We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is a really good hotel. Check-in was pretty smooth, the staff was very friendly, they provide a free shuttle ride to Universal Studios, and there's a small restaurant in the hotel. Most of the staff were Filipino, so my dad and my grandmother didn't have any problems communicating. There's a small fireplace in the lobby which is really neat especially if you plan on catching up with your reading.

The rooms were pretty small though, one of the elevators wasn't working which wasn't really a big deal for us since we stayed at the first floor and there wasn't anything near the hotel besides a small restaurant called Tula's. There's not much negative things to say about this place for it's one of the best places I've been in. I really suggest staying here, especially if you're having problems going around.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business and apologize for one of our elevators being down. Each of our elevators is going through a modernization program which changes all the mechanical aspects of the elevator in an effort for us to maximize guest safety. We look forward to your next trip to the Universal Studios Hollywood area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    1,045
    290
    100
    47
See reviews for
1,089
970
128
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guaymas, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I just stayed in one of the Beverly Garlard's new remodeled suites for a week and was quite impressed. The living area is roomy with comfortable couches to lounge on and watch TV. The high-speed internet was very reliable which is most important to me as a business traveler. The bed was very comfortable and the newly installed soundproof windows kept the room very quiet, even though it was facing the 101 freeway. I never heard the traffic! The staff was very friendly too. I highly recommend this hotel. It was conveniently located near enough to downtown to make it easy to get to but in North Hollywood enough to make it quaint.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: Thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland for your accommodation needs while traveling to Los Angeles. We really appreciate your business and are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I am very glad to hear your comments about our high speed internet as we have just upgraded our service to provide more bandwidth to our guests to ensure it meets their needs. Hope to see you back at the BG soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Wow! After getting through the busy LA traffic, we arrived at the Beverly Garland and immediately relaxed and felt at home. The staff is so friendly and the property has a relaxed, old-Hollywood feel. No stuffy high rise feel here - just an expansive property that includes a pool, restaurant, hip bar, exercise room and even a guest laundry! Everywhere we looked, people were relaxed and enjoying their experience. I also loved that the parking was right on property with plenty of safe, wide spaces. The location is so convenient to all the major LA touristy things. This is the second time we have been at the Beverly Garland and we continue to appreciate the effort of the staff in making our stay superb! We highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: Thanks for choosing us for your second trip to the Los Angeles and we are happy that we are becoming your home away from home. Our staff is dedicated in making our guests stay enjoyable and I know everyone is happy to know they succeeded in providing you an exceptional experience. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Well, we arrived here after much angst from the airlines (but that'll be in anuver story). This hotel could not have been more helpful and accommodating if they tried.
The room was more than adequate, family friendly, excellent information/service, professional staff, high standards without being too posh!
The restaurant, TULA'S had excellent staff, excellent service, friendly and warm atmosphere and the food was lovely.
It absolutely lives up to its Award for Business Excellence dated July 2011. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone (if u dont like it, its YOUR OWN PROBLEM).
I would certainly recommend and use this hotel should we come here again.
Just as a footnote: we have travelled to LA on 3 other occasions, so we are not new to this sort of service.
Lovely Pool, Hot Tub, Spa & Excellent Gym

ps. the beds and pillows are absolutely AWSOME, never slept sooooo well!!!


A BIG THANKYOU, to all the staff at BEVERLEY GARDENS hotel, LA.

WELL DONE!! and we will return.

xxxx SHARON & GARY - Perth, Western Australia 11th December 2011.

Room Tip: Best rooms are opposite pool, Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coops51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: Thanks for such a great review…we really appreciate you letting us know of your experience. I am so sorry to hear about your flight, air travel can be a challenge but the most important thing is that you made it to LA and home safely. I know Tula’s staff will be delighted to hear your comments because they have re-launched the restaurant this past summer and have all worked very hard to create an atmosphere for our guests to enjoy. Can’t wait for your 4th trip to LA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed for a week at the this gem of a hotel on my first visit to Los Angeles. I was very happy with my stay. It was a great base of operations for sightseeing.

It really does look like an oasis stuck between the freeways and concrete of busy Los Angeles which is fantastic after navigating 405 traffic from LAX. Loved the trees, topiary and other nicely landscaped plants. The pool was lovely with its fireplace and comfy seating. The location is great very close to major roadways and a short shuttle ride to the Universal Studios metro. Just remember to tell the driver you'd like the metro. The shuttle goes back and forth from the hotel to Universal Studios but it will stop at the metro in between if you need it. The trick is to remember to call the hotel when you come back on the metro because the shuttle won't stop there automatically. It also appears that the shuttle won't pick you up from the metro unless its near the time it leaves on its normal cycle. So make sure to bring the schedule with you.

I did have a rental car which is convenient in the sprawling mega city, but if i didn't have one it would have been easy to use the metro to get in and out of the city. The parking rate isn't too steep and if you are a priority club member you get a discount. I ate at Tula's restaurant twice during my stay. It was clean, had a great selection of dishes and very tasty. The waitstaff was a bit short staffed during my stay and it did take a while for them to notice you, however once they did they were very friendly.

The rooms were very nice and large. I was on the 3rd floor in Portola. I didn't realize that the hotel is actually made up of two buildings with rooms behind a main building with a business center, front desk, lounge. There are several other structures on campus as well. The Ballroom, the theater, the pool and sauna and the restaurant, and tennis courts. It was a charming, old school set up that you don't see much with the mega hotels having everything in one massive structure. The one downside to the multiple buildings is it takes you a bit longer to get your key cards fixed if they deactivate during your stay. You actually park your car near your building so if the key doesn't work thanks to being too close to your cell phone you have a short walk back to the main building. Not a major problem and the hotel does have lots of ramps and well lit walkways. The room decoration was a bit Spartan but it was clean and everything worked and I plenty of space. It would have been big for a family of 4 as well. The one thing that does need upgrading are the bathrooms. Not sure if it was just my building. The bathroom was very clean just some of the fixtures appeared to date back to the1950s and were a bit tricky to turn on first go around. The beds were very comfortable and they give you the choice of hard or soft pillows which is always nice. The walls are not soundproof so I did have a few nights listening to the neighbors TV. But I did not here much traffic noise which was a great surprise.

The Beverly Garland was a great base of operations if you are sightseeing. It was peaceful, clean and had a great location. I would definitely suggest friends and family stay there if they find themselves in the city of angels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you choosing to stay with us for your first trip to Los Angeles. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your trip and we really appreciate you telling us about your experience. I equally appreciate your comments about the Metro. We are always happy to accommodate anyone’s request about going to the Metro station but we do not have a regularly scheduled trip for drop off or pick up. However, after receiving your comments, we are going to look at how we can incorporate specific times where our shuttle will stop by the metro to/from their trip from Universal Studios Hollywood to make it more convenient for any guest who desires to explore Los Angeles via the Metro as the Metro Station is becoming more and more popular. We re-launched Tula’s Restaurant this past summer and the staff have been hard at work with improving menu selections and guest experience, I know the Tula’s team thank you for dining with them. We apologize for an extended wait time at the restaurant to be acknowledged, but I assure you, we are eagerly addressing these concerns. Change is not easy as we completely revamped everything about Tula’s, but we are dedicated to get it perfect. We also appreciate your comments about our guestrooms. Each year, the hotel embarks on a number of renovation projects targeted to enhance guest experience and we love hearing from you as we are currently working on another phase of our continuous improvements. We look forward to your next visit to LA and wish you and your family a Happy Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Hotel provides a free shuttle to Universal Studios which worked great for us since we were not driving. Hotel is clean and has a great restaurant which went out their way to cater to us (they stayed open even after the closing time as we checked it late and hadn't had dinner yet). The bar is just lovely with good music. Overall a good hotel but a littlle pricey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: Thanks for choosing us during your recent trip to Los Angeles. I am so happy to hear the restaurant staff was able to take care of your needs past their closing time. We have a great team at Tula’s and I know they are delighted to have been recognized for their efforts. Wishing you a joyous holiday season and we hope you return to the BG in your future travels to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Loved the easy style of the Beverly Garland Hotel! Close to Bob Hope airport, wonderful bar and really good restaurant on site! The Christmas decorations were beautiful, the pool, spa and sauna are secluded in a central location with an outdoor fireplace and comfy couches to boot! Highly recommend this hotel to everyone - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Management Response: We are thankful for you choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs while traveling to Los Angeles. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our Christmas decorations; our design team is thrilled to hear your comments about the décor. Hope you have an opportunity to visit us during our warmer weather months, nothing like a great glass of wine sitting under the stars next to the pool fireplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,503 reviews
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#109 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,596 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Property: The Garland
Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing