We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location / Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #9 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minehead, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location / Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

I visited this hotel in January with my mother. We had a 3 day stay in LA before boarding a cruise to Mexico.

The hotel was ideally suited to our plans of seeing and doing as mnuch as possible in the short time that we had. We visited Universal Studios and Universal City Walk using the free (several times daily) shuttle bus from the hotel. The hotel is about 5 minues from the studios.

There are also daily sightseeing trips that run from the hotel. We visited Beverley Hills and Bel Air etc, as well as downtown LA.

I would stay at this hotel again LIKE A SHOT if ever I visit LA again.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    1,012
    281
    96
    44
See reviews for
1,032
950
123
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

A friend and myself stayed at this hotel for a week starting 8th May. We didnt hire a car whilst we were in LA. The best part of the hotel for my friend and I was how helpful the staff were, especially in the gift shop. Because we hadnt hired a car we were having to rely on public transport. The ladies in the gift shop knew absolutely everything about bus and metro routes throughout the city and if they didnt know them, they would find out for us. This made getting around LA a lot easier. We also decided we would visit Disneyland whilst in LA and we organised that through the shop also. They also arranged our transport from the hotel to the airport when it was time for us to leave.

The hotel restaurant served excellent food and the staff in there were very pleasant. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurant on an evening. We did have two breakfasts at the hotel also. The breakfast was a little overpriced however.

The hotel rooms were kept lovely and clean and were very spacious. The beds were also extremly comfortable. Although our air conditioning unit in our room was a little tempramental so it did get a little warm in the room on an evening. There was no safe in the hotel room though, so we didnt really have anywhere to store our valuables during the day whilst we were out.

The hotel pool was nice and relaxed, although there was still some building work going on at the pool during our stay.

All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would definately stay here again and most definately recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to LA!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Found this hotel to be clean and nice.
Staff was friendly and the servers in the restaurant were always a blast and very friendly.
Definitely get a room overlooking the tennis courts as it is right beside the 101 freeway and it can be very noisy.
Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithkids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We spent the final night of our US roadtrip here before flying back to London and we weren't disappointed. Great breakfast... a pool to chill out... central for shopping and Universal. Rooms are fairly basic, but request one overlooking the tennis courts as I believe they are quieter than on the other side of the hotel. Not plush... but clean and good value for a night stop over.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takeme2mybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights middle of April, changed room 4 times. Nice rooms but the noise from the freeway was incredible, ask for one facing tennis courts. Staff very nice and nothing too much trouble for them. Breakfast buffet was good food at resonable prices. The pool area was being worked on even though it was supposed to be up and running before we ot there. If going to L A again would try somewhere else. They charge you to park your car.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butlydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa beach, fl
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I check in to the BG on Apr. 16, 2009 for 3 nights. We had 6 other people in our group. We stayed here to do some touring in LA before going on a cruise. This hotel is in a nice, safe area and the staff is friendly, the hotel is clean. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to Universal. We used cabs some of the time to get around, and there are usually cabs in the parking lot waiting for riders. We used Zippy Shuttle Service for our trip from LAX to the hotel, from hotel to ship and ship to LAX. Ken who owns Zippy is very nice, prompt and competitive in his pricing. I would use Zippy Shuttle again in the LA area.

We had dinner one night at Micelli's Italian Rest. not far from the hotel. It is excellent and I highly recommend it. We also toured NBC and attended the Jay Leno show. There are lots of things to do and see around the hotel. Not everything is in walking distance, but cabs are not outrageous.

There is a restaurant and a bar on this sprawling property and we used both and were not disappointed. There is also a fitness center, tennis court, play area, business center and meeting space.

All staff members were friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, quiet and clean place to stay while in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxilaunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights. Our first impressions were O dear - what have we done!
As we settled into our fist night and familiarised ourselves with the hotel we were quite pleased.
There was a lovely cafe / restaurant a little pricey but very nice and ideal for the time we were there.
On site also was a gift shop where there was a very friendly attendant who very honestly helped us choose the right tour to do, we also booked our Universal Studios tour - which we were very pleased with, as you got 2 days for the price of 1!! well worth doing as you can't really do everything in one day!
The hotel is not too far from places you are likely to visit. There is the Metro stystem you can use to get about which is the cheapest and quickest way to get about LA. We got the Hotel free Shuttle service to Universal studios which was great they are very accomodating the staff here at Beverly Garland and we found they were very polite and always willing to help you in anyway possible . I would reccomend this hotel if you are only in LA for a few days as there really is not much to do in the initial surrounding area. Great service throughout and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenzyNorthwestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#99 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing