We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Free Shuttle to Universal Studios/Cozy Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Free Shuttle to Universal Studios/Cozy Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This location is great if you're visiting Universal Studios, which is about 10 minutes away. Every staff member I encountered was kind and courteous. My room location seem to be quiet. The beds are not too soft, not too hard. They offer a one cup coffee maker, but no fridge or in room safe. They also have a small balcony with seating. The shuttle runs every hour starting at 9am, but get there early, because the shuttle fills up fast! No free breakfast at this hotel, but there is a restaurant on property that had decent food/prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tspirit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    893
    258
    87
    38
See reviews for
843
821
107
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just stayed at Beverly Garland and it was so nice.
We really love this hotel, near everything, but in quiet surroundings.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff in front office are SO helpful.
Karla is amazing, Andreas always helpful and so are the rest of the staff.
Try Tula, the restaurant, it's amazing!!
Parking is to expensive, if you have to use it every day for a week ($ 15 a day). But maybe you can make a good deal ? ;)

I'm sure we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Beverly Garland for 2 days last week while traveling with our 10 and 12 year old sons. The hotel is easily accesible from two freeways and is just over the hill and thus out of the hollywood chaos. It took us forever to get there from Culver City in rush hour but other than that we had no problem getting around.

The hotel has several buildings and very pretty grounds. We stayed in the El Dorado building in a kids suite. I expected it to be a bit bigger from the pictures and descriptions, but it was perfectly fine for our needs. It was essentially a typically sized double hotel room in which one of the beds was removed and a set of bunk beds were enclosed in a cubby. The boys loved it because they had their own tv in there. There was plenty of space for walking around and luggage. There was also a microwave and mini-fridge, which was nice. The room was clean and the bedding was comfortable. The HVAC is a bit loud, but that didn't bother us. The ceilings are low because it is an old building, and our son on the top bunk did bump his head!

They have a really nice work out room and pool setting. I think it would be nice to sit out there year round because they have a fire place, hot tub and nice seating for cold days, and lots of louge chairs for warm days. There is a nice shower there as well, which saved time for getting the kids ready after swimming. The restaurant serves a nice breakfast (both menu and buffet) and the bar is very cozy and charming and has a nice happy hour daily.

The parking was $12 or $15 dollars per day but was plentiful and very easy to use. We had no problems with our key card.

We probably would have enjoyed staying longer and enjoying the amenities of the hotel. The only improvement I would suggest would be to have the front desk more familiar with local restaurants. I wanted something non-chain nearby and she was at a loss other than recommending the Universal studios restaurants. She did send us to a steak house that was fine but nothing special.

Room Tip: The El Dorado was the building we stayed in and it did have low ceilings. You might ask if other bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Was very disappointed in this dark,dingy & noisy hotel. Carpets were filthy, halls were dark, air conditioner very loud. The duvet cover had a few spots of blood on it and some long dark hairs. There was next to no hot water. Each room had a balcony but the sliding doors in our room and the room of our friends would not open. The gates to exit the parking lot were not working and when we pushed the button for help, no one seemed concerned, just told us to wait. My friend went in to make sure our card was still activated, they seemed somewhat annoyed, but once they ran it through the machine again we were able to exit, so I think it had been de-activated. The pictures shown on the hotel web site are nothing like the room I stayed in. It is a 2 star at best. The only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarnhdartNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
EarnhdartNY: Thank you for the feedback and we're truly sorry for your experiences. There were obviously many issues you encountered that are very uncharacteristic of our hotel and amenities. We do hope you do give us another chance and reach out so we can further discuss. We do have a great location and constantly focus on the guest experience so that these types of things don't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

very clean and nice hotel if you want to visit Universal Studios Hollywood, free courtesy bus. Bus stop outside to go to Hollywood Boulevard not to costly, just ask at reception for details. we stayed there and the was a wedding reception which was great didnt have any problems. restaurant was next door, great chicken club sandwiches and pasta. staff lovely.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked centre courtyard, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Enfieldgirl: We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Beverly Garland and took advantage of our great location, great food and great staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent two nights here and found everything to be perfectly acceptable. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, helpful staff. Short 15 minute walk to the metro, one stop to Hollywood Boulevard. Hotel shuttle if you don't want to walk. Tula served a great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
soulsjs: Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Beverly Garland. We do have our Trolley that shuttles guests from Universal CityWalk/Studios and the Metro station daily. Our famous breakfast buffet is served daily in Tula's and is still the best value in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while touring LA. They were fantastic here..the staff are a credit to the hotel. Bevs Boutique was a great place to book tours and give advise about trips. the location is perfect for visiting al the sites of LA. I left a bag containing a guess walet,handbag and watch on the free shuttle the hotels runs in error. Alex (one of the staff) found it, didn't know who it belonged to. He contacted the shop as the reciept was in the bag and matched up the name they gave him on my credit card with a tour i had booked through the hotel!! He found me and returned the bag to me...he was so helpful...a real life Sherlock Holmes!! I was so delighted!! The hotel is near a metro stop and the free shuttle to universal studios stops there. I was delighted with this choice and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah123healy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
sarah123healy: Thanks for sharing your experience and we are very proud of all our associates! They go above and beyond to take care of our guests and patrons. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#6 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing