We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and well located”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
regina, saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable and well located”
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Our room was clean and included free high speed internet. The hotel is well located with a free shuttle to Universal Studios, and short drives to Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the Walk of Fame, about 1/2 hour from LAX and a quick drive to Warner Brothers Studio.

The beds were comfortable, our room was quiet, although a bit small for four adults.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — the small size of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank careless01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    1,071
    297
    101
    47
See reviews for
1,133
988
129
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We booked this hotel last minute as we wanted a pretty central hotel to see the sights of LA and Hollywood.

Check in was quick and simple. Room was comfortable and clean, had everything we needed. The hotel had a smallish pool and people seemed to use it throughout the day (what a waste of potential LA sight seeing time though!!!. There was a decent cafe / restaurant type place which was good for breakfast. the hotel provided a free shuttle bus to Universal Studios which was handy too.

The location was great for us as we had a car but then i don't think anyone goes to LA without their own transport do they! We found this hotel very convenient and much more reasonable than staying in other hotels in similar locations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeypiejesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Stayed here from 9/21 -9/24 with my wife. We were in LA for a wedding and wanted to visit Universal Studios for a couple of days before driving back to Las Vegas. This hotel offers a good mix of price and location.

In short, we found this hotel stay to be very relaxing. Check in was great. Even though we arrived around 11 am they had a room available. I mentioned that we would like a room away from a lot of noise and was surprised to find that this hotel actually has rooms specifically set aside as 'quiet rooms'.

This hotel is not new, but we found it to be well maintained and clean. All rooms have a small balcony with a couple of chairs and a cocktail table. We found it very relaxing to sit on the balcony and have a drink after spending all day walking around Universal Studios.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from Universal at no charge which I thought was nice.

We also ate the buffet breakfast each day at Tula's which is on site. The staff was friendly and the food was good. It was a good value as well ($24 for two for breakfast including OJ and coffee)

Some things to note:

You have to pay an additional $13 a day for parking on the hotel's secure lot. Not a big deal, but something to consider.

The AC/Heat in the room is one of the old school built into the wall models. We personally like these units because the fan stays on all night without cycling off and on with the AC. Some folks might not like the noise, it's just something to be aware of.

The pool is open until 10 pm which I thought was nice. It's a small pool, but it was nice to have the option to use it so late. Las Vegas hotel pools are nearly all closed by 6 pm.

Also, for those of you that are Nick at Nite fans, the actual house used to film the outside shots of the Brady Bunch is literally only about a half mile from the hotel at the end of Klump Ave. The trees are a little taller and there is a fence in front now, but it's the house.

Overall, we found this hotel to be a good value and would stay here again if we were ever in the location.

  • Liked — Location, Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandomTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at the Beverly Garland on the second destination of our tour and it was brilliant. set just outside of universal city, the hotel takes you up to universal studios free where you can catch the metro to pretty much everywhere. You can even walk to the metro as it is only a few minutes away.

the room itself was good, decent sized, great view of the hollywood hills and free wireless internet. the hotel breakfast was not so great though.

overall, enjoyed the stay and would recommend to any young travellers on a budget... it doesnt get better then this.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicoHernadez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We had a great stay at Beverly Garland's Holliday inn. We are a 5 person family from Norway, and had to have 2 rooms. We got connecting rooms, which we were very happy with. We were all together, and we had lots of space at the same time. We enjoyed the comfort of two bathrooms 2 TV's as which was fine, since the oldest and the younger children had different interests. We were very happy with: The rooms, the service of the staff, the possibility to bath in the pool, and the possibility to wash our clothes in the valet laundry.

We also have to mension the fabulous service we got from Sonia at the Tula's Cafe. The breakfast was always. Our daughter Karianne was became very fond of her.

All in all we don't have anything negtive to say about our stay. The only thing that keeps us from top score is that we never got any resonse to the e-mails we sent to the Hotel with a few questions before we arrived.

If we get a chance, we will be back. All our regards to the Hotel, and to So Sonia in the Cafe.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Good clean hotel very close to Universal Studios (5 min in car) and close to freeway and Hollywood
Small pool but good to cool off in
Restaurant good but not great.
Overall good place to stay if you want to stay in this area of LA

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggiechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed at the Beverly Garland Hotel last July, we wanted a place that was near the Universal Studios Park, we stayed for a couple of nights and we were pleasently surprised. The ambiance was very California with nice touches, the place well mantained, pool, gardens, tennis court, etc. the room was clean and spacious, and the restaurant on site was really good . ( we had a great dinner for less money than for the greasy pizza we had at the theme park). We would stay here again with out a doubt. And they even have a free shuttle to the park, very convenient.

  • Liked — the beds were very comfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kikatika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,898 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#119 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,642 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing