We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, superb ambience, great service”
Review of The Larchmont

The Larchmont
Ranked #666 of 10,086 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Lucerne
Description: The Larchmont is redefining the idea of the classic American Bistro. Located in a charming two story craftsman-style home, The Larchmont offers delicious, farm to table, Californian cuisine in a welcoming setting, and friendly service. The menu is creatively built around the variety of American cuisines that bring cultures together with seasonally selected ingredients passionately prepared. The wine list offers selections from emerging wine regions and from boutique wineries in California and elsewhere around the world. The Larchmont is a place where you will always be greeted with a smile and know that you are in store for a great meal that will surprise you. It's the perfect place for a business lunch, special celebration, or a dinner gathering with friends or family. Welcome, we look forward to having you.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, superb ambience, great service”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our saughter's 26th birthday. Our waiter Collin was terrific. We started with the mussels, kale salad and Brussels sprouts - all we're simple and uniquely tasty. For main course my wife and I shared a special, a whole roasted Bronzino which was outrageously good, one of my daughters had the chicken and another the steak. Both were very pleased. The desserts were also very good though not as memorable as the rest of the meal. Pricey and well worth it for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy and Homey”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a converted Craftsman style home and it feels like you are snug in someones home. The service was good and the brussel sprouts were amazing! We even tried to get the Chefs recipe! The kale salad was also wonderful. Great area where mostly locals hang out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrockHolidaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Disappointed in menu change”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a favorite lunch spot when visiting L.A., but things have changed. First, no one was in there -- it had always been packed at lunchtime before. The menu has changed and my favorites are gone and it took a long time to find something that appealed to me. The food and service are still good, but the prices are much too high for what we got.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua, hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like being invited to someones's home”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great restaurant in a large house on Melrose, mid-Wilshire...we ate on the sheltered , heated porch, cozy and pleasant. The food is American with that unique California twist to each dish. The absolute tenderest, tastiest short-ribs, amazingly fresh salads and a flourless chocolate cake that made me want to pick the plate up and lick it. The plus was that the waitress was friendly to the right degree and knew the menu and how to explain the dishes - not just read off a list of memorized ingredients. Really made for a memorable meal. Good drinks, great food.....good value!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fullmoonrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to dine in Hollywood”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

In a restored Craftman house on Melrose, is a jewel of a restaurant at the edge of the Larchmont district. We have recently "discovered" this area of Hollywood and have returned several times to experience its cuisine. We have tried the Larchmont Grill several times over the last month and can say each experience has "blown our socks off". They make a "Larchmont Burger" with Applewood smoked bacon and sweet onion marmalade on a rich brioche bun, that is simply the best burger out there. And as for the unusual treat, try their Mac & Cheese. We were skeptical about this with Velveeta and Gruyere mixed into traditional cheeses - but it is unbelievably good. Kudos to the Chef on this Idea!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnSimsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larchmont also viewed

 

Been to The Larchmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing