We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Ranked #71 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

after 8 days USA (SFO, Las Vegas and LA) we stayed one night in the Holiday Inn Express at the Airport. We were earlier than the check in time but it was no problem at all.

The rooms are nice and clean but one bad point was the smell in the room. It smelled like a toilet; maybe there was something leaking.

The breakfast was good; enough choice

As the place is near to the Rental Car return I decided to bring back the car early in the morning and walked back to the hotel. From there the shuttle bus to the airport and off to Vancouver for the next 9 days of Holiday.

Basically you can see: a good location once you want to go out from LAX airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    696
    307
    66
    29
See reviews for
378
473
110
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Despite what you might have read in previous reviews we found the shuttle service to be excellent. This is obviously important when you are using an airport hotel after a long international flight as we did.
The hotel recommends that you call on arrival, which you can do from a 25c pay phone if you don't have cell coverage. Our shuttle arrived about 35 minutes after we had made that call. This may sound like a bit of a wait but a fellow traveller who arrived at the shuttle stop at the same time as we did and was looking for the LAX Marriott shuttle was still waiting after we were picked up, so delays with the shuttles can happen even if you are paying much more to stay at one of the high end hotels. This is not at all surprising given the very heavy traffic around LAX.
The desk clerk greeted us with eye contact and a smile then she quickly and efficiently checked us in - all that was required after over 18 hours travelling.
The room and breakfast were fine (typical of HI Express) and the shuttle driver took us directly to the Alamo rental depot, rather than to the airport saving us the need to get the National/Alamo bus back out of the airport, something that was much appreciated.
The rate at this hotel was very reasonable considering the close proximity to the airport and free breakfast. If getting to your room fast is a top priority then you could skip the shuttle and pay for a cab to the hotel. This would still cost less in total than staying at most other decent hotels around LAX where you pay for breakfast. Or do as we did and accept a reasonable wait for the free (note that word, free!) shuttle, we were very satisfied and happy that we chose to do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express, but the thing that made it so convenient was the airport shuttle. Every 30 minutes the van goes to and from LAX. After flying in from Sydney my Dad and I were absolutely exhausted and the shuttle picked us up at the terminal within 4 minutes of calling. Very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burberrytanqueray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is fairly good value for an airport location and the bonus is that the car rental returns are closed by, down the street, and you cannot hear the planes. I would definitely recommend for a one night stay to catch a flight the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had to stay here after getting in to LAX late one night. The staff was great, I called from the airport and they sent a Shuttle right away. It stunk but, hey, it's an airport shuttle!!
I got to the room and as a routine that I do at every hotel, I headed to the bed to check for bugs. No bugs but just as I pulled up the mattress I found a condom wrapper. Not a condom, just the wrapper. While we all know what happens at hotels, we don't want to witness the evidence. My problem with finding it was that the situation spoke to the cleanliness of the hotel. If the housekeeping staff would have just looked it would have seen the wrapper. I hate a dirty hotel and this was one of the dirtiest. It's a shame because the front desk staff was very polite and were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lut5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear lut5556,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see your kind comments and high score for the staff and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel was very clean...staff was very friendly...no problem in getting the shuttle from LAX..breakfast was typical...great location to rental car locations. Was able to walk to pick up rental car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenpStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were flying to and then returning from Hawaii for a vacation. Stayed there on April 12th and April 30th with 4 rooms reserved on both dates. First stay at this HIE and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard HIE. Everyone liked the breakfast. There was a couple choices of restaurants close by for dinner. We went to the Western Sizzlin just around the corner. Good food for a hungry bunch and they're open till 9pm. Large buffet plus you can order off the menu.

The shuttle service vans HIE offers are comfortable and staffed by knowledgeable drivers. The ride is less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#67 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,677 reviews
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,749 reviews
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#52 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,450 reviews
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing