We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #60 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My brother got married in downtown LA the weekend of September 28-29.
We stayed at Hilton Checkers for 3 nights with our 2 children (ages 6 and 1) and we had a very nice stay.
We had about 30 groups stay in the hotel as well and I never heard of any major issues or complaints over the long weekend stay.
The rooms were modern, updated and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. There was no bathtub but the shower was fine.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I will say that when I made the RSVP months ahead of time, I requested a crib and fridge. I also called the night before our stay to reconfirm the crib and fridge (for the baby). When we arrived at 8:30 p.m. neither item was in the room. The good part is that the front desk staff worked to find them, keep me updated, deliver them, and send up a wine and fruit plate as an apology. So they way they handled the issue was very proactive and professional and I appreciated that.
On another note - this is not a kid-friendly area. Not much to do with young kids and no pool at the hotel. Only a jacuzzi.
All in all - a good location, a nice hotel, friendly staff and a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Season S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We are glad you found our hotel fit your needs for such a festive occasion. Our associates will be so pleased to hear that you appreciated their level of care and service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed there for two nights on our way back from Hawaii. We found it to be a really charming, boutique hotel . The lobby/ bar area is softly lit and has cozy comfortable chairs that allow you to relax and have a drink, do e-mail or just chat. The bar food is quite good. We got in very late the first night and they stayed open so that we could get something to eat. We had the fried calamari and fish tacos and it was all delicious! Our room was clean and comfortable with a mini fridge, Peter Thomas Roth toiletries , a thirsty bathrobe and a comfy bed. The hotel location was great. There are many highly rated eateries nearby, as well as public transportation and a small shopping center anchored by Macy's. All in all, we were glad we stayed there and look forward to staying there again when in LA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice, very clean and an excellent staff. What you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. Overnight parking is problematic, the Hilton charges $42 per night for valet. Overnight parking lot is located 5 blocks away. Street parking is out of the question!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this hotel - efficient check-in and the cucumber water in the lobby was much appreciated. Rooms were spotless and bathroom was 100% clean.

Only beef with this hotel was the mandatory valet parking that we had to use to park our rental car. There weren't any available lots in the area and this was the only alternative - $20 was a little steep.

Can't complain but it was a pretty decent stay for a night

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel and staff were excellent. Rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. Restaurant was closed for dinner which was disappointing. Bar food was not that good. Wish we had known that so we could have made other meal arrangements before arriving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was fortunate to meet Philip the front desk person at the Hilton Checkers. He embodies great customer service. I wanted an Apple - he chased on down and brought it to my room, lost my iPhone charger - no problem he would do it at the front desk and bring it to my room - he was one of the best I have experienced.

This was also the case of the people in the restaurant and at the front door - just a real well run hotel. It is an older hotel so the rooms are a little (just a little) smaller - but that is part of the charm. I am a Platinum member and was treated really well. I am glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackson55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a great hotel. Only problem was the shower not working. They fixed it quickly though. Great hotel and location. Excellent service. I would stay here again if I was ever in the city again. Would recommend to a friend. Make sure and get valet parking. It is worth it and they are very fast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
771 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#62 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $218 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing