We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farcical Airport Collection & Awful Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Ranked #68 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Farcical Airport Collection & Awful Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for one night between flights in August 2012, and although the room itself was absolutely fine for its purpose, the hotel has two features that really let it down:

- collection from LAX. You have to call the hotel to arrange collection using a courtesy phone in arrivals, unlike other hotels which have busses circulating almost constantly. We were left waiting for over an hour on the curbside for the bus to arrive after an 11 hour flight from London. The location is further away from LAX than many other airport hotels.

- breakfast. Think McDonalds at best. Plastic cutlery and crockery, nothing fresh other than bread, eggs look horrible etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    672
    290
    63
    27
See reviews for
360
454
107
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

So i booked a "suite" which means there should be a seperate bed room. The bed room did not have a door. Why it is called a suite i have no clue. We got in at midnight and were traveling with a young child. I had to call twice for a shuttle, and they did not tell me which shuttle i need to be looking for. (there are multiple ones for holiday inn express)
I was disappointed as I am used to feeling "at home" ...ie: bottle of water, cookies, snacks. As previously i got spoiled at the hilton home wood suites(love that hotel)
I had to go sleep hungry, thirsty, and mad. I will NOT stay at the holiday inn express ever again and would not recommend it to anyone, It way over priced, and the breakfast tasted like cardboard. Yuck.
Dont waste your time or money here!!

Room Tip: dont waste your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexis111710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear alexis111710,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I apologize the experience you received was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you encountered with the room accommodations, shuttle services and quality of food served during breakfast.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have stayed here for 3 nights and has been a great hotel. Handy to freeways if you have a car and not too far from LAX. Air con in rooms a little noisy, although didn't bother us. Breakfasts are the only real let down with minimal variety and not that great, but would differently stay here again

Room Tip: room 615 has nice views to airport and planes landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenandSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express, neighborhood is not the poshest, but reasonably safe for LA standards. If you reserve a Holiday Inn near LAX make a note of the address: there are at least three different locations, so don't just board the first Holiday Inn shuttle you see, make sure with the driver it is the correct one. While the shuttle leaves every 30 minutes from the hotel, it may still be a good idea to alert them after you arrive, which terminal, especially at very late hours.
Room was spacious, relatively quiet, even though planes were definitely noticed. Windows in rooms do not open. Stayed two nights and would probably come back here, even though it seemed somewhat pricey. Plus: Air conditioning was not blasting upon entering the room for the first time. Minus: while at breakfast house keeping replaced towel and soap (should have put sign on the door. Note to management: get a little more environmentally conscious, hanging towels do not need to be replaced, soap also should stay if the guest is there for another night.) Breakfast itself was OK with sausages, scrambled eggs, peeled hardboiled eggs, cereal, muffins, bagels, pancakes. No bananas or any other fruit.
There is a Trader Joe's grocery store less than a mile away, and both Hertz (0.5miles) and Dollar rental car returns are within walking distance (less than 0.8miles)

Room Tip: odd numbered rooms facing south are probably a little noisier, but give good view of landing planes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked this hotel the day before arriving. Although the wait for the shuttle bus was an absolute nightmare (no fault of the hotel), everything else worked out fine. The staff were professional and very polite. Although there is no restaurant within the hotel building, they direct guests to the one immediately next door, which has a good range of american food at reasonable prices. The room was in fine order; there is free wi-fi and the continental breakfast provided in the hotel was perfectly adequate. In summary - just the job for the weary traveller.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC/MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My mom and I stayed at here for 3 nights while visiting LA. Checking in was quick and easy. We even received a complimentary gift from the hotel which included a bottle of water and a granola bar (nice gesture). Parking was free which is great for California hotels, but the parking lot is extremely small and limited. You may have to park on the street. The room was pleasant. The toilet seemed to leak everytime we flushed it but that wasn't a big deal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a decent location, close to the airport and not noisy at all. We did have trouble with the shuttle. We were told the shuttle runs every 30 minutes. So we waited at the airport for almost an hour for the shuttle beginning around 7pm. We finally called the hotel to request a pick-up. A lot of other hotels seemed to have shuttles that run frequently to the airport. We had to check-out at 3:30am and the shuttle was available then. Beds were very comfortable, very quiet hotel, and free wi-fi,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CuteMDchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arriving at LAX 2:45pm after 15 hour flights from Brisbane via Auckland I was pleased to find my room was clean, comfortable, and perfectly adequate for a 1-2 night stopover. I had read some unfavourable reviews of this hotel and my experience was pretty good.

The shuttle arrived at LAX some 30 minutes after calling the hotel to request. The return journey the next morning was on time and pleasant.

Free Internet was fast and reliable.

The breakfast was plentiful although quite basic; had biscuits and gravy for the 1st time in 30 years .. that took me back ....

I noticed several people had made use of the pool and small fitness room.

Nothing special or memorable about the hotel; but it was good value for money and close to LAX.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldsk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Holiday Inn Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#82 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#62 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#85 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing