We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #55 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canyon Lake, California
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice, intimate, cozy and elegantly decorated.
Hosted a formal dinner dance and the staff was very gracious and accomodating to all our desires. The food was outstanding, the service was impecable.Ms Mc Kee was delightful to work with, and coordinate this event. Luis at the bar was very friendly and professional.
We are planning to come back for another weekend stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It warms our hearts to know that we could exceed your expectations. Our staff truly appreciates knowing they could make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    427
    197
    71
    58
See reviews for
177
332
85
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Not a bad place but did not come through with the package i purchased. I purchased TGIF should have included dinner and a town car. No dinner and town car could only take me to Nokia dropped me off a block from it and said could not pick me up So had to pay for a cab back to hotel. other then a nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank donnat215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you, for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Checkers Los Angeles on our trip through Canada and California The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly The position near downtown LA suited us for the close proximity to family that live in LA with a large selection of eateries in close proximity. The rooms were a little small but very clean and well maintained with the bedding resuling in very good night sleeps

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable and restful stay with us and that our associates could exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My family stayed at Hilton checkers for 1 day. We arrived there late and waiting line was very short. However, it took us more than 40 min to check-in because the system was down. The receptionist was extremely unfriendly and didnt bother explaining to us what was going on until I asked him what was going on. He simply said that the system was down and that was all.

The room was ok but shower was old and its water pressure was not very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ma097772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I hope you can accept my deepest apology for the system issue that led to an unpleasant arrival experience. The system issue should not have been the cause of the unfriendly behavior of my staff, I am sorry you had to experience that behavior. I have shared this post with my team, so that they do not impart their stressors onto guests. I do to hope you choose us again during your next visit to the downtown area.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Nice rooms, beautiful old hotel. Our only problem was that they charged my wifes CC at Check-in (no problem), but then there were 4 other charges, and then 3 reversals, resulting in our bank (BofA) putting a hold on her card due to "questionable charges". We didnt find this out until the next day, when the hotel tells us her card was declined. We called the bank and they said it was put on hold due to the multiple suspicious charges the Hotel made. No biggie, I used mu card (same acct) and all was fine. When I told the clerk about why the hold was on her card, he told me "No sir, it was a problem with you acct, we do this all the time". So, be careful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed account of your experience while visiting Hilton Checkers. I am glad the accommodations exceeded your expectations. I am also equally dismayed about the fiasco with your wife's CC, that should not have happened and for that, I am deeply sorry. I will share your comments with members of my front office team as a learning experience. I clearly have some additional work in this area to ensure our services are equaled with our accommodations. Thank you to have chosen Hilton Checkers and I hope you will reconsider your decision to return to our hotel.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at Hilton Checkers. We are Hilton Rewards members. I was very disappointed. We were there with friends. Called to see if room was available early but they said no not unless we wanted to give up our current room which was a nicer room. Hilton kept trying to persuade us to downgrade to another room ( probably so they could sell ours for higher price). They still wanted us to pay the same .....until they could tell I was a little annoyed. Told them no we would wait. Waited in lobby until close to check in which was 3:00. I think they intentionally made us wait. Then they told us our room was ready. Funny thing we got to our room an no maid cart anywhere in sight. We looked around. The room had been probably ready for a long time. Just at Marriott day before and they were very pleasant and got us in right away. This hotel is nice location to downtown L.A. But beds are really small. Marriott always treats rewards members better. Probably going to give up Hilton Rewards after this experience..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chayla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hilton Checkers, this feedback is very much valued. I do apologize for the messaging your were provided about early check/in. I will of course share your comments with the housekeeping and front office teams, in order to improve our timeliness in cleaning requested rooms and appropriate messaging regarding early check in. Thank you to have chosen Hilton Checkers and I hope you will give us another opportunity when you are again in the area.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I don't usually stay downtown but, because I had an event, I chose the Checkers. It's an older property but has been maintained and renovated very nicely. The room was very well appointed although the lighting was a bit dim. The bathroom was very spacious and had a great Juliette balcony that you could actually go out on. Everything was very technologically up to date, including LOTS of plugs for charging. Didn't get a chance to look at the fitness center. Bar looked very active although I did not go in. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back here if I needed to stay in LA. Actually have already booked my next stay in March.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#92 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing