We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have already recommended this property to friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #10 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Have already recommended this property to friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Top front of office staff, have you in your rooms very quickly. The rooms are good for an older property, very clean and well maintained, cleaning staff were excellent. Plenty for the kids to do after a hard day at Universal Studios what better than a burger and movie while enjoying the pool or spa. Breakfast was included in price of room and was good excellent choices in both hot and cold food. The restaurant on site serves terrific meals and these are at a fair price.
There is a free shuttle that runs several times a day to Universal Studios timetable is available at the shuttle stop. I personally enjoyed my stay here and have recommended this property to friends travelling to USA soon. Nice to find staff so helpful Thank you Beverly Garland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    1,026
    286
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,067
956
124
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The first night our room was located facing the highway. After a sleepless night we complained and were moved to a different building and after that everything was fine. The staff were helpful and offer a complimentary shuttle bus to universal studios and the L.A metro. The rooms were spacious and bright with a balcony. The breakfast offered a buffet or cooked to order menu and both were lovely. Parking costs 15 dollars a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrivateEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The most confused hotel ever. A curios case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. Everything is nice on your right side, but the left side leaves a lot to be desired. And I will explain.

Cons:
1. Extra $15 for parking on top of your room...for nothing. Parking is not covered or air-conditioned. Every time you need to go out with your car you have to use the card, go through the ramp, listen to the annoying woman thanking you for staying at fabulous Beverly Garden, while at the same time it does not feel fabulous at all.

2. No fan in the bathroom.

3. Air-conditioning unit works well, but it is not sound proof and the hotel is right next to US 101 and that highway never sleeps. So every time a big truck passes the unit shakes. FUN!

4. Ice machine broke in the middle of trouble that was coming from Texas (high pressure system). It took couple of days to fix it. We had to go to other floors. Not as bad, but we paid a LOT to stay here.

5. Bed is set on a COILED mattress box. If a person next to you turns, the vibes wake you up, if you are not already awake from sounds of US 101.

6. Pillows were cheap, well used and one of those that start bunching up in one corner so you have to shift few times. I hate this. This hotel should have expensive goose down pillows for what they charge for a room with no FRIDGE (you have to PAY extra for one).

7. No FRIDGE. You have to pay extra if you want one and call to have it set up before you come.

8. If you want two shots of espresso in the morning be ready to dish our $5.75 and imagine you are in Amsterdam or Copenhagen because that is similar to the price I paid for Starbucks at those airports.

Pros:

1. Staff is amazing, wonderful, greatly trained, and they truly care about you having a great stay at the hotel.

2. Pool and Jacuzzi/spa area is AWESOME. They had a movie for kids every night, showing on a big screen. They serve food and cocktails next to the pool as well.

3. Restaurant food is OK. I would not make a special trip to eat at this place. Service was amazing, just like every where else.

4. Furniture is really nice on your right side of your room or left depend in which room you are staying, but while I like nice TV I would rather have a nice mattress and pillows instead of chairs and tables.

5. FREE WI FI.

I could not stay again if for nothing else than for parking cost. $75 on top of really expensive stay. Just chose a different place.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel. This one has no free breakfast and charges for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lejlawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
lejlawa: The glass is always half full here at the Beverly Garland! We appreciate the "Pros" you outlined concerning our hotel, amenities and service. All our employees really make an effort to give great service and make sure everyone has a wonderful experience. While we appreciate your humor, we do take feedback seriously and do apologize for the ice machine issue as well as the air conditioner becoming loose. We are checking all AC units to make certain that issue does not happen again. Our parking fees are actually quite reasonable for the City of Los Angeles and are very competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had selected this hotel primarily for its close proximity to Universal Studios Hollywood. The Beverly Garland Holiday Inn is an older property but is very well maintained. The landscaping is very nice and lush all around the hotel and the property is very clean. Although the hotel room is an older design, it appears to have been recently remodeled with current paint colors and is clean and fresh in appearance.

What makes this hotel an excellent choice for visiting Universal Studios Hollywood is the free hotel shuttle that leaves the hotel every 30 minutes to the entrance of Universal Studios, and then makes its return trip back to the hotel every 30 minutes. This is very convenient in that we can leave our car at the hotel parking lot and not have to deal with the Universal Studios parking lot fees and traffic. Also, the shuttle drops off passengers right at the main entrance to Universal Studios so we do not have to make the long walk from the parking lot.

The Beverly Garland Holiday Inn also has a very nice restaurant located in a building just to the side of the main lobby. We had lunch their and found the service and food very good and the pricing reasonable.

Overall we found this hotel an excellent choice for our visit to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
AZCasualTraveler: We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and named us the "best choice" hotel for visiting Universal Studios! Our trolley is a very popular and convenient amenity that provides service not only to Universal CityWalk but also the Metro station. With seven acres our property does truly feel like an urban oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were a bit wary about staying further out of LA and our initial preference was nearer the coast. Ideally the hotel had good transport links with a free, regular shuttle bus to Universal and a frequent bus stop directly outside.

The rooms were great but careful of the parking charges!

Tula food was really good and i would recommend. Make the most of the happy hour as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordy23uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spend two nights here in May 2013. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were extremely friendly. Tula's restaurant and the Decoy Lounge were both very convenient and reasonable priced.

I would certainly recommend staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarradallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Jarradallen: Thanks for the recommendation! Happy you enjoyed your stay, the restaurant and bar, and the friendly staff here at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel while visiting LA, I had absolutely no problem with the rooms clean etc!
But what made my stay memorable was the great customer service in the dining room, every morning I was welcomed by the friendly staff who made me laugh and made me feel quite comfortable in the hotel.

Gotta say I love American customer service! :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing