We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortably situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #10 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“comfortably situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

last minute booking with groupon... pleasant hotel with easy access to main attractions of Hollywood. Didn't have good nights sleep due to horrendously loud traffic noise! The adjoining restaurant where breakfast is served is simple but sufficient, the breakfast buffet was ample.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the courtyard, the interior location may help reduce the traffic noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarej2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Clarej2610

We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that our location was convenient to you. We apologize for the noise that you had in your room. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel when you visit Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    1,026
    286
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,067
956
124
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here over christmas 2013 for 7 or so days. We found the staff to be very helpful. Very close to Universal Studios and also the metro. Tried the room service a couple of times and had great meals. The restaurant also does a great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamInAus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
SaminAus88

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our Room Service and "Warren's Blackboard". We look forward to welcoming you back next Christmas to the fully renovated "Garland Hotel".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I recently stayed at the Beverly Garland while moving my daughter into her Burbank apartment. I booked the hotel at the last minute on an online site and I have to say I was very pleased. After reading other reviews, I requested a courtyard view room. Even though I arrived around 10 a.m., the Front Desk placed a rush request in to have a courtyard room cleaned for me and I was in within an hour. The concierge is also the gift shop personnel. The evening gal directed us to a delightful Italian restaurant about 5 minutes away-Micheli's-complete with singing waiters. The daytime person was exceptional as well. The staff were all very personable and helpful throughout my stay and I thought the location near the 101 was very convenient. I have already made a reservation to return to this hotel this Spring.

Room Tip: I know that the entire property will soon undergo renovations....in the meantime, I would pass on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelleTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Belle Traveler43

Thanks for the fantastic review! I’m glad we were able to check you in early and allow you to have more time getting your daughter settled in to her new apartment. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant – we will tell our Boutique to continue recommending it! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Wow, thank you TA peeps!! This place is superb!! Got a great rate on Expedia for a Friday and Saturday night. Upon check in we knew to ask for a room not facing the noisy nearby 101 fwy, and the front desk clerk graciously honored our request, placing us in a king room facing the courtyard/pool side on the second floor. The check in was a breeze, the room is cozy, the painted brick walls are great! The lamps and decor are just right, vintage but not too vintage, nostalgic and crisp. A nice flat screen TV with HBO. The sliding glass door is incredible, it's one of the quietest rooms I've ever stayed in at any hotel. It completely blocks out all noise. There are busy streets surrounding the hotel, along with the 101 just steps away, but the room was silent. We slept great. The bed is firm, the showerhead is good. The hotel bar is delightful, so cozy, you won't want to leave. We enjoyed a great bottled beer selection, hand crafted cocktails, nice music, high quality appetizers, great service too. There's a Walgreens, Rite Aid, Ralphs within walking distance. The free shutte to Universal Studios/City Walk can't be beat. You save 10$ not having to park at Univ. Studios and can go back and forth every hour. This compensates for the 17$ daily parking fee in my book. This hotel has character and uniqueness you won't find at the Hilton and Sheraton down the street. And, it's the perfect size, you park your car and can be in your room in one minute. This is the only place I'll stay if I'm in the area again. Thank you TA!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filosab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Filosab

I’m glad you appreciated all of our services and our lovely staff! We do our best to accommodate any guest requests and I’m happy to hear we could check you in early to your room. We will soon be going through a full renovation, and hope you come back to see an even more unique and charming hotel! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had 3 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it. The restaurant / bar were really nice and we ate here 2 out of the 3 nights. There was a lovely pool area where we sunbathed one evening. There is also a really nice gym that wasn't too busy. The hotel is outside of LA but is easy reach with a car / on the shuttle. We really enjoyed our stay here.

We went to the beach in Malibu which was around 30mins drive from the hotel which had miles of sand - was lovely. Defo worth a look if you have time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Lauren B

It’s great you were able to appreciate our amenities! We agree, the pool is a very inviting and relaxing area of our hotel. Thanks for such a wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto,Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were just going to spend 1 night in L.A. as we were attending the taping of the Tonight Show. The Beverly Garland is the one we chose due to its close proximity to NBC studios in Burbank. The hotel looks weathered and unremarkable from the exterior and the halls and elevators could really use some updating. The rooms themselves were clean and decent.There is a charge of $17 a day for parking and they offer a free shuttle to Universal Studios. There is an onsite restaurant, but we did not eat there. The pool area and patio look very inviting. The walls are thin and you can hear anything going on in the hallway. I did not find the bed to be comfortable but it was okay.

Room Tip: It is not really close to anything so bring a GPS if you plan to find your way back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trcrotelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Trcrotelli

We thank you for taking the time to review us and we appreciate the feedback. We are going through a wonderful renovation and the halls and overall ambiance will be updated. We hope you can try our new restaurant "Warren's Blackboard" during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Basic accommodation in an average location. It was clean and tidy but found its distance from anything a little bit hard. Be prepared for a bit of noise as walls were very thin. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 10AKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
10AKA

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate your feedback. I apologize your room was noisy, but I am glad you enjoyed our great staff! We will soon be going through a fantastic renovation and I hope you come back to see the new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing