We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice start to our holiday”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice start to our holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at the Beverly Garland for 5 nights at the start of our holiday in California. The hotel is close to Universal Studios and offers a free shuttle to take you to and from Universal. The bus often got full quickly and resulted in the driver having to make two trips. This was not a problem but something to be aware of when planning on coming back from Universal. The parking is $14 which from doing some research is around the expected price.

The room was excellent, with no issues to report. The room did not have a safe or a fridge. However a safety deposit box could be found in the business center and you could rent a fridge if you wanted.

The Pool was excellent, with towels provided and a good spa pool and sauna. Films were shown on a screen in the pool at night.

The breakfast buffet was good with a nice selection this cost $13 which worked out cheaper than having drinks and ordering from the menu.

The location of the hotel is good if you have a car as you can travel on the freeway to your destination. If you don't have a car then there are limited eating options. There is a small shopping center at the top of Vineland where we went to a supermarket called Ralphs and had a sandwich - which I can recommend as well as an evening meal at a Chinese called City Wok. We also had breakfast at Jumba Juice where oatmeal with fruit was only a couple of dollars and gave a break from the larger breakfasts we had been having.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucktuckboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    1,059
    295
    101
    47
See reviews for
1,108
983
128
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Nice hotel with good location for Hollywood and Universal Studios. Hotel is an older property, but well maintained for the age. My only gripe was the bathroom had no exhaust fan. The bathroom steamed up quickly and paint on ceiling was peeling as a result. But that didn't effect the experience. :) The hotel had a lovely pool area, tennis courts and a nice sand playground for children.

Hotel restaurant was ok. Very overpriced for the quality. But just had breakfast there.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaceyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night while visiting Universal Studios Hollywood. We arrived very early and our room wasn't ready so the hotel stored our bags while we went to Universal. We parked our car here for the rate of $14 a night. The hotel room was very spacious and well kept with a modern feel. Although we didn't use the pool it looked well maintained. The hotel ran a shittle to Universal although we drove. Worth a stay but try to get a better rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

After doing a lot of research to find the best place to stay for a close hotel to Universal Studios, we finally settled on this one because we were able to use our holiday inn points for 3 of the nights we were here.

First the pros: Free shuttle to Universal, fairly good location, the pool area/patio area is beautiful.

The cons: Almost $200 a night doesn't get you much. No free breakfast, no coffee in the lobby, very few suites available (which really helps when traveling with a teenager who needs his space), loud freeway noise unless you request to change rooms to the tennis court side or patio side of the hotel. The laundry room has one washer and one dryer and was dirty. They don't even replace the shampoo and other toiletry items when you stay more than one night. I had to run down the maid to get another shampoo because we'd used all of ours.

Of course, hotels in this area are going to be expensive and noisy (it is a very crowded city!), but still, I found a lot of things lacking at this hotel. We'd just stayed at a Homewood Suites in San Diego that gave us free breakfast, free dinner (Mon. through Thurs.), free coffee all day, little extras that make you feel more welcome. So, this hotel, though they've updated some parts of it seemed pretty "old school" to me. Oh yeah, and we had to pay $11 per night for parking. Ugh.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thundergirl990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here whilst in LA for 4 nights and it was great. When we first arrived, we were a little worried that it was a motel kind of place but it really wasn't! The first room we were allocated was on the highway side and noisy but we had no problems moving to a room on the other side - and this was done without complaint and very speedily! The room size was adequate and beds/pillows comfortable. The pool was a great addition and the weather was great so we had a day to relax before we moved on. It is very close to Universal Studios and the hotel provides a free shuttle numerous times a day. We even missed one scheduled pick up time and they came and picked us up straight away when we called. I didn't think much of their cafe/restaurant - food not great and a little overpriced but not a lot of choice around there unless you have a car (which we didn't). We did order in pizza one night without a problem! They also have 2 public computers that you can use for free. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I stopped at the holiday inn Beverley Garland for two nights in July 2010. We were due to go to universal studios but scrapped this plan to go explore LA instead. I was a bit worried that we would be way out of town to see the LA sights but the BG Holiday Inn does a free transfer to universal studios so we picked up a city tour bus from there (blue route which is also FREE) which took us to the walk of fame. It only took 10 mins and a further 15 mins to get into central LA. And for free.

On the way back, universal studios is on a tube/metro route so it was easy again and we picked up the free shuttle from to the hotel. Nice and easy.

Hotel itself was fab. Holiday inn in the US isn't the same tacky and cheap brand here in the UK. Great 10/10 swimming pool and sauna (films are shown on thurs-sun evenings whilst you relax in the jacuzzi!!), 10/10 staff and room quality (nice recent refurb) and 7/10 food (though cheap so hard to complain). Parkin was additional though but everywhere is in LA.

All in all great experience and the "facilities" were the highlight to an otherwise mediocre trip to the limited and overhyped sights of LA. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flashrashno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here as part of a road trip and as a stop off for a day at Universal Studios. The family room was great for the four of us (self + spouce + 2 teenagers) but the bed was overly soft and did not contribute to a good nights sleep. The kids enjoyed the pool and we made use of the early and late shuttle bus to Universal. Beware the loud road noise from the nearby freeway so opening the windows is not an option and I thought the car park charges (charged per night) was very cheeky given that the hotel was not in a city centre. Having said that the room had everything we needed with coffee, fridge etc. and we'd consider staying again. Oh - and they could also use some better local maps at reception!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,860 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing