We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "okay" property with potential.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #102 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An "okay" property with potential.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Sportsmen's Lodge could be really really cool...and maybe it is on its way to cool since they are currently under renovation. But they have a long way to go. We stayed in a renovated room. The bed was very comfortable and had a really cozy comforter on it and giant fluffy pillows and a mod duvet cover.

The bathroom had been modernized. No complaints about the facilities. The room itself is very sparse. It's a huge room with not a lot in it. The flat screen on the wall is too small for the size room. The TV is not on a movable arm so you cannot position it so it is visible from the desk. For such a giant room the outlets are sparse and badly placed. We had a hard time finding one near the desk...that's a problem if you actually want to work at the desk.

They charge you $20 for a fridge rental fee. That is so lame. Seriously lame. The rooms should have fridges. Although the room had been remodeled they paid little attention to the details...such as re-painting the trim. Details like that make a remodeled room still look battered. They also chose a bathroom door that is glass. So if you get up to use the restroom in the middle of the night and turn on the light it lights up the whole room waking up the other person. The toilet flush is also hugely loud. They should take the "ATM available" off their list of amenities since they don't have an ATM at the moment and we wasted time looking for it.

No matter what time of the day or night we were coming or going to our room there were constantly, not one, but two, housekeeping carts in the hallway at all times. Classless. If you're staff is not servicing rooms put the carts away.

And here's the thing that got me...I get it that you're under renovation, but have some self-respect. Don't have guests checking it at a six-foot gate-leg table unceremoniously set up in an old conference room. This is your hotel's first impression with your guests and it is a terrible first impression.

Hoping this property will step it up once renovations are complete. I'm giving it a very soft "3" that could easily have been a "2" but for the excellent service we received from room service on our last morning in the hotel. The guy who brought us breakfast was a delight and started off our morning on the right foot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, Director of Sales at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent visit. We appreciate all the feed back and are working on several items. All guest rooms are being inspected so a final touch up on paint, etc can be done. In addition, we have talked to housekeeping to make sure the carts are put away when not in use. We do on occasion have late night housekeeping requests. As you noticed/mentioned our renovation is still underway, however we are almost done. Just working on the final touches at this point. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    378
    229
    96
    62
See reviews for
332
265
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation work so there's a bit of give and take with the facilities. We were in a modern room at the back of the hotel but we had to go through a grim looking entrance at the back which was covered in sawdust. Occasionally the key card didn't work but we managed to get in after a couple of tries. There room was clean and we received a courtesy call within a few minutes of arriving. We had a balcony which would be great in Summer. The restaurant was nice for breakfast and reasonably priced. The serving staff and reception staff were chatty and helpful. One man who we spoke to had worked there for several years (unfortunately I can't remember his name). He gave us handy hints and tips about where to go in LA. The Wifi was reliable. We made use of the shuttle bus to get to Universal which is a good facility, however, you really need a car to get into LA. The reason I am giving it an average score is due to the current disruptions whilst they're renovating and it's location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, Director of Sales at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Sportmen's Lodge Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's obvious that the hotel is under renovation however I found that they do endeavour for it not to effect your stay. My parents' first room was far from the rest of our group and they also had an overwhelming smell of paint however on raising their concerns to housekeeping, who had phoned within minutes of them arriving at the room to ask if everything was ok, they were moved to a room near us and a room that wasn't quite so recently painted. This set the standard for the service in this hotel, any queries we had were immediately addressed.

The pool is great, the parking rate is to be expected (unfortunately) in LA, and the rooms were clean, new and very comfortable. The highlight of the hotel for us was the Patio Cafe. I was amazed that it wasn't always busy. Breakfast was reasonably priced and delicious. It's also open for evening meals and we found on the two nights we went there that we were the only ones there but the food was great and again reasonably priced. Service in the Patio Cafe was excellent and really made our stay special.

The location wasn't perfect for us as we were wanting to explore LA and Santa Monica and needed to use our car to get to these places in the short time we had, as public transport from this area is a long trip. However for visiting the Studio City area this is perfect with free shuttles to Universal Studios.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, the balconies looked very inviting and you'll also be closer to the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had barely parked up at the back of the hotel and were asked to move the car. As we entered the hotel via the back door which was caked in dust and rubble from decorators, we were given so much attitude by the builders. We had not even got to our room and already had bad vibes. Once in the room, noticed as with all rooms in the USA that there was an adjoining door. Thought nothing of this. There was paint on the curtains of the room we had, dust caked onto the back of the main door, the keys we were given seldom worked, the sliding doors onto the so called balcony did not even close properly, hence a howling during the night.
The decor is seriously outdated, the corridors give you no indication where anything was either. My fiance and I were woken at 3AM by people directly outside our room shouting and screaming then to only find out that they were actually through the adjoining door I spoke of here at the beginning of this review. Reception could not have cared less!
On the plus side, reception has clearly been given masses of attention and looks quite fresh. That said, it all feels wrong and there is just no character about this hotel.
Howard on the desk was pleasant enough, but seriously insincere
We could not wait to leave!.

Room Tip: Oh good tip? Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, Director of Sales at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I want to apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. The hotel is under renovation and at the time of your stay some rooms were not renovated. I have addressed your concerns with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location and will probably be better when they are done remodeling but right now pretty run down with the exception of the pool that is new. The hallways are beat up but the rooms are ok. Parking is an additional 14 dollars a day. Internet was complimentary. Close to a lot of things. There's a Ralph's and a Starbucks right across the street. Jerry's Deli is a block away and good for any meal. I did not try Sportsmen's restaurant or room service which they offered.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkmusicfanatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location and clean rooms with a nice pool. What more can you ask for? Free shuttles to Universal, lush property, and walking distance to a lot of boutiques and restaurants. The staff was friendly and everything was very nice. Bring the family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADNYC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Wa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here because the location was centrally located for everything we wanted to do and see while vacationing here. The sad part is that this place is nothing like the pictures they have on their website. I don't know where those rooms are - but they weren't anywhere near the part of the hotel we were at. Even though our room(s) were very "tired" and dated - I will give them kudos for the cleanliness. The walls are paper-thin; we could hear an argument that was going on 2 doors down and across the hall! The people in the room next to us... we could hear them un-zip their suitcase (well, we're just assuming it was their suitcase). Also, the group of people that stayed up all night out on their little patio area - it sounded like they were partying right next to our bed. Maybe if we had a heads-up that we would be staying in an un-renovated room we could have made a better decision - they made it sound like "it's-all-good" when booking the rooms. It's hard to give good feedback about a hotel when you are sleep-deprived and disappointed. I guess the moral-of-the-story is: ask a bunch of questions about the room you are about to book!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeeNchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, Director of Sales at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. The hotel is under renovation and unfortunately as we have been making improvements to our guest rooms not all have been completed. I want to apologize that our website was not accurate with the guest room you stay in. We are working on the last floor of guest rooms, so we no longer have the older product available. Our current rooms are those of the images on our site. I want to once again apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I hope you will give us a second chance.
Thank you.
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
391 reviews
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,030 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#94 of 350 in Los Angeles
182 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Mikado Hotel
Mikado Hotel
#145 of 350 in Los Angeles
218 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#119 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing