We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #57 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arvada, Co, Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at this property 2 nights in June 2014 for a conference. First: regardless of what you read anywhere, this property no longer has a rooftop pool. It does have a rooftop hot tub and open space, but--as happened to me during my stay--it was closed for private parties. So much for picking a property to enjoy the rooftop! Front desk staff seemed to be distracted, always took several moments to get someone's attention even though no one else was there. As a HH Gold, I opted for breakfast. At this property, the Gold breakfast is 'continental'. What 'continental' means to them is toast and coffee. They were sure to bring me a check showing that toast and coffee is $15, and i should pay a gratuity based upon what the check should be. No shame. Internet connectivity speed is awful. Your 4G will easily beat it, don't even bother connecting. (Hotels lament losing phone, entertainment and other ancillary revenues, but they want to charge $$ for crap). Room was small but efficient. Bed was what one expects from a Hilton, but did not disappoint. I liked the old marble in the bath of this historic hotel, but water temp is random and changing. Location is excellent for most things downtown, situated right next to the library. The final disappointment was this property did not participate in the HHonors double-mile promotion. It certainly wasn't terrible, but if I had it to do over I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aghadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. I am sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    439
    199
    73
    60
See reviews for
181
336
90
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had an injury obtained sometime during the day and was in servere discomfort and they checked me in early and had a staff member bring me up ice for my knee. Everytime I have stayed at Hilton Checkers the staff is great. This is the only hotel I will stay at when I travel to Los Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 992tammir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable and restful stay with us and that our associates could exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had a great experience here from the excellent service from the staff to the great food in the restuarant. My room was clean, nice and quiet. I will definitely stay there again and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank LibraLady_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent hotel for downtown activities. Near wonderful restaurants and bars. Walking distance to the free concerts. It does have valet parking for $38.00 but that seems about normal for CA. I only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was good they do have bar, but their are so many in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the attractions that are nearby. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Decided to try this place out for a business trip as the other hotels in the area are significantly more expensive. Unfortunately, I was exhausted when I arrived from the east coast, so I didn't partake of any of the facilities, but the bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Convenient to the downtown business district and its host of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandE-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. I’m delighted that our accommodations and location met your needs. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We didn't get off to a great start given the check-in clerk told us the corner room we reserved wasn't available when it actually was. He apparently thought we were asking for an upgrade, to which we were entitled given we are Hilton Diamond members, so telling us it wasn't available was bad enough, but we were actually paying for this room. It took the manager to get this sorted out but it was worth it. We had great views and the room was spacious and quite nice. It is in the financial district which turned out to be a great location in a very pretty area within walking distance to most things. There is also a metro station one block away which will take you anywhere. Take in the beautiful view from the roof, currently a cocktail lounge.

Room Tip: It's worth it to get a corner room. They are much bigger and with windows on two sides giving it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADU1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in the heart of LA last trip but decided to try this hotel after walking by it last time. It looked so lovely and appeared to be a bit smaller than some of the big box hotels. Not usually my favorite - like more boutique hotels with an elegance and quality. Try the strawberry water in the lobby - yum!

The location is perfect, as well. We were only about 3 blocks from the Disney Concert Hall, many fine restaurants and easy egress/ingress to the freeway. We had dinner only 1.5 blocks away at McCormick's - very nice. Daily Grill and many other nice restaurants close by.

From the moment we arrived, the staff was just wonderful. Couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. Our room was on the next to the top level under the penthouse. Nice corner room...beds were very comfortable. This is one of the most important things for us - comfortable beds. No matter how grand a hotel may be, if the beds are horrible, we will never go back. That is their business - good night's sleep, right? GREAT beds here.

We had the opportunity to have breakfast under unusual circumstances. Our room was great ... BUT ... about 10:30 or 11 pm we heard strange noises above our heads. Turns out it was the hot tub on the deck above our bedroom. We called and the staff immediately moved us to another room with two comp tickets for breakfast and offered their sincere apologies. Very nice (and appropriate) response but not always the case. I give 4 stars for the way they handled this situation.

The breakfast we had was lovely and we would come back to this hotel again next time we are in LA!

Thank you Hilton Checkers and Staff!

Room Tip: Wouldn't suggest room 1211. Right under the hot tub on the top floor. Little noisey when in u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#94 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing