We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good quality”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Positive: great pool area and spa. Upgraded room was huge with two bathrooms and sitting area. Breakfast buffet was great variety, everything you could imagine. Free shuttle to universal which was walking distance anyway. Staff were always saying hello and were courteous

Negative: location- no fantastic local restaurants so you have to go to universal studios area to eat. No fridge in room unless you upgraded

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for more comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Sonya H:
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services but most importantly our friendly staff. We are doing a full renovation that will be completed early this summer. All our rooms will have a refrigerator and a safety box as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you back! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    1,046
    290
    100
    47
See reviews for
1,089
971
128
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

our family stayed here for 10 nights in nov the service was perfect front desk helped us so much but aiden in the shop is amazing so helpful and polite if you need anything ask aiden the rooms were great and very clean and after my son was sick housekeeping was straight there and helped us i could not fault the garland i have told our travel agent to reccommend it will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Tracy T

We love this kind of reviews and we thank you for your kind words. We'll make sure to share them with our team members. We hope to see you soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Dec 2013 for four nights with my boyfriend in a standard room. There were good and bad points about this hotel. Good points were the free shuttle to universal city walk and drop off at metro station, warrens blackboard food workshop and good customer service. Bad points were the rooms and our room location. All furniture was quite old and needed an update. Stains all over the carpet floors. We were very disappointed that there was no fridge or safe within the rooms. Our room was located close to the free way and therefore we were woken up numerous times throughout the night. Would only recommend this hotel to friends and family if they couldn't find anything better at the similar price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Jessica HHHH
We thank you for your review and for your positive and constructive feedback. It's good to read that you enjoyed our services, complimentary shuttle and Warren's Blackboard.
We apologize for not meeting your room expectations. We are in the process of a full renovation and all our rooms will have safes and refrigerators. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can try our new product that will be ready around May/June this year. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and had a great stay, hotel was was clean and comfortable there was a restaurant on site called Tula's which was very nice but a bit pricey. Parking was ample but not free a big minus in my books!!
Not much around the hotel so you had to take a car to get to shops and restaurants.
The pool area was great and relaxing.
What was nice, was the free shuttle to universal studios a great plus.
Probably wouldn't stay here again as I think I needed to be the other side of the valley to really appreciate Los Angeles and this was confirmed by a couple of friends we met up with one evening who now live in LA
Overall tho a nice stay .

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank markledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Markledwidge

We do really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you liked the facilities and services provided. I am sorry about the parking charges but Los Angeles is a city where you have to pay for parking anywhere you go.
If you decide to come back to this side of the valley in the future you know we'll be waiting for you. Safe travels and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed there twice over Christmas for several days since our family lives in the area. The hotel staff are very friendly ,eager to help and cater to a guest's needs. We asked for a diffierent pillow and got a selection. The bed is very comfortable and the room meets our needs. The room is spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxgilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Maxgilda

We love when we meet guest's expectations and we thank you for your great feedback. Visit us on your next trip to Los Angeles.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to the proximity of my sister-in-law's house. I would not return anytime soon.

There were some good things: The decor in the common areas is modern and updated. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and polite.

Then there was the bad: The mattresses were so hard that if I did not keep moving throughout the night, my arms and legs would go numb. I still woke up with neck and back pain every morning. All the towels and linnens needed to be replaced. Holes and fraying towels, nubs and threadbare sheets. The shower curtain was fraying and the snaps holding it together were broken, so it was falling apart. Finally, we needed to print some tickets using the business center, I couldn't even open my e-mail because the browser they had installed was so out of date!

Lastly, the ugly: If you do decide you would like to try this place out, ask for a room facing away from the freeway, unless you prefer the gentle roar of traffic lulling you to sleep and drinking your coffee to in the morning.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Heather H.

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel! We are glad you encountered friendly and polite staff while staying with us.
We appreciate all your feedback and will take everything into consideration for our future as we are in the process of a full renovation. We would love for you to come back and see the final product in early Summer 2014! Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference and decided to stay the weekend. We found it extremely convenient to universal studios/ city walk with a good shuttle service. We also had a great day at the planetarium which is very close with wonderful views of LA and the Hollywood sign.
We had a room facing the parking lot and I was concerned about freeway noise since the hotel is so close to the freeway, however noise was not an issue for us at all. The bed was great, very clean room and quiet. The hotel felt very secure. The staff were friendly and helpful. A mice restaurant on site. I felt that the room price was a little high, and parking is an additional fee, however it was so convenient and really easy to get to and from the freeway. The convenience was worth the extra cost. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vjay7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Vjay7374
We are delighted to read your review. We thank you for taking the time to do it and we are glad that you enjoyed our services, friendly staff and facilities.
We can't wait to have you again with us and wish you a Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,505 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,596 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing