We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and nice ambience”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have recently stayed here with my family from Dec 28, 2012 to Jan 1 2013. We've enjoyed the experience and we're quite happy with the room as it was nice and comfy. I really love the location because it's just 5-10 minutes away from Universal Studios and they even provide a free shuttle bus to and from Universal Studios.
The only thing which was a drawback for me was having to stay at the building named Portola, we had to walk outside to reach the front desk and the breakfast area. As it was raining during the days we've stayed, it was quite a hassle especially with a 4-yr old child walking through the cold weather and the rain. The heater in the room was a little bit noisy too. But overall, it was a great experience and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meelstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,098 - 2,104 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I arrived here for 4 nights with my family (husband and two boys aged 7 and 9) after travelling for 24 hours from australia! Was great to be welvcomed warmly and with an earlier check in which was just what we needed!!!! Room was great value for money, had the kids suite with bunks which gave us a little privacy. The location was great and staff were more than happy to offer directions or suggestions for things to do around the place. Overall extreamly happy with all aspects and will definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julie5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After a long delayed flight from Atlanta I finally arrived at the wonderful hotel..traveling with twins isn't easy at all I just wanted to check in and put the twins to sleep. My check in was very fast and smooth a guest service rep named Anna checked me in.. she was very friendly and welcoming wonderful customer service... wonderful hotel Ill be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissGapeachtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bathroom slightly dated, but clean. Used the laundromat which was spotless and the space was very useful. Other than freeway noise, I heard no other noise. The boutique offers some nice items and extras. Well within comfortable walking distance of a Ralphs, Rite Aid, Starbucks and restaurants.
Bottled water in the rooms would be a nice touch and much appreciated as would a light continental breakfast.

Overall great value and location. Enjoyed the ambiance and character of the property. Felt safe at all times, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockMamaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Through fault of my own, i booked the wrong date for our stay from HotelClub, showed up a month early, was told there was no refund and no more rooms with two beds.. Before stuff hit the fan, Karla(hotel mgr) not only helped us check in, but she excelled her customer service by walking us and helping us with HotelClub and accommodating us for a goodnight rest at The Beverly Garland Holiday Inn... Gotta say our night couldve ended terrible, thanks to Karla, it turned out great!!! Thanks Karla

Room Tip: Check in Directly through Holiday Inn and check YOUR DATES!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel tried really hard to help us in a bad situation. We had actually made reservations at a different hotel that turned out to be nothing that it's website promised. The staff at this hotel worked hard to accomodate our family.

The negatives were: No free breakfast and the restaurant is very expensive, no free parking, the bathroom was VERY small and we were in a "suite". We stayed for two nights, we told the staff that we did not need complete maid service, but would like clean towels and the blanket (which we got from the closet) for the rollaway was dirty when we took it out of the closet and we needed a clean blanket. The cleaning staff brought in new towels and a clean blanket, but didn't bother to remove any of the dirty ones.

The positives: The staff was very friendly and for the most part helpful. There is a shuttle to and from Universal Studio. The grounds are clean. The hotel was in a nice area and we felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unknowntraveler1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

There has been a gap of 8 years since staying at Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn. In 2004 the property was in need of a renovation to breath life back into a hotel that had good bones.

I recently stayed for 2 nights (December 2012) and immediately noted that there had been a refurbishment which initially looked impressive but on closer inspection noted that the place had really only been "gussied up".

The room was nice-ish but still retained original bathroom fixtures. Trying to control water pressure and temperature was a balancing act. Of more concern was the fact that there was no in room safe. This should be standard for hotels nowadays. I did appreciate the coffee maker though.

Noise can be a slight problem given that the hotel backs onto a major highway. Perhaps the installation of double glazing could be considered.

The location is of course is convenient for those wishing to visit Universal Studios and the hotel provides a regular complimentary shuttle service. This shuttle will also on request drop guests at the Metro Station. I was told that they would also pick you up from the Metro if you called them ahead and it linked to a scheduled service.

Having spent a day walking about shops I called and asked if I could be collected at the Metro. I did this 45 minutes ahead and was told that the shuttle would swing past. I sat and watched as the bus went passed me to Universal Studios expecting that it would collect me on its return which it didn't. I was forgotten and ended up having to walk, not that the distance is great but it was far enough at the end of a long day.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to a well equipped strip mall which has a large Ralphs Supermarket, Pharmacy and Starbucks. You are also within easy reach (15 minutes) from Tajunga Avenue which has lovely shops and cafes including my favourite Aroma which does great coffee.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. They were all very friendly and professional. The lady who checked me in was especially lovely.

The hotel certainly has a lovely atmosphere, the public areas have a lodge feel to them, sadly the stone fireplace has been painted a drab grey/blue in an attempt to modernise the look. Wrong. The architecture and internal design should not be tampered with, it is what makes this hotel unique

I believe this hotel has the potential to be the best in North Hollywood. It's competition, the Sheraton and Hilton are both large convention styled hotels and quite generic. Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn just needs to address some of the minor issues that I have noted for it become a solid and reliable choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,711 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,069 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,192 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#62 of 355 in Los Angeles
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $179 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing