We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Greek Food and Dog friendly”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alexis Greek Restaurant
Ranked #3,533 of 10,036 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food and Dog friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went for dinner with a friend who brought her dog. She chose this place because she knew that the dog would be ok if we ate outside on the patio. And it was. They brought a bowl of water for the dog when they brought our appetizers. The food is good, but a bit pricey. But it's now an institution in Northridge, I'd go back again, with friends so we can share food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a freat find in the Valley”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The grand entrance to Alexis belies the simplicity of the interior of the restaurant. We were greeted at the door by George who acknowledged our reservation and showed us to the round table closest to the kitchen. After taking our drink order we began perusing the menu and discovered to our surprise that not only was Greek dishes featured, but also Portuguese plates. This was very confusing, only to be cleared up later when we met one of the two owners, Fatima. The wife of Alexis, she is a native of Portugal and goes back yearly to learn cooking from the elders in the villages of her homeland. Later Alexis himself came to the table to introduce himself.

We started with the Saganaki which was the finest we have ever had. It was served flaming by out waiter and we couldn't wait to try it. We opted for the homemade pita bread, well worth the additional $1.95. The Kefalograviera cheese they use does not possess the saltiness that plagues most other versions of this dish. We were then served the creamiest hummus ever without the usual olive oil puddle sitting on top. This was a perfect dip for the warm pita bread.

We then moved into entrees. We had the rack of lamb which was cut into three two chop portions. It was flavorful with the fat cap left on to imbue the lamb with a silken mouth feel. We then had the Moussaka. I can only describe the complex dish as the richest moistest offering of this Greek staple that we ever tasted. The Greek potatoes that accompany it are a testament to the chef's attention to even this most mundane of the side dishes that accompany the Moussaka.
We then tried the Gyro. This was served with the same potatoes and vegetables. Alexis slices the gyro extremely thin and long; only using the most well done of cuts. the tzatziki sauce was a perfect accompaniment to the meat dish.

We then tried two desserts: Galatobureko and Baklava. Both were delicious and exceeded any expectations for typical desserts.

All in all it was a great experience and we cannot wait to go back for the Portuguese menu tasting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marklue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were looking for a unique place to go near the CSU Northridge campus. It's in a strip mall but there was nice greenery around the entrance so it really stood out. We really enjoyed the Greek food we ordered and will be back again to try the Portuguese offerings. We started with two appetizers of a melted cheese which they flamed in brandy and their "famous meatballs". We enjoyed both and were almost full before we even started our meals. We tried the gyros and a sampler platter and enjoyed absolutely everything. Really nice surprise in a strip mall!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We have been here for dinner with friends. And family. And today for another lunch. The waiter was helpful and complied with our requests. Our food was good Drinks were refilled. The place is clean.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant with stone in their food”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

If you want to waste your money go to this restaurant! Me and my girlfriend went to this restaurant since I love Greek foods. After we ordered our food we found a piece of stone in the food. I have not grown up in U.S so I had no idea how to deal with this situation. I just asked the waiter and he simply explained that there can be a bone inside the ground meat! My question is what kind of low standard meat do they use in their food? I am pretty sure it was piece of stone! He took away the stone and instead gave us piece of baguette and another piece of the same food which we found stone therein.

We ended up paying the same amount of money! I am recommending you not to go to this restaurant at all. They could simply apologize for the piece of rock in their food and not charge us. They did not even apologize!

Please do not support such a restaurants.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jourak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexis Greek Restaurant also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Alexis Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing