We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for Universal Studios”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #14 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for Universal Studios”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay here whilst visiting LA. Rooms were clean and tidy and shuttle service to Universal Studios was ideal. Staff were very friendly, in particular Angel at front desk. Only negative to our visit was we left a pair of reading glasses in our room on our departure and after leaving several voicemails for Housekeeping we still haven't had a return phone call from them. Otherwise a good spot!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Io1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Io 1986

We thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our friendly staff.
We'll make sure we share your comments with Angel. I am sorry that you didn't get a call back from our Lost and Found department. We haven't been able to find any record of it.
If you could call Housekeeping or go to the web site beverlygarland.com (contact us, lost and found) we'll get back to go as soon as possible. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    1,040
    288
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,079
964
126
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had 3 days at the BG in between New York and returning back to Australia. What can I say other than- well done Owners and staff of Beverly Garland, the Hotel was everything we could have wanted. The room was great (nice King sized bed), view from the window of very neat and tidy Grounds, beautiful pool and a top class restaurant, we had breakfast and dinner then on all occasions and were very happy with Food & Service. The Trolley service to Universal Studios and the train station was also 1st class. Full recommendation from me

Room Tip: It is a fair way from the Airport with a $100 cab ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Neil P:

I am glad you were able to enjoy our hotel so much! We are soon going through some fantastic renovations – so you’ll have to come back and see our even better rooms! It’s great you were able to enjoy our trolley service and restaurant. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff were so lovely and helped me as I was a tourist. Gave me a bus schedule and told me places I could go to that would be open. When I checked out I had a day tour planned and the lovely staff let me leave my bag at thw hotel even tho I had checked out. Great Hotel if you're going to universal studios

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Shannon O:

Thanks for the great review! Our staff strives to be the most helpful they can be, especially to people unfamiliar with the area – so we are happy you could appreciate their efforts. We hope to see you back soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here Dec 24th & 25th, 2013. The hotel is not new, but maintained well. The room we had is quiet, the king size bed is comfortable and the whole building is secured, but there is no fridge or microwave. There is free shuttle to Universal Studio everday from 9am to 9pm which is very convenient for us. The only thing I don't like is the parking. They charged 17 dollars per night and everytime we went out the machine had some problems.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilyLiu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Emily Liu7:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I’m glad you enjoyed our rooms – we will actually be renovating all of our rooms in the next few months so they will all have refrigerators soon. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the parking situation, but glad that you utilized our free shuttle to Universal Studios. We hope you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good clean hotel and at a quality price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Free shuttle to Universal Studios is great. Would reccomend this hotel to friends and family. Only negative is lack of restaurant options near the hotel but overall it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ah3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
ah3221:

Thank you for the fantastic review! It’s great that you were able to utilize our free shuttle to Universal Studios. Our staff loves to hear that they are appreciated so we will be sure to tell them of your kind words. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed there Sep 2013 .Great location staff were brilliant you can also purchase tickets for
Universal Studios plus free shuttle to Universal Studios and Tula's Restaurant had huge
breakfast selection I have ever seen. Rooms were OK . Did not travel 15000 miles to look at
4 walls and sit around .. loved the Decoy Bar in all I recommended any one to the
The Beverly Garland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Glenn H:

We really appreciate taking the time to write a great review of the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, services and friendly staff. We hope to see you back with us on your next vacations. Safe travels and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Positive: great pool area and spa. Upgraded room was huge with two bathrooms and sitting area. Breakfast buffet was great variety, everything you could imagine. Free shuttle to universal which was walking distance anyway. Staff were always saying hello and were courteous

Negative: location- no fantastic local restaurants so you have to go to universal studios area to eat. No fridge in room unless you upgraded

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for more comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Sonya H:
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services but most importantly our friendly staff. We are doing a full renovation that will be completed early this summer. All our rooms will have a refrigerator and a safety box as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you back! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing