We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 23, 2010

First of all, the hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays and was very welcoming. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful. We stayed in one the suites on the 7th floor and the room was clean, well decorated, and lots of drawer space to settle in. We loved the two bathrooms! The view from the two balconies was stunning! The bed was very comfortable and the linens soft. I also loved the free wifi! We ordered room service for breakfast both days. The service was fast and the food was delicious. We also loved the bar, charming atmosphere and good prices. I love the fact the hotel is surrounded with trees, you forget you are in the middle of West Hollywood. I think this is a great hotel. . .a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,090)
There are newer reviews for The Garland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,443 of 3,090 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

As always, I was thrilled with the Beverly Garland Hotel Los Angeles. The staff again was friendly as they welcomed me back, my room was clean (again), comfortable, and I love the large Flat Screen TV and décor. I love eating at their restaurant Tula’s. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and the price is a nice surprise. Without asking they always over me a coffee to go!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenballgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed here for a vacation with my fiance. The front desk staff and housekeeping was great. No complaints there. The hotel was clean and well kept. Being that the hotel was mainly an outdoor location, it was a pain trying to get to our room in the rain. That's not the hotels fault though because usually LA is sunny. Beds were comfy and the room decor was nice. The restaurant was our favorite part. The food was above average for a hotel restaurant. We ate their twice everyday throughout our stay and we were very satisfied.

The only complaint that I have is that the bellman was very pushy for us to go on a tour. I'm sure he gets some kind of kickback on it. We ended up taking the tour and it was pretty good. We got heckled enough walking on hollywood blvd. from these tour salesman, so it was more than we needed being at our own hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenKnight1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2010

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland. Hopefully the rain did not ruin too much of your trip while visiting . We are on our 6th straight day of rain, very unusual for LA so we hope to see you back soon to enjoy some California sunshine. We appreciate you taking time to write a review on our behalf and please accept my personal apologies if the bell staff came across too pushy. I have already spoken with our Bell Captain to ensure they refine the ways the offer tours to our guest. Wishing you and your family a Happy Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed here a couple of times recently for quick weekend trips, chose this hotel specifically because the location was absolutely perfect for what I was doing in LA those weekends.

The good: Holiday Inn has recently completed it's makeover for the whole chain and did a surprisingly good job. Room was good with the big flat screen, free wifi, LOTS of plugs to charge stuff in, neutral colors, nice bedding etc. Bathrooms are still circa 1970's but they were clean. Public spaces are very attractive with lounges and a firepit. The fitness center is better than average for a hotel as well. The free shuttle to Universal is a good deal, but I didn't really need it.

The not so good: The freeway noise. It's really loud. At times it can drown out the TV in the room. Every room has a little balcony, but there is no way to enjoy it with the loud noise. Make sure you ask for a room that does not face the freeway. Also, $14 for parking? Really? In the middle of suburban North Hollywood? That's just greedy for this area. The menu in the restaurants is fine, ate there a couple of times and service was hit or miss. Even though the place is always empty, sometimes the waiter just dissapeared. The food is priced very reasonably and not too bad. Front desk service is at best courteous, nothing to write home about.

The both times I stayed here because I got a good rate and could not imagine paying more than $100 to stay here. Although they have a lot to offer, for a higher price point you can get a quieter room with better service else where in the area.

Also, almost forgot, if you don't know who Beverly Garland is, the have a a channel devoted to her so you can catch up.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Thank you for choosing our hotel while traveling to Los Angeles. We appreciate your business and enjoy hearing from our guests as your comments are our best tool in making both physical and service improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

For the price they charge $180 per night I would stay somewhere else.
Horrible service from front desk to management.
Every single day I would ask the cleaning crew for extra 2 towels every single day they would not do it.
They charge $14 a day per car for parking and the keys they give just stop working every couple of days.
They people at the front desk are just not service oriented. It feels like they have been forced to be there.
They double booked one of our two rooms.
They charged room service to our room when we ordered takeout.
Just one thing over another and never any show of apology, just "OH OK".
I had better service at motels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 00neveragain00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that our staff did not provide you with the level of service you deserved. I am not sure why the cleaning crew did not provide the extra towels per your request. It may have been a language issue, but that does not excuse us not fulfilling your needs. The Executive Housekeeper and I discussed your comments with the staff with regard to the importance of follow through and if they do not understand the request from a guest, the process they need to follow to ensure we do not fall short of guest service. Your feedback is our best tool in making improvements….Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Staff like that can ruin the reputation of any business.
I don't want to spend time detailing the long list of rude comments and lack of service we received in this establishment, but I can assure you it wasn't pleasant. For the first time in my life I saw a hotel with the label of " Holiday Inn" abusing customers. We bought the accommodation via that website Priceline.com, and that gave the receptionists the right to think we're not worth being treated with courtesy and good manners.
When my husband approached the reception to check in, he literally heard " WHAT DO YOU WANT?" , hotel was empty but we were given a horrible room, first floor facing the noisy freeway, so uncalled for! We paid for full breakfast in advance, the receptionist never gave us the BF vouchers, he simply assumed we weren't entitled to it and never bothered to even ask, confirm or let alone apologise after we were refused to eat and had to chase whoever could finally confirm we had pre-paid for breakfast.... this is all making our Universal Studios fun day start very late. Restaurant /Breakfast staff also stink like tobacco, it all added up to an expensive stay that was not worthy at all.
I'd be happy to pay the 16 dollars a day for the car park if it was a clean, safe place.
It wasn't.
I left my phone number and email at the check out but never heard from anyone.
I can easily remember the names of the worst customer service people in Hollywood too.
There is more, for instance.. when I asked one of the staff members what would be the best view room, she answered " It depends if your children want to watch car accidents on the freeway or if they prefer to look at the top of trees" In shock I replied, the tree tops sound good.... in an attempt to see if she'd give me a better room. Bedroom had a smell of mould, internet was *very* SLOW.... and the list goes on.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I assure you that your comments play an important role in our ability to continue to make improvements. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and I am disappointed that you did not walk away with the feeling that we care. Once again, please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Beautiful hotel with a great staff. The room was large and very comfortable and well maintained. The courtesy and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. Superior quality and service reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pack1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland and we look forward to your next visit to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,948 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#124 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,752 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 353 in Los Angeles
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $215 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing