We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mikado Hotel
Ranked #140 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

we are a family of 5 and stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during August 2012. the location of the hotel for families that are mainly looking for the northern LA attractions (Hollywood, Universal, SixFlags, Santa Monica) is great. you don't get stuck in traffic jams. however the hotel is right on the freeway so it means if you are noise-sensitive just don't go there. for us it wasn't a problem. rooms are clean and well maintained.
our biggest disappointment was breakfast that many other reviews praised. first of all its very basic. second, it doesn't matter at what time we got in, half of the things were missing. from cups and glasses, silverware, and all the possible types of food. seriously annoying.

all in all, you get a good value for your money

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing Riverside st. that way you get a bit less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    60
    22
    15
See reviews for
87
56
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel looks great on the picture but for the price you pay you would expect a better room. The parking spaces which are in the bank, are cramped I was afraid i would get my car door hit. The room feels tiny and we got the feeling of the crawlies; it feels more like a filthy motel than the nice hotel they make it to be. (bring your own portable DVD player.) I left a day early cause I couldn't take it anymore. I was willing to pay for both days as I knew they would. They and charged me $100 deposit upfront which remained in my bank for 7 days! They serve a free breakfast in their restaurant next door which is okay if you like cold, half cooked eggs, mushy potatoes, (not hash browns) and warm orange and apple juice. The neighborhood is NOT what you would think, but If you need a couple of good liquor stores nearby you're in luck.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and 12 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. The lobby is clean and inviting. The pool area and courtyard are somewhat dated but functional and adequate. Our double room was quite large with 2 double beds, flat screen, fridge, micro. Room was clean with plenty of towels. We ate dinner in their Japanese restaurant and enjoyed the meal and friendly service. The comp breakfast was quite nice with hot items, as well as the regular high carb fare. We will stay here again when visiting family in SoCal.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpauly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel tries hard and is very clean. They need to think about some updating and renovations as its a little worn. The rooms are comfortable and the food in the Japanese restaurant is very good. Good location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area as there areoften late swimmers making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

very average, no frills, basic accommodation. room amenities are considered vintage (old) location: near universal studios but very far from downtown LA. bfast: so-so... nothing special really. the only consolation: wonderful and accommodating staffs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recidivist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

So it was very mixed experience.
We had some trouble getting a crib for our kiddo on check in, but was told it would be there the next day. Next day it was not there and since we called after 6 we were told it would not be available that night either. But in the morning the person on desk was helpful and got it taken care of and followed up with us.
Our tub drain was broken and was fixed right away.

The room, the furniture was worn some of the finish was worn off the desk. The carpet was quite dirty, something I'd not be too bothered with alone but with a kiddo it was kinda icky.

And again on the positive side, the included breakfast was very good.

Right off a 4 lane highway and a busy road there is a fair bit of traffic noise.

The long and short is it was very average experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank straav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Overall the hotel was nice. I was attending an event at the Hollywood Bowl and it was a good location to take a 10min cab ride over. Has asian themed courtyard/interior. Room was decent-nothing great ,door slamming and noise from street was a bit annoying. Front desk staff was nice and very helpful which made up for other areas. Complimentary breakfast was ok, but nothing to get excited over. Hotel is on busy street and has stores, food places and a gas station close by..
flat screen tv in room with good choices, fridge, and microwave. Not bad for price.
Mnmgt should take a look at bedding more often as well.

Room Tip: find some thing on top floor away from street-less noise maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasunsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#109 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#86 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#50 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
BEST WESTERN Burbank Airport Inn
#87 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Property: Mikado Hotel
Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing