We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed here whilst in LA for 4 nights and it was great. When we first arrived, we were a little worried that it was a motel kind of place but it really wasn't! The first room we were allocated was on the highway side and noisy but we had no problems moving to a room on the other side - and this was done without complaint and very speedily! The room size was adequate and beds/pillows comfortable. The pool was a great addition and the weather was great so we had a day to relax before we moved on. It is very close to Universal Studios and the hotel provides a free shuttle numerous times a day. We even missed one scheduled pick up time and they came and picked us up straight away when we called. I didn't think much of their cafe/restaurant - food not great and a little overpriced but not a lot of choice around there unless you have a car (which we didn't). We did order in pizza one night without a problem! They also have 2 public computers that you can use for free. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,559 - 2,565 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I stopped at the holiday inn Beverley Garland for two nights in July 2010. We were due to go to universal studios but scrapped this plan to go explore LA instead. I was a bit worried that we would be way out of town to see the LA sights but the BG Holiday Inn does a free transfer to universal studios so we picked up a city tour bus from there (blue route which is also FREE) which took us to the walk of fame. It only took 10 mins and a further 15 mins to get into central LA. And for free.

On the way back, universal studios is on a tube/metro route so it was easy again and we picked up the free shuttle from to the hotel. Nice and easy.

Hotel itself was fab. Holiday inn in the US isn't the same tacky and cheap brand here in the UK. Great 10/10 swimming pool and sauna (films are shown on thurs-sun evenings whilst you relax in the jacuzzi!!), 10/10 staff and room quality (nice recent refurb) and 7/10 food (though cheap so hard to complain). Parkin was additional though but everywhere is in LA.

All in all great experience and the "facilities" were the highlight to an otherwise mediocre trip to the limited and overhyped sights of LA. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flashrashno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed here as part of a road trip and as a stop off for a day at Universal Studios. The family room was great for the four of us (self + spouce + 2 teenagers) but the bed was overly soft and did not contribute to a good nights sleep. The kids enjoyed the pool and we made use of the early and late shuttle bus to Universal. Beware the loud road noise from the nearby freeway so opening the windows is not an option and I thought the car park charges (charged per night) was very cheeky given that the hotel was not in a city centre. Having said that the room had everything we needed with coffee, fridge etc. and we'd consider staying again. Oh - and they could also use some better local maps at reception!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Were very akward to deal with when checking in. I had an issue with card prior to travelling on holiday. The card issue was completely outwith my control and the bank indeed gave me incorrect advice,. All other hotels in the Holiday Inn group honoured my friends and family rate my holiday. The hotel could have contacted me regarding the card issue, but instead just increased the rate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allypanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Staff were friendly, organised a driver for us so we could get round quickly.
Close to universal, have a shuttle bus.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Our family vacationed in LA and stayed at your hotel for 4 days.

Our stay was quite enjoyable and our sightseeing plans were facilitated by

your courteous and friendly staff especially Andy, Joseph and Fred. We will

certainly stay at this hotel again on our next visit and will recommend it

to our friends who plan on visiting L.A.

W especially liked the free shuttle service. For tips on what to see and how to get around, the lady at the gift shop was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with young children. Very good location to Universal Studios. Found the rooms in the hotel to be very clean and large.

A few points though

You have to pay for a fridge as there is not a mini bar in the room.

Also note that this hotel is very close to the freeway so there was more road noise than I would have wanted.

Also the parking is not free.

The restaurant at this hotel is very good and is not that expensive. Would visit this hotel again but would ask to be put in a room the otherside of the building away from the freeway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grockle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,710 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,067 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,191 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#65 of 355 in Los Angeles
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $174 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing