We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveler rating
236
431
268
120
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
431
268
120
95
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my family to experience Universal Studios. The outside was tucked away with no lighting, we had to make a loop around several times.
The lobby was beautiful, but there’s no luggage ramp. The hotel only has 1 luggage cart which was unacceptable for a hotel. The are gates that lead you to your room that are from the outside. The floor was noisy during the night, not kid friendly. No breakfast included, no fridge in room (to have one it’s an additional $20.00). Shuttle service was great, but reserving a spot is necessary. The room smelled like smoke, the water faucet was put on backwards, the bath drainage was falling apart so no one could take a bath, the toilet paper holder was broken, and there was dim lighting throughout the hotel room. The air conditioner wouldn’t stay on and when it did kick in, it made noises that woke us up. The rooms definitely need attention even though they looked “modern”. Beautiful pool, great landscaping and the location was safe aside from terrible lighting on the outside.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Carla Julianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello Carla,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Can you please email me at alexandra@slhotel.com so we can further discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights. The room was big and clean. Didn't use any services while staying there. Parking was very easy and just outside the door. I love the neigbourhood Studio City, with very easy access to many distinations in LA.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank HenningB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello HenningB52, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

Great retro hotel with beautiful pool and lush landscaping. Spacious rooms. Good value for the money. Convenient to Studio City, Sherman Oaks, restaurants, Universal Studios, great shopping along Ventura Blvd.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank designguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello Designguy49, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking to have you back as our guest in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights on way through California, so for the positives ........ lobby area and pool area great. Room with balcony pleasant but very noisy and you can hear people in next room. Once you get away from reception the hotels feels quite dated. Shuttle service to Universal fabulous and efficient and driver most helpful. Very disappointed with reception staff, bar one guy, who were very robotic, blunt and were very unwelcoming. Welcome to LA!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Notrifhtnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello Notrifhtnow, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our lobby area and pool area. We apologize that you did not receive exceptional customer service. Can you please email me at alexandra@slhotel.com so we can further discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Sportsmen’s Lodge is a throwback to the glory days of the Hollywood and Valley areas. Legend says that Hollywood celebrities of the 30s and 40s would stay here to go hunting. It’s hard to fathom this today.

The hotel is ok. The rooms appear to have been updated in recent years. The closet in my room was small but the room was otherwise just fine.

A couple of things to be aware of -

There is a $25 per day charge for parking, even though the parking lot is very large. I think this is a rip off.

The only bar is outside by the pool, which closes at 9 pm. It can get a little chilly at night, but they do have heater lamps. Still, I would prefer an indoor bar that stays open later.

The Patio Cafe is their on-site “coffee shop” that serves breakfast and lunch. I ate breakfast here 3 times and enjoyed it every time. Servers are very attentive and willing to accommodate.

All in all, there are better options but this place will suffice if you get a good enough deal.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank BobBanta57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandra M, Sales Admin at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Hello BobBanta57, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Patio Cafe and our Team Members. I will bring up your suggestions to our Director of Food and beverage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews