We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #12 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
1 review
“Hospitable”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Hotel building and staff exemplify old Hollywood hospitality and courtesy. Rooms clean and well appointed. The hotel staff courteous and helpful. Very enjoyably stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,508
    1,071
    297
    101
    48
See reviews for
1,134
989
129
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Stayed at Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn for 7 days in September on our vacation. The staff were so helpful and kind. The hotel atmosphere was outstanding it is surrounded by beautiful trees, the grounds and pool area are well kept, the common areas were nicely decorated and very clean, the rooms were comfortable and and nicely appointed. We enjoyed the balcony and the wonderful views. The food in the cafe is great and affordably priced. We took advantage of the free shuttle to Universal Studios.City Walk. All the sites of Hollywood are so close. If you don't want to drive in LA, you can take the Metro. We definetely will be returning on vacation next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_shallot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Really good sized, well equipped rooms. Nice pool & jacuzzi - had a very good stay here.

Restaurant food wasn't great though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

The rooms hbere were of a nice size and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and I slept as well here as I did at home. I liked the idea that you could not get into the building with the rooms without a key card. The grounds were very neat and with all the trees was very relaxing. As for the staff I don't think that I saw anyone who was not trying to be very helpful. They acdt like they really enjoy what they are doing. The location was great as far as being near attractions especially in the Hollywood area. Very enjoyable stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THECATNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I have recently made my second trip out to California and stayed yet again at the gorgeous Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn. After my first stay, I really didn't think that the staff could get any nicer, or the grounds could get any more beautiful, but they did! The upgrades that were made to the hotel in the year since my last visit are amazing! Every aspect of my 10 day stay in the Hollywood area was heightened by the excellent service in Tula's Cafe or The Bar, the front desk staff, and the wonderful driver of the the shuttle who made sure that we had a great time at the Universal Studios City Walk. I highly recommend it to any of my business associates heading to the LA/Hollywood area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maealoeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My daughter and I stayed for a week at this hotel and were really pleased with the room we were allocated. It was nice to have a balcony to relax on and free Wifi was a bonus.
The staff were so courteous, friendly and helpful with particular thanks to the ladies in the gift shop who helped us to find our way around.
Having no car, transport needed a bit of planning but the free bus to Universal Studios was a big plus and the same bus would drop off and pick up at the Metro.
The cafe was excellent both for snacks and meals and the pool area was lovely.
We could have done without two days of rain as we can see that in England but it was very warm rain!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heref0rd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eventsiam
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I've traveled for over 2 decades and BG's staff and accommodations are exemplary! You will not find more attentive staff anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eventsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#118 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,642 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing