We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, location and pool.”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, location and pool.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

When I was looking for a hotel, I wanted something close by to the taping studios. I found this hotel with a great deal. Even though it was late when I arrived, I was impressed with the lobby and with the room. I had a fast check in, which was great considering the day and events that had occurred earlier.

The next day my friend was coming in and the hotel made it easy for both of us (she had broken a bone in her foot a few weeks prior). I asked about other transportation, rather than a cab, they said they have a car service they deal with. They made the arrangement with the car service to pick her up and help her out when she arrived. I also rented a wheelchair and they had no problem storing it until we arrived and when we left, until the wheelchair company picked it up.

The pool was also fantastic. It was great and relaxing on one of their lounge beds. Everything around the pool was very clean. The seating area, bathrooms, fitness center and an abundance of towels. At night time, they have lights on their trees and a great outdoor fireplace, creating a great ambiance. The attached restaurant was great. The food was fantastic. We had appetizers during happy hour and also ordered in breakfast.

The shuttle to Universal Studios was great. The hotel is only a few minutes away, but it was nice to not have to worry about driving at the end of the day. At the end of our vacation, we were so surprised how close the hotel was to everything. It was far enough away from crowds but only a few minutes drive to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Chinese Theater and to the taping studios, if you're going to catch a live taping.

The only thing I would recommend is for the hotel to get new pillows. I don't know if it was only our room or with the whole hotel, but our pillows were very lumpy. Other than that, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I absolutely love it, we both did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Janine C

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel, facilities and friendly staff. We'll be sharing your fantastic review with all our associates. We are in the process of a full renovation and we'll have an upgraded pillow in all room soon. We hope to have you back during your next visit to LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    1,060
    295
    101
    47
See reviews for
1,110
984
128
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Road trip to California and decided to stay in Hollywood for a couple nights. This hotel was awesome! Great place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Had an old charm to it. People were very nice and accommodating. Beautiful pool with an outdoor fireplace. Free bus to the city walk hollywood studios. Loved our stay. Don't hesitate stay!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3sons314416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
3Sons314416

Thanks for your grear review, we are very glad that you "Loved it". We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Los Angeles. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Garland and just like before it was truly epic. Front desk staff are just amazing so friendly & helpful. The bedroom was very nice and comfy & clean also the shuttle bus is so handy to have on sight and runs on time I really look forward to my next trip can't wait to be back :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KYOTE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
KYOTE88

It's great to see that you keep coming back with us. We thank you for your feedback and for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Cannot compliment it enough. Was worried about location being a tourist before we came, but worries soon eased after organising tours through the hotel shop. Rooms are a good size, relatively quiet with lots of storage space. Don't be mistaken that the staff make this hotel what it is. Had excellent service from Kylie on front desk, Aidon in the shop, and Jordan in Warren's Blackboard. Amazing customer service. The restaurant is also ridiculously well priced for ridiculously innovative and delicious food. This hotel is perfect for the tourist holiday - managed to do Hollywood, Disneyland and Universal without any problems because we don't drive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Rachel S

Thanks for the great review! We will be sure to tell Kiley, Aiden and Jordan about your fantastic compliments. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed Warren’s Blackboard. We hope to see you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a base to visit LA. Similarly priced hotels nearby, were in less salubrious locations. The kids (aged 12 and 10 ) loved the concept of the movie at the pool ! Roaring fire with blankets provided and the breakfasts were superb! The room was clean and the staff were helpful and accommodating !! Definitely one to recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Craff39

It’s great to see you had such a fun experience with us! I’m glad your kids found the hotel enjoyable as well – we pride ourselves on being a family-friendly hotel. Thanks for the review, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin d' Uriage
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We rented a delux family suite. The room was retro in an very interesting way. Lobby, pool, gardens all have the same feel and it was a very nice experiance. Exception being the gym. It features all new equipment and even complimentary headphones on the treadmills. The shuttle to universal and the metro runs on time and the drivers take their responsability very seriously.

Now to the service, it was excellent. Room service and restaurant waiter Fidel was so enthusiastic about his job that this feeling was easily transferable to his clients. The driver of the shuttle actually helped me out when I forgot my credit card at a shop on the Hollywood walk and waited for me to retrieve it. The front desk employees were very plesent and helpful.

I am a seasoned and very picky traveler as my job involves a high percentage of travel. So, when I vacation, I am difficult to satisfy. I highly recommend this hotel, and its attached restaurant, to anyone vacationing or traveling on business. Everyone in the family loved this place and we will make our LA ritual. The Beverly Garland is an oasis in an otherwise boring selection of hotels in the same price range.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rsgbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Rsgbs

We are thrilled to read your fantastic review and we really thank you for it. I appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel and we'll share your feedback with our teams. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our way home from New Zealand for 3 nights, upgraded to a superior room only for it to overlook building work at the hotel, couldn't have balcony door open during day due to noise, staff extremely helpful and the pool and fitness centre were of a good standard.There is a free shuttle to Universal studios and a small shop in the foyer.The restraunt is ok but the menu stayed the same for the 3 days we were there, the breakfast buffet for 19 dollars was value for money and the staff were extremely efficient.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Eric C

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and noted our helpful and friendly staff. We are sorry about the noise, we can have you in a room facing the pool when you come back. Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,863 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#111 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing