We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Ranked #102 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge in a day room before we flew home to Australia. It was the second time we had stayed and it is so convenient. The decor and rooms may be dated but the staff are friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. It was great to be able to shower and relax before our long flight. If your looking for opulence etc don't go here but if you want good, clean, cheap accommodation close to the airport this is a great hotel. Subway and Maccas are close by.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back but noise from road is not bad if you keep the doors and windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megzi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review. It is great to receive a review from a guest who recognizes our niche in the hotel accommodation options at the airport. Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff are our keys to success. Denny's 24 hr. Restaurant which adjoins the hotel is popular with our guets. Other amenities include free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast.
The architectural style of the hotel is a fifties motor inn with all the modern updates..
I always like to mention that if you are arriving by plane, you must call the hotel for a shuttle. Due to the number of rooms in the hotel, we are authorized for two shuttles, Therefore, we do not continuously circle the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My recent stay in December of 2012 was made very pleasant, Thanks to the travel Lodge at LAX, the staff were very proffesional as well as friendly, the hotel & garden is very well maintaint for it's age. The shuttle service was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noithreerivers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for submitting your very positive review. The goal of the management and staff is to make everyone's stay comfortable and relaxing while maintaining a moderate room rate with free services that only we offer---parking, Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and newspaper. The ratings are generally always a 3, 4, or 5. We are very pleased when a guest takes their time to express their satisfaction with their Travelodge lodging experience.

As a person reading reviews...what seems to stand out with a negative review? The score is based on one or two items --a noise, difficulty in locating room, neighborhood, or a room freshener. If cleanliness, linens, towels, furniture, 32 in flat screen television, mattresses, staff assistance were an issue they would have definitely been mentioned.. Regrettably one or two items for some guests negates their whole experience.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Older property with nice updates. I must admit, my husband was very skeptical, but this is nice find. The rooms are small, humble, older but nicely appointed for the price. A lovely pool and an ok breakfast. If you want a big fancy hotel, there are many on this street but this has history. Late greats like Dale and Roy Rogers were regulars here. Super convenient to freeways and airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review and describing the type of traveler who would enjoy their stay with us. The area is obviously one in which there is a lot of perpetual movement. The benefit is that you are within 3 minutes of the airport and 3 major freeways. The airport is not on the tourist maps; however, within 10 to 45 minutes you can reach every notable Los Angeles area popular tourist sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The property of the hotel is a bit confusing. You definitely need a map to find your room, especially if it is in the back 40. I could hear people walking outside and those that booked in late, like me, had a hard time being quiet. There was no wifi in the room, only a plug-in internet connection. Not so good for my MacBook Air and iPad and iPhone. The room was pleasant, but there was a bright light outside my window that took some time to get used to. You definitely have to be early to catch the shuttle to the airport too. As far as value for your money - you get what you pay for. Would I stay here again? Not sure.

Room Tip: Inexpensive for a quick "sleep-over" before your flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckyboyincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Regrettably there was a misunderstanding with the guest regarding Wi-Fi access. The hotel has free Wi-Fi--accessed by a password. There is also a plug-in receptacle that can be used for conference calling. There can be up to 135 guests in the hotel using the internet. The system was just updated to improve access speed.
Early shuttle...the airport shuttle departs on the hour and half hour 24 hrs. a day..between 6 and 10 a.m., there are two shuttles...same in the evening. The hotel requests that you are in the shuttle loading area 10 minutes prior to departure.
What you receive in return for your room rate is a clean and attractive accommodation as described by this reviewer...AND....free Wi-Fi; complimentary shuttle service; free continental breakfast (fruit and Danish available if you check-out before 6 a.m.) and free parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Good hotel, great location for airport we had a car with Alamo and they gave us transport back to the hotel after we dropped off the car, don't be tempted to walk back in the dark, lovely pool, staff ok, breakfast room small but food OK, Bar OK, but limited choice of food unless you like fast food. I'm a light sllper & slept very well better than expected.

Room Tip: We had room 172 right at the back of the hotel - room small and dark, bit dingy and smelly along co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review. The hotel does provide complimentary pick-up and drop-off service for the car rental sites. We recommend that our guests who may be renting a car first come to the hotel from the airport. They can be checked into their room; deposit their luggage and then have a shuttle driver take them to the car rental agency.
The hotel also provides shuttle service to area restaurants. Whatever food variety you prefer, there is a "neighborhood" restaurant that provides it. If you want a more gourmet meal in a exlusive setting, then the hotel drivers will take you to area hotels with their in house restaurants. Denny's 24 hr. Restaurant adjoins the hotel and is very popular with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had two rooms for an overnight. The shuttle came early and since we were not waiting for it (we got there 5 mins later at the time we said we would be there) it left and didnt bother to make another round or call and let us know. 1 hour later with two kids in the median at LAX it showed up with no apology. When we checked in and my husband asked for a luggage cart or something, the person merely pointed to where it was and continued hanging out. The room was not well marked with signs to find and there were no elevators to the second floor. No one helped or even offered even though there were at least ten employees that we passed. The room was gross and run down and the heater was incredibly noisy and did not work well. We had no desire to stay there so we inquired about where to eat.. The parking lot was torn up and there was not an easy access to the Denny's next door. We eventually decided to take the trolley to a beach area. While waiting for the trolley, some family members called to tell us that there were open rooms for a better price at the nicer hotels down the road. I called to see if they would allow us to leave and go to another hotel and they told me no that I could pay the day rate (for the whole hour we had been checked in). I told her how awful the conditions were and she said "well you didnt say that when you checked in" (how would I have known and where were we going to go???). I wrote a complaint to the corporate office and still have not heard a word in over two weeks since I did. I notice that the responses on here are full of excuses and nasty responses to those who don't like the hotel, so I don't expect any sort of kind response to this posting. Save yourself the headache - the others in the area are priced almost the same if you call and ask.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

In previous reviews where a guest has been disappointed about some aspect of their stay, we, the hotel staff, attempt to find solutions to an issue -- noisy A/C unit or room disinfectant odor. Then there are the negative reviews that result from a guest not having a specific request granted.
I was involved with the guest who submitted this review. The young couple did miss the shuttle which resulted in a 40 minutes airport wait...definitely not a pleasant experince. If you read other reviews, the shuttle service receives very positive comments. Over 34 trips a day with 200 guests transported in and out of the airport. Considerating the construction being done at the airport that disrupts daily the traffic flow, it is surprising that more guests do not experience long waits.
The family arrived...two children under 5. They had reserved the family room which is identified as being on the second floor...website and lobby sign state no elevator,. Yes, guests are referred to luggage carts just outside the door of the lobby. Ten staff on grounds -- remember we are a small hotel...there may be one or two grounds staff and the occasional housekeeper. Assistance is available yet probably with young parents who did not ask for assistance there did not appear to be a need.
After the guests were in the room for an hour, they came to the lobby and purchased bus tickets that would take them to Manhattan Beach. Approximately one hour later an outside call was received and a person who identified themselves with the name of the guest in the family room. They wanted to check out and transfer to another hotel. When an inquiry was made about thier luggage in the room, they said they would return later to get it. The "caller" was told they would be charged a day rate -- room would have to be serviced. The "caller" became very angry and used derogatory words--lobby is on video and voice recording taped. The "caller" hung up.,
Next day...an elderly lady came to the front desk and said that her room key had expired. When the key was checked, it was for the family room...no additional adult was registered in the room. As the conversation developed, the voice of the guest was recognized as that of the person who called the previous day...not the young couple who had occupied the room.
The family room recently was renovated...it includes a refrigerator and microwave. The room is popular with returning guests and stays constantly reserved.
The guests (or mysterious edlerly woman) was displeased because there would have been a day rate charge for the room if they were to check out on their return from the bus outing.
It is unfortunate when the review option is used as the vehicle to make negative comments that are solely the result of the hotel not being able to respond exactlly to a guest's request. The guest was given an option and chose not to accept it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

First let me say that you really GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!! This hotel was very inexpensive, however for my first stay at a Travelodge, this hotel was very disappointing to my family and I. The shower was enclosed and made me feel claustrophobic, the floor had so little padding that it felt as if I would fall through the floor at any given time, the room had a very unpleasant smell, the Heater/AC unit was extremely loud and rattled throughout the night, the sheets had an unpleasant smell and were very thin. Complimentary coffee maker was placed in the room but there were no water bottles in order to make the coffee!!! I did not expect a 5-star hotel, but at least it shouldn't have smelled or had a heater that barely worked in the middle of winter!!!! I will NEVER stay at another Travelodge and am very disappointed with these accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmyTraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

A guest's whose stay with us is less than satisfactory is always a disappointment to management and staff. AC units -- our normally 60 to 75 degree year around weather took an unusually hit from Mother Nature. With the temperature dipping into the high thrties and low forties, the heat pump AC units did encounter some issues. The hotel is currenlty engaged in a program in which the units are being upgraded.
Showers -- other guest reviews will comment on liking the large showers with good water pressure despite the Calfornia low flow water restrictions.
Sheets...towels all are equal to 3 and 4 star property requirements. The hotel uses the same linen service that the major Centurey Blvd., hotels utilize.
Bottle water--yes, the 3, 4, and 5 star properties provide bottle water in your room that you will need to purchase. I would say 99.9% of our guest use the tap water as they would in their home to make coffee.
Interesting...if you do not like a person in a famliy, then do you decide not to speak to any other family member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
La Quinta Inn & Suites LAX
#128 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,574 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#94 of 355 in Los Angeles
5,042 reviews
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#55 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl

Address: 5547 W Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-5913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $96 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing