We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“might stay here again, might not”
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mikado Hotel
Ranked #145 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“might stay here again, might not”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I’ll have to say the service here was excellent. The people behind the desk were pleasant and very accommodating. The rooms, however, were another thing. There must not be any insulation between the ceiling and the floor above because you can hear everything. If someone walks across the floor, it is extremely loud, and if someone runs....it sounds like an earthquake! The rooms near the pool are extremely noisy, so I recommend staying in the garden section. They were very nice about moving us once we realized we would never get any rest in our first room. The rooms were average Best Western rooms (they only have rooms with two doubles or one queen) and the location is good; we did not hear traffic noise as others have mentioned. The wireless internet was spotty at best and actually had to sit in the lobby to get service a couple times. Overall, if we had to stay there again we would, but we've stayed in much better.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank budaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    85
    62
    24
    16
See reviews for
93
60
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is a nicely kept up property. The japenese garden theme is done nicely. There is even a bridge over water with goldfish and a couple of small KOI in it. It is also nicely landscaped. The pool was sparkling and big. It also was 11 feet deep in the deep end. Diving possible! The breakfast was great. They have a Japanese restaurant on site which is very high end and expensive so we did not eat there. However, in the morning they use the same restaurant to serve a complimentary hot buffet breakfast complete with potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon, turkey sausage, waffles not to mention all the usual continental breakfast items like toast, cereal, fruit and pastries. Definitely a nice place to eat breakfast with big, oversized leather booths and tablecloths. There is also a nice patio you can eat on.

The room was clean but cramped feeling in the closet and bathroom area. The bathroom was definitely the worst aspect of the room. The sink is sandwiched between the toilet and the bathtub/shower. There is a tiny counter area around the sink and an 8" or so strip of counter behind the toilet. If you have something up there and it falls, guess where it falls into? If you are on the toilet and someone tries to open the door, you get bumped by the door completely. There is no room to spare in this bathroom. And it is a one at a time bathroom as no one can use the sink without interrupting someone showering or on the toilet.

I thought there was only 2 towels so I went and got two more from the pleasant desk clerk. Then, while taking a shower, I noticed the towel rack in the shower at the end of the bathtub way up high that had the two missing towels on it. I will have to say, though, that the towels are very thick and BIG. However, they do not have "pool towels" so you have to use the same ones.

The plumbing gets a "D" in this property. The shower head's adjustment was broken so you only had a whimpy stream of water. Also you could not have the water all the way in the shower so water was also coming out of the bathtub spigot at the same time because that pull out knob would not pull out all the way. Also the sink knobs turn in different directions so it makes it confusing to turn the water on and off. The plumbing is loud. We were watching TV and heard a weird high pitched sound. We thought it was the TV but if turns out it was the sound of the pipes through the wall as someone else in another room was probably showering.

The beds are full (double sized) which made it a bit tight for 4 people (2 adults and two children) The TV was in a beautiful Armoire and the room had a microwave and fridge.
The freeway is right in back of the hotel. We were in an inside facing room so the noise was not too bad but it must be horrible to be on the backside by the freeway though.

Since the room was clean, the staff was professional , the breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were sparkling, this is an acceptable place to stay. However, it is not without its flaws but I really don't think we could have done much better in the area. We once stayed at the Universal Sheraton and that place was not impressive either at double the price of this one.

Whereas some aspects of this hotel rate at an A+, others are about a D- so this place gets about a "C" from me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akidcagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were stuck at this motel for 3 days. Unfortunately we had no choice as we had to be within walking distance of family in North Hollywood (long story). The postion was good for us in that respect. However the motel is situated between a busy road and the Ventura Freeway, so the position should never be good for anyone else! Thankfully the constant traffic noise was drowned out by the noisy airconditioner.

This place really needs to be stripped down & completely renovated. The adjoining rooms we had on the ground floor overlooked the nice pool which in turn was overlooked by the carpark and the road (NO privacy whatsoever). The rooms each had 2 double beds which were actually very comfortable. The sheets & towels were clean and replaced daily. The maids did a good job with the limited facilities. Last decorated in the 1960's when dark decor and smoking was fashionable, the supposedly non-smoking rooms stunk and one room had permanently wet carpet outside the bathroom door. All our clothes had to be washed when we finally left this place - so bad was the revolting smokey & damp smell.

We arrived early after a 14 hour flight from Australia. The rooms weren't ready yet so the Manager kindly invited us to have breakfast while we waited. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was totally inedible. I spat out the rubbery waffle, the hot food looked as if it had been there for weeks. We avoided any further breakfast there.

The Manager was not surprised when we complained about the smell and the wet carpet. He claimed he was unable to move us (perhaps there was nowhere better??) but did reduce the quoted rate which was only fair. A couple of good things - there was a fridge, microwave & coffee maker in the room (necessary for making our own edible breakfast!) and the wireless internet was efficient and free.

Best Western should be ashamed of this place. It MUST be closed for a complete renovation immediately. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Was in LA area shooting for a book project and traveling with my two work associates(assistant and stylist). Booked into the Best Western Mikado because we had a few days of shooting on location very close to this motel in Studio City. The motel was clean and the staff friendly, not a great place but not a bad place but seemed a good value for the room charge.

The third day we arrived back from shooting probably at 6pm or so and there were 5 police cars parked both in the lot and on the Riverside Drive. We slowly pulled into the small parking lot past the police who were in the process of handcuffing a few guys and a woman.

Went to the front desk where nearby was a man sitting down and a police officer. I asked the front desk person what was up with the police action and he did not offer any info but the guy sitting heard my question and said he had come here for a "casual encounter" with a woman he contacted online thru Craig's List and once in the room was jumped by 4 men.

We checked out immediately and there was no refund offered. Went to the Courtyard by Marriott in Pasadena.

Guess the caution I would offer is that any "motel" in or near the San Fernando Valley --or anywhere for that matter--might be less secure than a hotel where guests have to walk thru the front lobby to get to their room.

The Courtyard was a better value---and for just $20 more a night per room--and it offered a better sense of security.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is convenient to family who live nearby. The rooms are comfortable, with good bedding, microwave, table and chairs. Bathrooms a little small but water pressure is good and hot water abundant. One of the nicest features of the hotel is that breakfast at the nearby Mikado Restaurant is included in the room price, and it's a good breakfast. Scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, various breads, oranges and apples, really excellent bacon, dry cereals, juices, plenty of coffee. And just down the street, almost within walking distance, is Hugo's, a great place for breakfast or lunch, with many healthy organic choices.
The pool is clean, the rooms are quiet. Prices seem quite reasonable especially since breakfast is included. There's a PC in the lobby that's free for guests, although I believe the rooms have WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degustibusnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2006

Not a BAD hotel. The rooms were very basic. I loved the dual shower heads but hated the fact they were at my chest. Dinner and breakfast at Mikado were very nice. The people in the restaurant were very nice! Overall, I would stay there again but not for over $100 a night.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Stayed at the Mikado Best Western hotel, had a very nice stay. Breakfast was good and the staff was very nice. We were in the middle of everything...

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#95 of 351 in Los Angeles
170 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#49 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,085 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#115 of 351 in Los Angeles
42 reviews
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#97 of 351 in Los Angeles
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Property: Mikado Hotel
Address: 12600 Riverside Dr, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607-3411 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing