We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice affordable hotel, located perfectly...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice affordable hotel, located perfectly...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

As affordable goes, it was a wonderful hotel. Not way too expensive, and with an adequate fitness-room and internet-services. Located at the foot (north side) of the Hollywood hills, it is brilliantly located for discovering the LA area in all directions...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJedi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    359
    214
    88
    55
See reviews for
301
253
54
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

The service was the absolute best I have ever encountered!! The front desk people were so nice and the restaurant gave us such great service. My daughter left her Ipod in the room and we did not realize it until we got home. They sent it to us within 2 days, we thought that we would never see it again!! The location is great if you want to sightsee and there is plenty of places to park. It is such a welcome change from all of the craziness of Hollywood. Perfect to relax in after a long day!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmgc727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

The lodge is a great place to stay while visiting Studio City. It's in a great location if you're visiting nearby attractions such as Universal Studios.
The lodge itself has a "aged", but very clean atmosphere to it that suits it well considering its history. The room was neat and clean with a relatively comfortable bed. The service staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to talk about any local attractions, and even offer discount packages at the hotel for some locales.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rift96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The sportsmen's lodge had a great location for us. With their free shuttle to and from Universal was very convenient. There are lots of great restaurants and stores nearby like the Ralphs across the street. The only negative was that parking was $10 a day

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

According to other reviewers, parking at Sportmen's Lodge is "free", "$10", or "$10 but for us it was free". I dont know how to get on the special free-parking list but we paid $10 for each night we stayed. Considering the gigantic parking lot, I do not understand this; It's wrong to nickel and dime your customers, just include it in the cost of the room, right?

We thought this hotel was just fine. It was the biggest room of three hotels we stayed at on our California trip, so that was nice. The old A/C unit takes some time to get going. The sign on the patio door about locking it twice was a little unnerving, but we did so. The bathroom was standard. Front counter staff was average. No real complaints, but nothing special or fancy. This is an old place which I love for the history, but we didn't spend much time here except to sleep. The bed was quite stiff, but the linens were soft. $9.95 for a day of internet service, so another nickel-and-dime tactic. Our room was spotlessly clean, and though the room and especially the hallway has an "old" smell, it's an old place, so I can't complain. Good central location to many attractions, Ventura is lined with plenty of restaurants and shopping, but I think for the price I should have gotten something in Universal City instead; something that had parking and internet included in the room cost, perhaps.

One thing we really loved was our late-night walk to Twains restaurant just down the street (same side). It was fantastic. No-frills, delicious diner food, I believe open 24-hours, and for $10 a piece we had the most jambalaya, spaghetti and meatballs, mashed potatoes, garlic toast and chicken-fried steak we could possibly eat. It really cheered us up after a long day of driving around in unfamiliar territory; very homey, wonderful staff, dated but clean decor. We recommend Twains for sure if you're staying at the Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welikemacandcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Sportsmen's Lodge at one point was probably a very popular near-Hollywood hot spot. The problem is that it's stuck in a bit of a time warp. It has not aged well and is in need of a serious make-over. The layout of the hotel is fine, and the pool area is what you might expect of a southern California location. But everything has that stale smell that comes with old carpet and outdated furnishings. It's a perfectly serviceable place to stay . . . and the price isn't bad for a family stay in Studio City. But it is barely above a Motel 6.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twins1979
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Had a good weekday stay at this hotel. Rooms were very clean and spacious for 2 guests. Hotel decor very outdated/stained but beds were new and comfortable and that's what mattered. Was a bit worried with no wall between patio decks but kept the patio door locked at all times to alleviate those worries. Friendly and prompt wait staff at the restaurant each morning. The "free" breakfast was pretty limited but got us going. Pool was wonderful, hot tub a little small but manageable. Drinks at poolside was very expensive but what bar in CA isn't. Many reviews stated loud on the weekends but our stay during the middle of the week was very quiet. Hotel a bit difficult to get out of on a busy Ventura Blvd. but not impossible. Shuttle to Universal was prompt and very convenient. Only real negative was the room service. Tried to order the pizza special but no luck. Called and no answer the first try, 2nd attempt they put us on hold for several minutes. Finally called the front desk and they referred us to a ma and pa pizza joint...pretty sad to lose business but in the end, great pizza. We did the Universal package (free park, free breakfast, 7 day tickets) which was a good value for a 2 night stay but if I had to pay the $159.00+ nightly rate, I would look elsewhere or keep watching for a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twins1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#100 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#110 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing