We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Asian-inspired Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikado Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mikado Hotel
Ranked #146 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Asian-inspired Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I decided to choose BW Mikado because of a previous stay that was quite pleasant. Again, the hotel proved it was worth staying at again. Check in was prompt. The gentleman at the front counter anticipated my arrival and the keys/room were ready. The lobby was classy - it has a grand piano! Upon arriving at the room, I noticed how clean and modern it looked. As always, the room was comfortable.

Internet connection was fast, enjoyed the private balcony, and the view from the room. There's a Japanese garden in the middle of the hotel. The red bridge stood out. The hotel also offered free continental breakfast located at the restaurant next door.

I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
88
57
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I've been to this hotel for years and this last time I stayed was a pleasant surprise. Same pleasant staff, but brand new rooms with new furniture, new TVs, and upgraded bathrooms. Bathrooms are still on the smaller side, but they're at least new. It could use a fitness room, but it has a swimming pool and whirl pool. But, you can't go wrong with having a sushi bar/lounge in the hotel and not to mention full complementary breakfast in the mornings. Still the best value in the Studio City area. Oh, and it's still got the Japanese bonzai garden with the red bridge over the pond with koi and goldfish.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaspianSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

The carpet is filthy and grimy, the rooms are so so old and they smell horrible, and to make it even worse, the man at the front desk is extremely rude and unhelpful. They have these tiny, lumpy pillows. My husband called asking for an extra pillow and the man at reception told him they don't have any and he should roll up a blanket and use that. Most of the hotel was empty so they could easily of gotton one from an empty room! Don't ever stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Googie_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

The Best Western Mikado was perfect for us. Besides the fact it that was a five minute walk to our son's apartment (and how often do you get that lucky in LA), we found the hotel to be clean and well kept and the front desk staff to be helpful even if a bit reserved. Keeping in mind that we are talking about a mid-range hotel chain and not the Ritz, our room spacious and internet access was free even in the rooms (and I can't say that about the convention hotel we stayed in for the rest of our stay). The hotel breakfast buffet was hot and hearty and we felt comfortable and safe in the neighborhood. Provided my son is still living in the neighborhood on our next visit, we will stay here again; it was just right for us.

All the good stuff said, I must warn you that if you can't deal with street/city noise, this hotel is not for you. It is not a quiet location with the 101 freeway right out the back door and a major through-street out the front. While it didn't bother us, there are those for whom it is an issue.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrina651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

I’ll have to say the service here was excellent. The people behind the desk were pleasant and very accommodating. The rooms, however, were another thing. There must not be any insulation between the ceiling and the floor above because you can hear everything. If someone walks across the floor, it is extremely loud, and if someone runs....it sounds like an earthquake! The rooms near the pool are extremely noisy, so I recommend staying in the garden section. They were very nice about moving us once we realized we would never get any rest in our first room. The rooms were average Best Western rooms (they only have rooms with two doubles or one queen) and the location is good; we did not hear traffic noise as others have mentioned. The wireless internet was spotty at best and actually had to sit in the lobby to get service a couple times. Overall, if we had to stay there again we would, but we've stayed in much better.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank budaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is a nicely kept up property. The japenese garden theme is done nicely. There is even a bridge over water with goldfish and a couple of small KOI in it. It is also nicely landscaped. The pool was sparkling and big. It also was 11 feet deep in the deep end. Diving possible! The breakfast was great. They have a Japanese restaurant on site which is very high end and expensive so we did not eat there. However, in the morning they use the same restaurant to serve a complimentary hot buffet breakfast complete with potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon, turkey sausage, waffles not to mention all the usual continental breakfast items like toast, cereal, fruit and pastries. Definitely a nice place to eat breakfast with big, oversized leather booths and tablecloths. There is also a nice patio you can eat on.

The room was clean but cramped feeling in the closet and bathroom area. The bathroom was definitely the worst aspect of the room. The sink is sandwiched between the toilet and the bathtub/shower. There is a tiny counter area around the sink and an 8" or so strip of counter behind the toilet. If you have something up there and it falls, guess where it falls into? If you are on the toilet and someone tries to open the door, you get bumped by the door completely. There is no room to spare in this bathroom. And it is a one at a time bathroom as no one can use the sink without interrupting someone showering or on the toilet.

I thought there was only 2 towels so I went and got two more from the pleasant desk clerk. Then, while taking a shower, I noticed the towel rack in the shower at the end of the bathtub way up high that had the two missing towels on it. I will have to say, though, that the towels are very thick and BIG. However, they do not have "pool towels" so you have to use the same ones.

The plumbing gets a "D" in this property. The shower head's adjustment was broken so you only had a whimpy stream of water. Also you could not have the water all the way in the shower so water was also coming out of the bathtub spigot at the same time because that pull out knob would not pull out all the way. Also the sink knobs turn in different directions so it makes it confusing to turn the water on and off. The plumbing is loud. We were watching TV and heard a weird high pitched sound. We thought it was the TV but if turns out it was the sound of the pipes through the wall as someone else in another room was probably showering.

The beds are full (double sized) which made it a bit tight for 4 people (2 adults and two children) The TV was in a beautiful Armoire and the room had a microwave and fridge.
The freeway is right in back of the hotel. We were in an inside facing room so the noise was not too bad but it must be horrible to be on the backside by the freeway though.

Since the room was clean, the staff was professional , the breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub were sparkling, this is an acceptable place to stay. However, it is not without its flaws but I really don't think we could have done much better in the area. We once stayed at the Universal Sheraton and that place was not impressive either at double the price of this one.

Whereas some aspects of this hotel rate at an A+, others are about a D- so this place gets about a "C" from me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akidcagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We were stuck at this motel for 3 days. Unfortunately we had no choice as we had to be within walking distance of family in North Hollywood (long story). The postion was good for us in that respect. However the motel is situated between a busy road and the Ventura Freeway, so the position should never be good for anyone else! Thankfully the constant traffic noise was drowned out by the noisy airconditioner.

This place really needs to be stripped down & completely renovated. The adjoining rooms we had on the ground floor overlooked the nice pool which in turn was overlooked by the carpark and the road (NO privacy whatsoever). The rooms each had 2 double beds which were actually very comfortable. The sheets & towels were clean and replaced daily. The maids did a good job with the limited facilities. Last decorated in the 1960's when dark decor and smoking was fashionable, the supposedly non-smoking rooms stunk and one room had permanently wet carpet outside the bathroom door. All our clothes had to be washed when we finally left this place - so bad was the revolting smokey & damp smell.

We arrived early after a 14 hour flight from Australia. The rooms weren't ready yet so the Manager kindly invited us to have breakfast while we waited. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was totally inedible. I spat out the rubbery waffle, the hot food looked as if it had been there for weeks. We avoided any further breakfast there.

The Manager was not surprised when we complained about the smell and the wet carpet. He claimed he was unable to move us (perhaps there was nowhere better??) but did reduce the quoted rate which was only fair. A couple of good things - there was a fridge, microwave & coffee maker in the room (necessary for making our own edible breakfast!) and the wireless internet was efficient and free.

Best Western should be ashamed of this place. It MUST be closed for a complete renovation immediately. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#108 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carriage Inn
#56 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
#90 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
BEST WESTERN Burbank Airport Inn
#91 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Property: Mikado Hotel
Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing