We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for a LAX airport hotel, and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Ranked #71 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed March 11, 2014

For a one-night stopover convenient to LAX, this hotel proved to be a solid choice and great value.

The hotel is close to the airport but set apart from the mass of big hotels. Its roomy and free shuttle bus goes to the airport every 30 minutes; pickup from the airport is by request. The ride takes less than 15 minutes. The bus drivers were all polite and efficient. For drivers, there is ample free parking in front or in the parking structure around the side.

While the hotel is on busy Airport Boulevard, most of the rooms are set back. Thanks to this and to the thick windows, we found our room to be very quiet at night. The view of L.A. was pretty good, too, since there are no other tall buildings around. Nearby Manchester Street is well-developed but the neighbourhood is not fit for walking. This is L.A. after all. You drive.

Inside, our 6th floor king bed room was up to HIX standards. No complaints there. Everything clean and working nicely. The lobby is actually pretty nice too. It has a small convenience shop. Unfortunately, the two elevators are extremely slow. This irritated pretty well everybody all the time.

The included breakfast was HIX-standard. A nice mix of choices and good coffee and juice. This standard is good in all but one respect: almost no fresh fruit. Bananas only. The main breakfast room is small but there is a large overflow dining room adjacent. The staff took good care of the breakfast spread and room on the two busy mornings we attended. Led by an pleasant female manager, the staff were quick to clean tables, welcome guests, and replenish supplies.

The hotel has a small exercise room, and a pool. The latter is however squeezed into the parking area and surrounded by concrete.

Overall, for $132 all in, we were completely satisfied with this hotel as a restful stopover on the way to or from LAX. It is by no means anything more than that.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor king bed suite. The bedroom faces busy Airport Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived today after being dropped at wrong holiday inn. Carlos was great,.! Sent shuttle for us. Then got us ride to downtown which ended up being way more than estimate...ride back to hotel didn't show. Call Carlos he helped again to find us a ride and than lower our room rate to make up for holiday inn recommended ride that overcharged us. We head back to Texas tomorrow and wanted to thank Carlos before we left LA. Note to Carlos..we make u an honorary Texan!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjj179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night as we had a flight out the next afternoon. They had a shuttle that picked us up within 10 minutes after calling them and it also took us back to the airport the next day, driver was very courteous and friendly. Our flight got in a few hours before check in time but the front desk girl got us in our room 2 hours early which was great. Room was comfy and the free breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I visit my son and his family in California at lease twice a year and stay here exclusively. They have a outdoor pool which is very well maintained in addition to clean rooms and excellent amenities. Also included is a complimentary breakfast buffet which is always fresh and quite good. A great way to start each day. The prices are reasonable and they have free parking as well as consistent shuttle service to LAX.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmetcalf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the executive room. Clean and quiet. Excellent amenities and at great locations. Close to the airport, freeway and restraunts. I recommend it here. The breakfast is complimentary with your stay here at holiday in express.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Debkal4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here overnight after long flight.

Walked 5 minutes to pick up car next day - pretty good location to stay if you are renting car from HERTZ LAX which is on same block.

7-11 next door, few restaurants nearby too - all walking distance.
Free parking and wifi.

Modern & clean room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HANVEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we had an early flight the next day. Arrived early and were given our room right away. Room was spacious and clean. We asked the reception staff for directions to take the bus to Venice Beach. She suggested the airport shuttle drop us at the bus stop. The driver even gave us his cell # so we could call him to pick us up! Breakfast was ok - how about some fruit?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#95 of 355 in Los Angeles
4,995 reviews
LAX Area
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
#70 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#66 of 355 in Los Angeles
677 reviews
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $152 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing