We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for Universal”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit Universal Studio. The location is very good, very close to 101 fwy and Universal studio. Staff at check-in counter was very friendly. Hotel is very well maintained. Very good environment. The room was fabulous, spacious, very clean , although lack of fridge and in-room-safe. Its soundproof sliding door helped reduce traffic noise from 101-fwy. Very good sleeping quality. Tula, on site restaurant, was also great for breakfast. We also took their free shuttle which leaves hotel every hour starting from 9 am. It took only 5 minutes to get to Universal Studio. There's a parking fee that cost about 12$ for priority club member.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piranut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,048 - 2,054 of 3,212 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I went to Hollywood with my mom and sister for 4 nights and I researched many hotels, I am very glad I went with the Beverly Garland Holiday Inn. It is very close to all of the things that you want to see in Hollywood, but tucked out of all of the hustle and bustle of Los Angles. There is a free shuttle to Universal. We took the shuttle twice to go eat at Universal's City Walk and then one day to spend the day at Universal. They have free wi-fi in the rooms. The rooms are very clean. We had breakfast one morning in the restaurant, we ordered from the menu, I thought the buffet price was a little pricey even though the 2.00 mimosa's was a good value. We tried to order room service one night but it was going to take an hour, so I ran downstairs to get it and it was very good. They have a daily happy hour and the drinks and appetizers are half price, the patio bar area is very nice. My only complaint is having to go to the restaurant every morning to get fresh coffee, It would be nice if they had it complimentary in the lobby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last week on our third visit to the Beverly Garland and it was as fabulous as always. Tha manager, Deone, is outstanding and looked after us very well, and the rest of the staff were great, very friendly and attentive. Great location, very clean, and the food at Tula's is good quality and reasonably priced. Thank you Deone and team for making us so comfortable!

Room Tip: Upper floors further away from the freeway, but are on the process of having sound proofed doors ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallymacfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is very close to Universal Studios. There is a free shuttle to universal studios every hour starting at 10 am (forget when the last shuttle leaves the hotel and universal studios). Location was decent. Really depends where you want to go. Everything is a bit of a commute due to traffic in LA. There is free wifi in the hotel. There is a business center (closes at midnight) with 2 computers to use with free printing. There is a small neighbourhood mall with a Rite Aide (open 24h), Ralph's, Starbucks etc, nearby (about a 5min walk). Hotel room was clean. the A/C was somewhat loud though. Decent hotel if you get a good price/deal for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I took the kids to Universal Studios for Spring Break and decided to stay at the Beverly Garland because they offer a free shuttle. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was gorgeous. The hotel was completely booked so we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. The suite had a couch that pulled out into a bed and a mini fridge. I was thankful for the fridge after seeing the prices at the restaurant, Tula's. We enjoyed breakfast the first morning and the food was tasty. For breakfast on the second day we opted to walk to CVS for milk and cereal. The kids enjoyed the pool and we all felt comfortable and safe. I'd stay here again and recommend to anyone, good quality hotel for a nice price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just finally got around to making a tripadvisor account so figured we would do some reviews. We went there after becoming engaged (we are in our mid-20s). The staff was sadly the worst part of the visit. We ended up staying at this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who works for the larger company that owns this property, and were pretty disappointed with the service. The property in general was well kept and nice, and the hotel offered shuttles that made more things accessible.

Now having said that, the shuttles dont operate everywhere obviously and often enough. For example, we got stuck after a Lakers game because of the hotels distant location relative to downtown. It's an ok property, certainly does the job for universal studios but we didn't love the location or the service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will-and-Karen-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Will-and-Karen-27: Thanks for posting a review from your stay a year ago. We are an independently owned property and take all service issues seriously. Our service and associates make us what we are. A majority of our guests love the central and convenient location as well as the complimentary trolley service to Universal Citywalk and the Metro station.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We travel to LA often and after staying at this hotel I don't want to stay anywhere else in LA. The service was amazing. Coming from the midwest I've always been shocked at how rude some people are in the service industry in LA. I've come to expect service with an attitude as the norm in LA but not this time. Everyone we encountered at this hotel was delightful, helpful and genuine. Anna was the first person we talked to when checking in and she was a Jewel. She understands how to greet people and make them feel welcomed. She immediately connected with my son and I could tell this was a kid friendly hotel. The rooms have a loft feel to them and are very clean. The layout of the hotel, with an enclosed patio feel, helps you feel secluded from the streets of North Hollywood. The kids suites are priceless and won my son's vote to stay here every future visit to LA. Breakfast at Tula's was wonderful and kids eat free!! Can't wait to visit again!!

Room Tip: If you have kids, the kids suite rooms are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#140 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,725 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,928 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#63 of 355 in Los Angeles
464 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $222 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing