We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good hotel and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #12 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good hotel and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

great hotel, friendly staff. Has all the facilities except fridges in rooms. Pool, laundry, free shuttle to metro station and universal, bus stop out front, taxis in waiting on grounds, Tula's restaurant and bar open till late, rooms clean and spacious, great beds and modern facilities. The only bad thing was no fridge and was a distance to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Downtown etc that took a while on public transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DobsnDougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    893
    258
    86
    38
See reviews for
842
818
107
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can only confirm what other reviewers have said. The hotel has a great location for a base to explore LA.The free shuttle to universal and the metro was great bonus.One stop on the metro will get you to Hollywood boulevard and there you can link up to the hop on hop off bus.The hotel is a short walk to shops which you will pretty much find anything you need.We ate a couple of times at tulus and found the food excellent.Great stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maxico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, a very nice clean hotel, friendly staff, lovely heated pool, good on site restaurant nice food at reasonable prices, good location close to main routes, only a few minutes drive from central Hollywood and Beverly hills, a free shuttle bus leaving every hour to Universal studios approx. 15 minutes away, our room was run of house so we had extra room with sofas kitchen and bathroom, very nice, only negative was having to pay 10 Dollars a day for parking, but everything else was very good we would stay again.

Room Tip: we had a room on the back over looking the car park which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Check in was quick, our luggage was taken from the mini bus and directly up to our room by the doorman which was very much appreciated,

The room was tidy and well laid out, good comfortable bed,plenty storage and a bedside clock and good TV set. The bathroom, although rather old was functional.

We eat at Tula's, the onsite restaurant twice at breakfast time, the buffet option was quite pricey, if you are not a huge eater in the morning maybe an option off the menu will be better. Food quality was really good though and the staff were super friendly.

The main reason for staying here was for the free shuttle that takes you to Universal and the local Metron station every hour, we made good use of this and was a great facility to have, The last bus back from Universal is 10.15 but a taxi from there will only cost about $7 should you stay longer. A taxi from the subway is a similar cost.

No safes inroom but there are safes and boxes at reception, this is free. The only bad thing about our stay were some noisy neighbours directly downstairs on the last night having a loud drunken time on the balcony. I did hear the guy next door phone to complain but it would seem nothing was done about it was it went on till 3am, as we were due to rise at 7am to go home we were rather tired then. I guess noisy drunks can happen at any hotel though!

Overall we had a great stay and will definately come back when we return to LA in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel and staff cater to adults. Kids under 14 are treated like second class citizens. Beverly Garland needs to stop sending mixed messages. They claim their hotel is family friendly but it really isn't. Showing kids movies at the pool at dusk doesn't cut it as kid friendly. Denying a 5 year old a noodle to use as a floating device because it "attracts kids to the pool" is ridiculous!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
SMK7: Thank you for acknowledging our "beautiful hotel" with perfect scores for location, rooms and cleanliness. We take pride in our hotel. We're sorry that you were unhappy with our pool rules and service. We do everything possible to have the "best of both worlds" with catering to both adults and children. Our hot tub is reserved for adults and kids over 14 years of age while our pool is open to kids of all ages. This policy has worked well and allows all to enjoy the facility. We also have the "Dive In" movies nightly and that's when we bring out the pool floats for all to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised on how nice and modern the rooms were decorated. Clean no clutter. I would definitely stay here again. Grounds were nice many amenities. I enjoyed the happy hour at decoy and was so surprised when I received the bill. :) location was convenient for the reason that brought me to studio city. Lots of shops, eating, and convenient grocery store and gas stations nearby. Great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbsfolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Bbsfolife: We are thrilled our property exceeded your expectations and that you will "definitely stay here again!" Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here for twenty years. Good family hotel. Close to what ever your here for. Theres a good place to eat right there. And a cool bar next door. We park are buses in a back lot on site. Sometimes music stars stay here too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
NashvilleOkie: Thanks for being a loyal guest for the past twenty years! We agree we have a great, convenient location and we appreciate your patronage of our restaurant and bar. Tula's and Decoy have also become "under the radar" preferred local destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#103 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing