We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No major complaints - Nice overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #10 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No major complaints - Nice overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon and found this to be a nice hotel. Its in a good location, plently of places to eat and drink that are within walking distance of the hotel. Metro station is a 15-20 minute walk away. Hollywood walk of fame is 1 stop away.
Rooms are fine, although we did have to change on our second night as they patio door didnt seem to seal fully when closed so freeway traffic was terrible, second room slightly less noisey. Balcony just barely fits a table and 2 chairs, so sitting out there was a challenge. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Layout of the hotel is a little confusing in my opinion, I could never find my way back to reception without going around in circles first.
Parking is $15 per night. Hotel has a nice pool area, gift shop with helpful staff regarding tours etc. Restaurant was nice, however staff seemed a little run off their feet even though it was not full.
Overall we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us during your honeymoon….CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! We appreciate you letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is set on 7 acres of land and comprises 7 building so yes, it can be challenging for some, but I know you will agree that the garden setting makes it all worth it. Again, congratulations and we wish you many years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    1,026
    286
    96
    45
See reviews for
1,067
956
124
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice accommodations for the area I suppose. Nothing special, nothing bad. My only complaint is that it seems all Holiday Inns have crappy beds. We were taking a family trip to Universal Studios, so the kids didn't care and the parents were tired. If I were going on business, I don't think I would stay here soley because of the uncomfortable beds. Otherwise, it is a great place.

Room Tip: There is a loud bar connected to the hotel and those patrons use the parking lot. It is secured, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Universal. Sorry you were not satisfied with our beds as this comes as a surprise because we get numerous favorable comments about our beds. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Beverly Garland is a hidden gem in the craziness of Los Angeles. The details of the hotel, service and cleanliness are fantastic. We stayed with the family on a weekend when they show movies by the pool, the kids had a blast.The food prices are very affordable for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
So glad to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and movies…our Dive-In Movies have really become a hotel favorite…hope with them being busy enjoying the pool and movie, you had an opportunity for some R&R. We look forward for your travels taking you back to LA soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in August 2012 as part of a 3 centre USA west coast holiday.

I was expecting this to be just another "standard" Holiday Inn hotel, having stayed in a number of Holiday Inn hotels in the UK. However, this hotel was so much better than those I have stayed in previously. Everything about the hotel was superb - the rooms, the beds, the public areas, the swimming pool area, the hotel's complimentary free shuttle bus which runs frequently to and from City Walk and Universal Studios - everything.

I have to also give a special mention to Carla who manages the reception. We had reason to seek her help and local knowledge on a couple of ocassions and found her to be exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

This was by far the best hotel we stayed in throughout our stay and hope to return to LA on vacation again in the future. I will not hesitate to stay here again.

If you are looking for a great place to stay which is conveniently located for Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Universal Studios then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask for a room not facing the freeway as this can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cawdy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for choosing us for your accommodations during your visit to Los Angeles. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. We work very hard to create an environment that is different from the typical LA hotel; from our beautifully landscaped grounds, outside courtyards, relaxing pool complex, Tula’s Restaurant, rooms and more. However, none of this would mean anything without great associates like Karla. Thanks for recognizing her, we are very honored to have her on our team. Looking forward to your next visit to The Beverly Garland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well we have never been to Los Angeles before so had no idea what to expect both me and my wife where very pleased with the hotel overall it was a friendly atmosphere all the staff were very good handling our queries and giving us any information we needed.Terri in the shop was very good she helped us sort out our super shuttle problem out thats another story. Breakfast buffet was superb we used this everyday good value and Tulas cocktails were delicous!
The room was more than what we expected we had two queen sized beds very comfortable and plenty of space with iron and ironing board and free wifi which was great for keeping in touch with home.The location is North Hollywood and not Hollywood thats something to remember when you book up any transport to the airport its a little out of the way but the shuttle to Universal city and the Metro was very welcome and we used this everyday.
There is a small shop with gifts etc this was also useful but if you walk out of the hotel to the left over a bridge there is small shopping area with a bar and supermarket with a couple of stores if you need any supplies.I would recommend this hotel to anyone we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridget r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. I am happy to hear that out staff, especially Terri was able to help you with all your needs. We enjoy helping our guests make the most out of their time while staying with us as Los Angeles has so much to offer. We also thank you for dining at Tula’s, our Executive Chef, Dani Csotai and his culinary team create beautiful and tasty dishes that coupled with the right cocktail makes a perfect combination. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed here twice and have loved both stays and will keep going back.
The staff are friendly and helpful, Barbara and an older lady (Short blonde hair) in Beths Boutiques helped us alot.
Rooms are clean and have lots of space, this time are room was facing the car park but didnt here anything.
The Food is to die for, Breakfast you have a menu option or buffet. We chose the buffet and there is loads to chose from and you can go up for more if you want for $18, which i think is fair for the amount of stuff you can get.
Dinner was amazing too, definitely leave the restuarant happy.
Beths Boutiques is a lovely store where you can book tickets for parks and other tourist attractions. Very helpful.
There is dry cleaning or diy laundrette

Room Tip: There is a motorway/highway behind the hotel, i had a room facing this the first time i stayed here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for choosing us twice! We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to continuing to do so on every visit to our hotel. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a really nice place to stay!
We stayed here for a total of 7 nights. there is a complementary shuttle to universal studios and the universal city subway which takes you to downtown Hollywood.
We stayed in a first floor room and it was a little dark in the room during the day and there is no fridge or microwave unless you ask then its delivered to your room for a daily fee.
The room size was average bit we did have a room with 2 queen beds. Hi speed Internet is complementary and we received complementary drinks to their restaurant Tula's which is a a really nice restaurant.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is so well maintained and everything seemed in the right place and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timaay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us for your trip to Hollywood. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide and are thrilled to hear we delivered on our promise. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing