We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard and the attitude is right”
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Garland
Ranked #13 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2011

3 nights here in april in a kids suite. Soemwhat dissapointed in the suite as the kids area was simply a partition around 7 feet high. Nonetheless the room was big and clean and suited our needs.
Arrival and checkin relatively smooth however receptionist missed that parking was included which was simply careless.
Very comfortable bed but fierce aircon sitiuated right next to it.
Following morning found a large number of dead and dying flies in the bathroom...very unpleasent but hotel took t seriously and dealt with it quickly. They offered and upgrade which we declined as it was a a kids suite and in any event we did not have time to repack and unpack.
Breakfast was at alst a buffett in a Holiday inn and worked well but again the rubbish kids menu that is standard fayre in HI was given to the kids..
Rate included tour of Hollywood but we had to pay extra for the two kids. Wished we had not as the tour was terrible with a driver who simply talked about anything and nothing for over 5 hours.
Day 2 breakfast was a disaster. Hotel had closed restaraunt but did not tell us. A conference room was used and at 8.30 it was chaotic. The staff were inundated with guests, there was no food and no plates or anything else for that matter. By 8.50 managers arrived and started clearing tables and finally food arrived. I cannot begin to tell you how bad it was.

Had to be on 9.30am bus to Universal so cut breakfast short and waited for bus. It arrived 9.45 and we were left behind with all seats taken by those with sharp elbows and a desire to push. As a result I complained to the duty manager in private but very firmly and left him in no doubt of how I felt. Given I was paying close to $400 a night I expected and required far better than this. It was left that the hotel should make somesort of gesture to make up for flies breakfast and buses.
Great day at Universal and we left the next morning following an uneventful breakfast.
Noted that the bill had been adjusted by $200 which I thought generous and refelcetd that the hotel is trying and takes things seriously.
In all great location for universal, comfortable beds but watch out for aircon.
Would stay again

Room Tip: book kids suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 3,124 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very much enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the Beverly Garland and thought the rooms and food were great value for money. Have to mention the exceptional service on our last morning when we discovered that our rental van had a flat battery.We were somewhat stressed with driving in LA and still jetlagged, and the staff were fantastic in trying to help us with the rental company. This resulted in Deone (on his first day on the job) accompanying us to the nearest rental office, which was an immense help - thank you so much, Deone and Tony!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tallymacfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Clean, Quiet, but not able to walk anywhere of interest. No Restautants nearby,other than in house. No shopping Centres.Only 15 mins by Coursty Bus to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junee_ferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights last September. I forgot to leave a review, so here it is.
As a Brit without the courage to rent a car in LA, I wanted to find somewhere fairly close to Universal Studios which didn't cost the earth. This place seemed to fit the bill.
We absolutely loved staying here. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and the gym, although not very big, was good enough for us.
The restaurant at the side of the hotel was excellent. The food was good and the staff lovely.
As we never had a car, we were happy to find a supermarket, drug store and a Starbucks within walking distance.
If visiting LA again, we would gladly stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gram4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was our 1st trip to LA & will definitely stay here again on my next trip back to the Burbank area. The staff at the hotel was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious, and very quiet. The courtyard and pool area was relaxing and had many beautiful fountains. The restaurant had a great menu, was reasonably priced and the staff was so friendly. They have a computer room where I was able to print out our boarding passes for our trip home. It is in a great location easy to get to and just blocks from Universal if you plan on going there. The only downfall I would say it has is that you have to pay $14 a day for parking but if you are a Holiday Inn Priority Club Member (which I am) it is $11.....so sign up for Priority Club it's FREE......everywhere in LA you pay for parking. I give it a 5 Star Rating.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illinois60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at this property on March 23, 2011 and just wanted to make note of a special team member. We were so impressed by the speed and efficiency of one of the bussing staff – Ruffino – we asked a dining room team member for his name.
This gentleman was literally sweating from his efforts. He was an incredible site to behold, and seems genuinely devoted to his position.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life, the room was very dated didnt appear very clean, people were allowed to smoke on the outside tables so all the cigarette smoke blew up onto your balcony and you could even smell it coming through the air vents.

They were testing the fire alarms for 2 days running and on one of the days the alarm went off CONSTANTLY for 10 hours so you basically had to leave the hotel.

The staff behind the reception desk were very very RUDE especially the manager Carlos

However the staff that worked in the restaurant were wonderful Also all the people that help book the day trips were great too

Great location close to studio city, and hollywood bollavard

Overall 2/10 what a horrible hotel I wouldnt recommend it to my worst enemy

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unkn0wn11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#131 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,680 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,797 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#88 of 353 in Los Angeles
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602-3318 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $217 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing