We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Lynbrook, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at the Beverly Garland was disappointing. There was nothing special about the experience and much updating is needed. Not enough outlets in the room to charge devices, the hallways were very dark, and the rooms were not kept very clean.
The most disappointing aspect of our trip was that there was major construction going on in the parking lot and our terrace faced the work being done - so much for a relaxing trip - it was loud, terribly noisy, inconvenient since many areas were roped off, and a complete intrusion on our much needed time off. Not to mention there was construction going on in the street which made it impossible for us to even leave the hotel at times.
I understand that work has to be done at some time, that is not my frustration - the part that was frustrating was that no one at the hotel acknowledged the inconvenience - a free breakfast? a free drink at the bar? a free tour in Hollywood? something should have been offered to make up for the fact that there were jackhammers and major machinery being operated all day long and as early at 7:00 am!!! right outside my room! At the very least, the rooms facing the construction should not have been booked during this time.
The food in the restaurant was wonderful! One of the most delicious meals I have ever eaten!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nfk3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Nfk3018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay. The construction that you witnessed is actually because we are doing a complete renovation on the hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant “Warren’s Blackboard”. We hope you will come back and experience the new “Garland” hotel once it is complete at the end of this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    1,059
    295
    101
    47
See reviews for
1,108
983
128
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Beverly Garland for 10 days and was largely disappointed. We picked the hotel because we were told it was close to the major Hollywood attractions and provided a free shuttle to Universal Studios.

Firstly let me say that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance apart from the hotel's own restaurant 'warren's blackboard' which was not particularly that good. The only attraction that it is near is Universal Studios/CityWalk and that is only because the hotel provides a free shuttle.

The staff are not very helpful. Most of the time when we asked a question it was like we were talking in a foreign language. We asked about estimates for how far and how much taxis to places like hollywood walk of fame, warner bros, etc would cost and they didn't have a clue. Everytime the answer we got was it all depends on traffic and that we should take their town car service. Which ended up being $20-30 more expensive than a taxi. Taxi drivers also told us that it was illegal for the hotels town car service to be parked in the hotel car park.

The official website says that it is near to Disneyland which is not true at all. Disneyland is in Anaheim which is about an 1 hours drive or 2/3hrs away by metro/train. Again it all depends on traffic. If anyone wants to do Disneyland whilst staying in the Hollywood area then i suggest you stay in a hotel in Anaheim whilst you do the Disney stuff.

The only pros that I can say about The Beverly Garland is that the rooms were nice and the hotel felt safe and secure. The rooms would be better with a fridge and safe.

We were aware of the construction to the hotel prior to arriving and disruption was kept to a minimum.

Overall i would not stay here again. Despite the rooms being nice It is not an ideal location and the staff need to up their knowledge on tourist attractions so they can help their guests get the most from their visit to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidKirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Mr Kirwan:

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us. I regret to read that we were not able to meet your expectations and that our location wasn't ideal to your needs. We do have nice new rooms and as you said the hotel is very secure. I will share your comments with our teams so we can learn from your experience. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 5 nights July 2013 with my family. Good location, friendly staff and a good hotel restaurant. Nice pool and jacuzzi in the back. Own shuttle to Universal Studios. One of LA's biggest park nearby. Close to the Hollywood Bowl as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SchlechtOpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
SchlechtOpa

Thank you for the kind review! I’m happy you enjoyed our staff, restaurant and hotel services. We hope you will come back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but we weren't disappointed.
On our late check in (around 11pm) the front desk staff told us there were no more king beds available, but to make up for that she would upgrade us to one of their newly renovated queen bed rooms, which she assured us would be much nicer anyway.
The room clearly was very newly renovated. Everything was sparkling clean, with a very modern feel. The shower was amazingly spacious and everything in the room had a cool design.
The hotel is near a busy road, but the sound didn't reach our room at all.
We had a great nights sleep here and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. Just note that the hotel isn't particularly central and it's a good 15 minute drive to downtown Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Harriet K

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We hope to see you back soon when visiting LA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here on our last stop in the USA for three nights. Previously San Fran and Vegas. We arrived at LA Airport around 4pm and got a taxi it took us one and a half hours to get to the Beverly Garland which cost us 90 Dollars. It took us a while to get into reception because there were so many people crammed into a small room which was the reception. We checked in and they pointed to were the room was, we walked with our cases into a courtyard crowded with people so we made our way around them only to find that the entrance was closed due to refurbishment work, we eventually found another entrance at the other end of the building and made our way down the corridor to our room 105 on the ground floor. On entering the room we got the impression that the room had not been used for some time. The patio doors overlooked the courtyard with the crowds of people eating and drinking outside our window and looking straight into our room so we decided to close the black out Curtain to have some privacy only to find that the curtain didn't pull all the way over and people could still see in not only that the curtain had a large tear near the patio door handle which we figured out that someone had done so that they could hook this around the door handle to try and obscure the window. The lamp shades were stained like water marks, and the bath had two large chips on it and then later found out that the bath did not hold the water. We went of to reception to complain about the condition of the room and were told that they were fully booked because of the conference, we asked them to inform us as soon as another room became available and they said that they would. Our first night we had to spend in total darkness to prevent anyone looking in at us.
Next day we hadn't heard anything from reception so we went to find out if we could be moved, once again were told nothing was available as there was another conference and a wedding going on that day. We went into the little shop to find out some of the excursions going on and a lady called Andrea asked us if we were enjoying our stay, we told here that we were not happy with the hotel and all the problems we were having luckily she was the supervisor and told us that she would try and sort things out for us. We went out for the day because you could not relax around the hotel because of all the workmen and renovations that were going on, We got back at around 4.45pm to freshen up only to find that our room had not been cleaned, back to reception we went and they told us that if it had not been done before 5.00pm then they had a problem as the cleaners finished there shift, they told us they would sort it so we went and had a drink at the pool bar, we left if for one hour and went back to the room, still had not been done now it was 6,00pm, back to reception again and they again told us they would try and sort it. We went back to the room to get ready for going out and found a letter on the floor for Andrea apologizing for the trouble we had been having and offered us a complementary breakfast for the two of us. Also the curtain had and lamp shades had been replaced but the room still had not been cleaned, We went out and got back about 9.30pm room still not been cleaned, but at least we could turn the light on without anyone looking in. We received a call from the manager asking us to tell him about our problems he then offered us a room that had just been renovated but this was too little too late we decided that we only had two more nights to go and to start packing and getting all our stuff back in cases at this time of night was just not worth doing, we have already spent to much time at reception complaining and getting nothing in return, when we should of been out enjoying the last leg of our holiday. One more day left in LA and looking forward to getting home. Workmen everywhere, dust in the air and drilling going on in the day this was not relaxing. Went out again for the day and got back again to find room not cleaned this is a room which I do not think was on the list of cleaning. We checked out on 5th May and found out that they had charged us for our complementary breakfast, I showed them the letter for the supervisor and they took it off the bill.

Anyone wanting to visit this hotel should be aware that things do not get done quickly resulting in ruining your holiday altogether, we visit the USA every year and love to holiday here, this was holiday was booked as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday and we were having a great time until we hit the Beverly Garland. What a disappointment.

The restaurant at the Beverly is not good, the first morning I ordered fresh fruit and a poached egg on toast, when it arrived it looked good but when cutting into the egg it was raw they took it back and did another one, The buffet breakfast is not that good either and you are paying 20 Dollars per head, I don't mind paying out if you have a good selection and the food is good, but this restaurant is not good and therefore we always went out to have a decent meal.

Thanks to Andrea for at least trying to help us and Justin for his pleasant manner also Alex on the Shuttle Bus very pleasant man.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Phil o

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I regret to hear that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide the best service, and guest comments allow us to continue to improve and offer the experiences expected. I'll share tour notes with our team to ensure the opportunities you encountered are taken into consideration and that necessary action is taken, so we may enhance the guest experience.
We value your comments and hope to have the opportunity to have you back, so we may regain your trust in us. Please feel free to contact me directly for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Daniel Miraval
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beverley garland! The staff were all so lovely and welcoming as it was out first few days in the states.
Best things about the hotel:
- free breakfast every morning! And it's so yum!
- free shuttle to the metro and universal studios
- the spa was so warm and great to soak in after a day of walking

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
KD1202

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and welcoming staff. We hope to have you back again when visiting LA! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing, the staff were so friendly and very helpful. A massive thank you to Shawn and Alex the shuttle driver. After reading not so good comments from locals about distance from things and being near a freeway and all the other negative things said I was a little worried. Both my partner and I were Visiting from Australia and would stay again. For all you Aussies or anyone planing to stay or thinking about staying, don't listen to all the negative there is free shuttle to universal there are shops up the road to buy what ever you need a couple mins walk if that. Shuttle takes you to metro station from there a 1.50 for the train and it's one stop to hollywood walk of fame and hop on/off and everything else..even if you miss last shuttle back there is a bus stop at metro takes you right across the road from the hotel or just walk, it takes like 10 mins it's a great walk done it heaps of times and stopped in at rite aid or ralfs to get some alcohol or some munchies. Again top place and staff

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Puls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Puls3

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely time with us. We'll share your comments with Shawn, Alex and the rest of our team. We hope to have you back with us soon and we thank you once again for your review. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,860 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing