they can bring one up to your room. We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Booked and paid for 2 nights here in advance as part of family holiday recently. Chose it on basis it had a massive car park that said on website was ideal for RV's. Promptly left at check in when they told me it would be $163 a night to park the RV despite the car park being empty. They have no mention of this on their website other than a $25 a night car park charge. Also told only at check in that pool was closed for a month which was the other reason we had booked it and paid more for poolside. Receptionist was curt and answered phone to public while dealing with me. If you are travelling in RV I would recommend you avoid this place unless you want to pay them parking and sleep in RV! Good alternative for LA visit we ended up staying in is Walnut RV Park and uber in and out. Nice relaxed park with heated pool and plenty of shops/restaurants around the corner.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Hello Richard W, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do charge $165.00 + taxes per night for Bus/RV parking. The nightly cost for bus parking is our price year round that does not change based on occupancy due to the fact that we are limited on bus parking. Our pool is closed due to it being resurfaced, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. If our guests would like they are able to use the pool at our sister property at The Studio City Courtyard free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We stayed two nights on a visit to Universal Studios. The good: location, vibe, free shuttle to Universal Studios. Staff was very pleasant. The not-so-good: where do I begin? It’s an older property, not an automatic disqualification, but they failed to make the most of it. More tacky than hip. The front was tired and unkempt. The room was spotless, if sparse, and the bed was comfortable, but soundproofing was so poor we could hear our neighbors’ tv even at a reasonable volume. No fridge or microwave, which should be a given at this level of property. Funky, dark hallways with lots of offshoot exits that were confusing; signage would have helped a lot. Finding the ice machine was a scavenger hunt; my husband left our third floor room and finally stumbled onto it on the first floor. Toiletries were cheap, towels felt thin. Charged $25 a day for parking and placed a $150 charge on our card at check-in for incidentals. This place wasn’t cheap, but it felt cheap. They make much of the pool, saying famous people stop by to use it on occasion (do I want a famous person to see me in my swimsuit?), but after we booked they emailed to say they would be resurfacing it during our visit. No rate adjustment and, worse, work started before 7:30. I’d be more charitable if they didn’t charge such a premium, but at this price I expect a quiet room, a fridge for my leftovers, a nice towel and a binder that tells me where to find the ice machine.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank 70notop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Hello 70notop, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do offer fridges upon request for a fee of $20.00 for your entire stay. Currently we are in the process of repainting our walls and getting new carpet. We do have resurfacing being done to our pool, we apologize for any inconvenience that it caused you during your stay. Can you please email me at Alexandra@slhotel.com to further discuss your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Rooms: spacious, great WiFi connectivity, clean, free and easy to use safe, located right next to the pool. Only negative was a slight smell of cannabis in the room when we arrived

Staff: exceptional; extremely friendly, polite and more than happy to go above and beyond - could not be more complimentary about them

Pool: clean and open most of the day

Location: very short distance away from Universal Studies (15 min drive) and about an hour’s drive from Hollywood blvd, Santa Monica & Venice beach.

To sum, would definitely recommend staying here again; a hotel suitable for friends, families and children.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank macas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Hello Macas90, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our team and our hotel. We can't wait to have you back as our guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews